$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wegiff
Northeast
Feb 1, 2013

Staying at the St James

I have nothing but great things about the St James Hotel. The front desk people were great taking care of our every need. The room was clean and up to date, especially the wood floors. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the Quarter to be peaceful but close enough to the action. When I go back to New Orleans, i will be staying at the St James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveltoonsbymp
Business
Vancouver Canada
Jun 13, 2011

Great location!

We came to see the french quarters and experience New Orleans. The hotel was in the best location, close, safe and quiet. This is an older hotel with aging carpeting, but a fun travel theme and classy antique furniture. We chose a standard basic room as we wanted to spend our time visiting New Orleans. The room was very clean and quite spacious. The beds comfortable and the linen spotless. There were not enough towels but came on request. All in all all we were very pleased with the hotel and found it to be completely adequate for our needs. Staff was helpful and mostly friendly. We are however still laughing about the pool, which was the smallest we have ever experienced. Very refreshing though, after a long day of walking and visiting. But tiny! More of a fountain than a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Muriel's in the french quarters. Great food and the restaurant is haunted!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada
Jun 13, 2011

Sweet hotel!

Great location to Canal St. Quiet, nicely decorated rooms. Hotel was not overly clean, toothpaste on the mirror, throw pillows were somewhat stained but for the price, location and quaintness of the hotel I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bought a three day streetcar pass but only used the streetcar once to go to the garden district. Wouldn't buy it again.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikkirs
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 9, 2011

Enjoyed my stay

I was in New Orleans to attend a national conference. St James Hotel was very reasonably priced (when compared the conference hotels) and was within walking distance of the Convention Center. The hotel is also close to the French Quarter and the River Walk. I like small hotels, so this hotel suited me. I didn't spend much time in the hotel (who would when you're in New Orleans), but I found the Hotel staff very customer friendly and helpful. I did miss having a refrigerator in the room. I couln't really bring home leftovers. I'd stay again at St James.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter only a couple of blocks away.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 8, 2011

GREAT place to stay

This was my first time visiting New Orleans and I couldn't have had a better stay. The staff is all very friendly and helpful (have a chat with [...], it'll perk up any travel-weary person), it was within a short walking distance to the French Quarter but far enough away from all the noise, the business/art district, and a nice stroll from the trolly cars. The room was great, very spacious; the beds are a little firm, but that's a matter of personal preference. I'll definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern Maine
Jun 7, 2011

Boutique Hotel

This is a charming small hotel in a historic building just a short walk from the French Quarter. The room was spacious and the decor was both attractive and fun. There were two court yards and one had a small "lounging" pool. June 2011 they are opening an onsite restaurant with additional court yard space. The staff was terrific, the rates were very reasonable, and I had a wonderful time. Tim D. from Maine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. B's Bistro on Royal has great food and atmosphere. The Beignet Cafe also on Royal offers fun and tasty breakfast and lunch options. For budget minded food options try Popeye's and Arby's on Canal just a few blocks from the St. James. Bon appetite!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city, ks
Jun 6, 2011

St. James New Orleans

room was a little dated and could have done with some tlc. No coffee maker, ice machine broken, bed a little uncomfortable, pool looked more like a fountain. However, it had a great location, wasn't too costly, and was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Fran
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 31, 2011

Decent, but not Great

This hotel is average. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The place had recently had some work done, but to a top notch hotel, there is still some work to be done. A better paint job, new bathroom fixtures and new carpet would really go a long way in this place. The best thing about the hotel was it's location. It was close to the French Quarter, Riverwalk and most downtown attractions. We stayed there without a car and were fine getting around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B from Midpac
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 24, 2011

Centrally Located and Comfortable

I attended a conference that was within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel was centrally located and convenient. The room lighting could be improved as well as the amenities. Same class hotels at other destinations were a bit better in terms of amenities and lighting and equally good in terms of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations in advance. Select a restaurant where you can have leisurely dining

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kandi Lynn
Business
Norman, OK
May 20, 2011

We absolutely loved it! Great room!

We would do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
castle rock, colorado
May 5, 2011

Awesome

met some friends out there, we had a great hotel with a great balcony, 3 blocks from bourbon st. we visited the plantations,riverwalk,ferry,paddle boat and managed a little gambling. and of course hung out at the Jazz Fest, it really is a great place to visit, and theres music everywhere you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper from the hotel was a great place for breakfast as well as the Big Easy, both were a block or two from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top