$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
brooklyn, ny
Jul 12, 2011

Out and About

Upon arriving at the St. James, the concierge was very welcoming and immediately gave us some tips and sites to see. We put our things in our room and headed out, not returning until the evening. When we returned and had the opportunity to examine the room, we found that its cleanliness was unacceptable. The shower (no bathtub) had hair in it, as did one of the beds. Additionally, the deadbolt on the door was broken and lamps were not plugged in. Due to the uncleanliness, specifically of the bed, we asked to switch rooms, and did so. The second room was satisfactory, but clearly grimy. All was well though, as we were out early each morning exploring the city--cemeteries, museums, nearby neighborhoods, and returned only to go to sleep. We found it hysterical that the pool is considered an amenity, as it should be described more as a large bird bath. Overall, our experience in New Orleans was wonderful, despite the higher expectations we had for the St. James. It offered a great location and allowed us to experience a wonderful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 9, 2011

Great location!

Very nice hotel and in a great location! Walking distance to everything. Two blocks from Harrah's and 3 blocks from Bourbon St. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Harrah's parking garage and if you play even penny slots and play for a half hour, your parking is validated for 24 hrs! Get a Rewards card, play slots and you even get to drink for free and your parking is covered! It is hard to find a place to park in New Orleans and most lots charge a minimum of $30.00 a day!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 9, 2011

Great location!

Very nice hotel and in a great location! Walking distance to everything. Two blocks from Harrah's and 3 blocks from Bourbon St. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Harrah's parking garage and if you play even penny slots and play for a half hour, your parking is validated for 24 hrs! Get a Rewards card, play slots and you even get to drink for free and your parking is covered! It is hard to find a place to park in New Orleans and most lots charge a minimum of $30.00 a day!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 8, 2011

Close to everything

It was close to everything, which was the best part! The hotel was ok, the worst part about it was the housekeeping. We literally had to beg for towels and for someone to come daily and change our sheets. The hotel had charm which was a great feature since we didn't want to stay somewhere "commercial." For the most part it served its purpose: somewhere to sleep, close to everything and New Orleans charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

*Bourbon is streets away and everything is at your finger tips

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 8, 2011

Close to everything

It was close to everything, which was the best part! The hotel was ok, the worst part about it was the housekeeping. We literally had to beg for towels and for someone to come daily and change our sheets. The hotel had charm which was a great feature since we didn't want to stay somewhere "commercial." For the most part it served its purpose: somewhere to sleep, close to everything and New Orleans charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

*Bourbon is streets away and everything is at your finger tips

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Mintz
North Carolina
Jul 7, 2011

Great Location

The St. James is an older property, but quaint. It is in a great location, within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. One negative thing was the air condidtioner, although it worked, it didn't work that well at cooling the room. Otherwise our stay there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Mintz
North Carolina
Jul 7, 2011

Great Location

The St. James is an older property, but quaint. It is in a great location, within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. One negative thing was the air condidtioner, although it worked, it didn't work that well at cooling the room. Otherwise our stay there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. GAD
Pomona, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Excellent Location for the price

The staff was excellent, shot out to Michael who got us anything we wanted. I enjoyed my stay at the St. James and I will be back. My only complaint is too bad there is no continental breakfast. The place makes you feel very comfortable. Its not a fancy place but our room was very clean. My trip was for the Essence Festival and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking for a good price, comfort, great location for all venues and cleanlines, I would suggest you check out this hotel. Thanks again to all at The Saint James Hotel in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally around the corner from Harrahs Casino and Mothers (one of the best restaraunts in the city). Short walk to Convention Center, Riverwalk and not too far from the Superdome.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In Love NOLA
AA, MD
Jul 6, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

Our air conditioning never worked the whole trip (90+ degree NOLA weather)! They had the maintence man come in the room numerous times (per our complaints) and nothing could be done. Instead of admiting that the AC did not work they just carried on with normal procedures. We were not offered to switch rooms, a refund of some sort. The room was not clean, we found a random pair of socks under the bed, the maid service was horrible. We didn't even want full service just empty the trash and provide additional towels was an issue. I would spend the extra money and stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. GAD
Pomona, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Excellent Location for the price

The staff was excellent, shot out to Michael who got us anything we wanted. I enjoyed my stay at the St. James and I will be back. My only complaint is too bad there is no continental breakfast. The place makes you feel very comfortable. Its not a fancy place but our room was very clean. My trip was for the Essence Festival and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking for a good price, comfort, great location for all venues and cleanlines, I would suggest you check out this hotel. Thanks again to all at The Saint James Hotel in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally around the corner from Harrahs Casino and Mothers (one of the best restaraunts in the city). Short walk to Convention Center, Riverwalk and not too far from the Superdome.

Back to menu Return to top