St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ยทFrench Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scotty L.
Bastrop, LA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Location, not so great hotel.

My partner and I went down to the Big Easy so that I could attend a business meeting, and then we stayed the weekend. While the king sized bed that I had requested was present, it took up basically the entire room. The air conditioning did not work well, the sheets were filthy, and there were lots of articles left in the room from previous guests, i.e. clothing, etc. The ice machine in the building where our room is (there are three separate buildings in this hotel) did not have a functioning ice machine. The hallway carpet was filthy and the walls are thin. Also, despite its advertisement, the attached restaurant is closed for business, which means no room or food service of any kind. On a positive note, the hotel is located a very short walking distance from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eggs Cochon at the Red Slipper Cafe, only a couple of blocks from the St. James Hotel, are a surprisingly delicious breakfast!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

The real st. james hotel

Parking very scarce. Valet service virtually required @ $30/day Also billed for phone and safe in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
May 31, 2009

St James Hotel: Good Budget Hotel

The Hotel was fine, no real issues. It's in a fantastic location, that's probably the biggest pro. It's not by any means a destination hotel or a hotel you want to stay at if you're looking for a hotel experience. But, if you're on a budget and you want to stay in that neighborhood (close to the French Quarter/Canal St.), it's a good option. The hotel and rooms overall are clean, but just dingy. The hotel could benefit from a remodeling to be honest. Also, the hotel doesn't really match up with what is conveyed online in terms of pictures, etc. For example, the pool, which looks fantastic online and I was kind of excited for, by the looks of it in person, I would never step foot in. But anyway, like I said - it's a good budget hotel and the staff was very friendly. If you're looking for a really nice experience and have the $$ to spend for it, go to the Windsor Court Hotel, or the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul Kent
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 2, 2008

St. James Hotel

This hotel is in a fine CBD location, near some good restaurants, but our stay was not a pleasant one - there is a venue next to the hotel that regularly hosts weddings - and this venue shares an inner courtyard with the St. James - there were weddings both nights we were there, and the noise was awful - not just the band playing until 1am, but all the screaming partygoers in the courtyard, and then everyone returning to the hotel afterwards - i honestly don't know how they can run a hotel in this location - there seemed to be A LOT of complaints - there is no way that anyone in the hotel who was trying to sleep could. I would NEVER stay here again. I know this is New Orleans, but if I'm going to stay up late partying, I want it to be on my own terms. Were it not for this problem, it would be a fine, standard hotel with limited amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 2, 2011

Not Great.

We guess for the price of the St. James Hotel that we should not have thought that it was going to be the best or have many amenities, but we did expect it to be clean and accomodating per a friend's recommendation. When we got there in the late afternoon and were assigned our room, it was not clean with smashed raisins on the carpet, wine tops on the bathroom floor and the sheets did not seem to be clean when we got into bed that night. The light in the entry was out and the room was dark to begin with. The soap, shampoo,etc had not been replinished and the hair dryer was broken. The coffee supplies in our room had never been replenished or cleaned (coffee brewed left in the coffee pot). After three times of telling the front desk about these things, they finally fixed the light in the entry and replenished the coffee and bathroom supplies on the morning that we were departing while we were at breakfast (we were there for three nights and two full days). There was no newspaper in the lobby, yet they did have freshly brewed coffee each morning which was appreciated. The front desk tried calling a taxi for us the final night of our stay because it was raining, but none ever showed up so we just went ahead and walked (that was okay because we love to walk, even in the rain). Cuvee, the great restaurant next door, is a big drawing point in the advertising for the St. James but it had closed down. Nonetheless, we found great places to eat in the Square. No refrigerator in the room or on the floor to store water, left overs, etc. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The location of the St. James Hotel was wonderful and the people who worked there were very nice. Isaac, in particular, did recommend some wonderful places to eat and mapped out for us where we wanted to go. We might possibly recommend the St. James to a friend if we were certain some improvements had been made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we first arrived, our friend took us to Domilises where we got a wonderful po boy. Grand Isle (wonderful dinner) and The Ruby Slipper (great breakfast) were very close to our hotel and were delicious with great service! We enjoyed eating a Coop's, grabbing beignets at Cafe Du Monde, and dinner at some little place at the bottom of a hotel on Bourbon Street. We wanted to go to Gallatoire's our last night but could not get the taxi, so we will have to go there on our next visit. Other than the food, the St. Louis Cathedral is beautiful and the happenings and great music in the Square were very fun and entertaining!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMF loves New Orleans
Pikesville MD
May 8, 2012

They claim renovated in 2006...

That's only one building. The other one has not been renovated in 30 years. Hall carpet so old and dirty, your feet would stick to it. Almost no "amenities", not even a bathmat, only shampoo and soap. No tissues, only plastic cups - wow can't they spend any money at all? AC works very poorly. Rooms damp and smelly. Not that cheap either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent breakfast located a bit towards canal (the ruby slipper) and all round excellence especially for oysters at Mothers on Poydras

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

Great Friendly Staff But...

We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 30, 2011

Convenient location

- We visited our son. As this was my first visit to New Orleans, we were doing tourist trips. NO is a reat city, many interesting thing to see. -The hotel has a great location. One can walk everywhere or take a tram a few blocks away. The reception staff was very kind, pleasant and helpful. -However, more attention to the room would be desired, e.g., only provided towels for one person was provided. We stayed there five nights and every day we had to ask for additional towels. Maids took the opened soap but didn't replace it. The fitting bedding was a problem; every time you turned around, the sheet was in the middle of the bed. There was a l smell in the corridor in front of our room, and the place with small pool looked pleasant to seat, but it wasn't usable as it had a terrible smell of cigarets. Still a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alliegata
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

good location, nothing special

Let's put it this way... I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great, but there was nothing fantastic about this place. My room was less than average. The bed was very hard and the pillows were the worst. Although there was space for a mini-fridge, there wasn't one! I found this disappointing since my husband and I had planned on buying some breakfast foods to store in our room to save a little. Worst of all, the room was very dirty. There was blood dripped on a wall... not like anything gory, just something kind of gross. I also watched for six days a earring back on the floor that never seemed to be vacuumed up. I am not snoooty when it comes to hotels. I'm okay with a cheap hotel, if that's what I'm expecting. I just was expecting much more from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wash dc
Apr 12, 2010

St. James Hotel- forget it

The bell and desk staff were friendly, but we were disappointed in the hotel management. A broken toilet seat was not fixed through our entire stay. Fees of $10 a day were charged for phone service and internet which did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top