St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
224 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Property features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Nearby attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Policies
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Mintz
Business
North Carolina
Jul 7, 2011

Great Location

The St. James is an older property, but quaint. It is in a great location, within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. One negative thing was the air condidtioner, although it worked, it didn't work that well at cooling the room. Otherwise our stay there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. GAD
Business
Pomona, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Excellent Location for the price

The staff was excellent, shot out to Michael who got us anything we wanted. I enjoyed my stay at the St. James and I will be back. My only complaint is too bad there is no continental breakfast. The place makes you feel very comfortable. Its not a fancy place but our room was very clean. My trip was for the Essence Festival and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking for a good price, comfort, great location for all venues and cleanlines, I would suggest you check out this hotel. Thanks again to all at The Saint James Hotel in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally around the corner from Harrahs Casino and Mothers (one of the best restaraunts in the city). Short walk to Convention Center, Riverwalk and not too far from the Superdome.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In Love NOLA
Business
AA, MD
Jul 6, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

Our air conditioning never worked the whole trip (90+ degree NOLA weather)! They had the maintence man come in the room numerous times (per our complaints) and nothing could be done. Instead of admiting that the AC did not work they just carried on with normal procedures. We were not offered to switch rooms, a refund of some sort. The room was not clean, we found a random pair of socks under the bed, the maid service was horrible. We didn't even want full service just empty the trash and provide additional towels was an issue. I would spend the extra money and stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

Great Friendly Staff But...

We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MenesaK
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 5, 2011

BED BUGS - Buyer Beware!!!

Two words: BED BUGS. Large puss filled blisters have developed on my hands, thigh, back and arm. A trip to the Tulane University emergency room resulted in a diagnoses of cellulitis which ultimately lead to me having been prescribed antibiotics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MILWAUKEE
Jul 5, 2011

st James Hotel

Hotel was a bit dank, needed more fresh air, room had broken furniture and smelled. Ice machine out of order .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Does anyone downtown own a power sprayer?

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, Ga.
Jun 20, 2011

St. James NOLA

We had a great time at the St. James. Stayed in the suite with hardwood floors. Staff was awesome and location was unbelievable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was close to all eateries we had planned to visit

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Amtrak Kid
Business
Gardendale, AL
Jun 18, 2011

"Quite Reasonable for Downtown NOLA."

I really do not have any complaints. This was a train trip and the hotel was a $10 cab ride fron the AmTrak Station. I really think the facility is 4 stars but is quite old, and its age should be taken into account. It was reasonably priced and I would stay again. It is within a comfortab;e walking distance of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherry Ames
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 16, 2011

Budget trip to New Orleans

This was one of several trips to New Orleans that I have taken in the past 30 years. However, I had not been back since Hurricane Katrina. This time we explored more of the city taking the Canal Street Trolley to it's end. Along the way, we were able to see where some of the flooding had occured that caused massive destruction. New Orleans is coming back slowly. The French Quarter is basically the same as it was not flooded. The St. James Hotel is quaint. The pictures of the swimming pool are misleading. It is more of a wading pool than a swimming pool. Expect to get wet, but there is no way you will be able to swim laps here. The reception area is small. Coffee is served in the AM. The reception desk people are polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph...just chilling!
Business
Georgia
Jun 14, 2011

Love...In the Big Easy

My travel to New Orleans was strictly for a quite and peaceful respite. i found exactly that at this hotel. The service was excellant, the location was right on point. I was very close to everything. The hotel was quite pleasant! I will stay there again when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The 4 to 5 blocks that I walked to dine was jsut what the doctor ordered...

Back to menu Return to top