St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$99
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 11, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016

Great location!

Would recommend Sat, Jul 9, 2011
Very nice hotel and in a great location! Walking distance to everything. Two blocks from Harrah's and 3 blocks from Bourbon St. Will definitely stay again!

Money saver

Park at Harrah's parking garage and if you play even penny slots and play for a half hour, your parking is validated for 24 hrs! Get a Rewards card, play slots and you even get to drink for free and your parking is covered! It is hard to find a place to park in New Orleans and most lots charge a minimum of $30.00 a day!

| Florida Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Close to everything

Would not recommend Fri, Jul 8, 2011
It was close to everything, which was the best part! The hotel was ok, the worst part about it was the housekeeping. We literally had to beg for towels and for someone to come daily and change our sheets. The hotel had charm which was a great feature since we didn't want to stay somewhere "commercial." For the most part it served its purpose: somewhere to sleep, close to everything and New Orleans charm.

Entertainment hint

*Bourbon is streets away and everything is at your finger tips

| New York Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Location

Would recommend Thu, Jul 7, 2011
The St. James is an older property, but quaint. It is in a great location, within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. One negative thing was the air condidtioner, although it worked, it didn't work that well at cooling the room. Otherwise our stay there was good.

| North Carolina Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Excellent Location for the price

Would recommend Wed, Jul 6, 2011
The staff was excellent, shot out to Michael who got us anything we wanted. I enjoyed my stay at the St. James and I will be back. My only complaint is too bad there is no continental breakfast. The place makes you feel very comfortable. Its not a fancy place but our room was very clean. My trip was for the Essence Festival and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking for a good price, comfort, great location for all venues and cleanlines, I would suggest you check out this hotel. Thanks again to all at The Saint James Hotel in New Orleans.

Entertainment hint

Literally around the corner from Harrahs Casino and Mothers (one of the best restaraunts in the city). Short walk to Convention Center, Riverwalk and not too far from the Superdome.

| Pomona, CA Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

NEVER AGAIN

Would not recommend Wed, Jul 6, 2011
Our air conditioning never worked the whole trip (90+ degree NOLA weather)! They had the maintence man come in the room numerous times (per our complaints) and nothing could be done. Instead of admiting that the AC did not work they just carried on with normal procedures. We were not offered to switch rooms, a refund of some sort. The room was not clean, we found a random pair of socks under the bed, the maid service was horrible. We didn't even want full service just empty the trash and provide additional towels was an issue. I would spend the extra money and stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. NEVER AGAIN!

| AA, MD Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great Friendly Staff But...

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 5, 2011
We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Entertainment hint

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

| Washington DC Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

BED BUGS - Buyer Beware!!!

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 5, 2011
Two words: BED BUGS. Large puss filled blisters have developed on my hands, thigh, back and arm. A trip to the Tulane University emergency room resulted in a diagnoses of cellulitis which ultimately lead to me having been prescribed antibiotics.

| Washington, DC Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

st James Hotel

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 5, 2011
Hotel was a bit dank, needed more fresh air, room had broken furniture and smelled. Ice machine out of order .

Entertainment hint

Does anyone downtown own a power sprayer?

| MILWAUKEE Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

St. James NOLA

Would recommend Mon, Jun 20, 2011
We had a great time at the St. James. Stayed in the suite with hardwood floors. Staff was awesome and location was unbelievable

Dining

Hotel was close to all eateries we had planned to visit

| Macon, Ga. Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

"Quite Reasonable for Downtown NOLA."

Would recommend Sat, Jun 18, 2011
I really do not have any complaints. This was a train trip and the hotel was a $10 cab ride fron the AmTrak Station. I really think the facility is 4 stars but is quite old, and its age should be taken into account. It was reasonably priced and I would stay again. It is within a comfortab;e walking distance of the French Quarter.

| Gardendale, AL Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5