$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Mintz
Business
North Carolina
Jul 7, 2011

Great Location

The St. James is an older property, but quaint. It is in a great location, within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. One negative thing was the air condidtioner, although it worked, it didn't work that well at cooling the room. Otherwise our stay there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. GAD
Business
Pomona, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Excellent Location for the price

The staff was excellent, shot out to Michael who got us anything we wanted. I enjoyed my stay at the St. James and I will be back. My only complaint is too bad there is no continental breakfast. The place makes you feel very comfortable. Its not a fancy place but our room was very clean. My trip was for the Essence Festival and we did not spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking for a good price, comfort, great location for all venues and cleanlines, I would suggest you check out this hotel. Thanks again to all at The Saint James Hotel in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally around the corner from Harrahs Casino and Mothers (one of the best restaraunts in the city). Short walk to Convention Center, Riverwalk and not too far from the Superdome.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In Love NOLA
Business
AA, MD
Jul 6, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

Our air conditioning never worked the whole trip (90+ degree NOLA weather)! They had the maintence man come in the room numerous times (per our complaints) and nothing could be done. Instead of admiting that the AC did not work they just carried on with normal procedures. We were not offered to switch rooms, a refund of some sort. The room was not clean, we found a random pair of socks under the bed, the maid service was horrible. We didn't even want full service just empty the trash and provide additional towels was an issue. I would spend the extra money and stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

Great Friendly Staff But...

We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MenesaK
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 5, 2011

BED BUGS - Buyer Beware!!!

Two words: BED BUGS. Large puss filled blisters have developed on my hands, thigh, back and arm. A trip to the Tulane University emergency room resulted in a diagnoses of cellulitis which ultimately lead to me having been prescribed antibiotics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MILWAUKEE
Jul 5, 2011

st James Hotel

Hotel was a bit dank, needed more fresh air, room had broken furniture and smelled. Ice machine out of order .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Does anyone downtown own a power sprayer?

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, Ga.
Jun 20, 2011

St. James NOLA

We had a great time at the St. James. Stayed in the suite with hardwood floors. Staff was awesome and location was unbelievable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was close to all eateries we had planned to visit

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Amtrak Kid
Business
Gardendale, AL
Jun 18, 2011

"Quite Reasonable for Downtown NOLA."

I really do not have any complaints. This was a train trip and the hotel was a $10 cab ride fron the AmTrak Station. I really think the facility is 4 stars but is quite old, and its age should be taken into account. It was reasonably priced and I would stay again. It is within a comfortab;e walking distance of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherry Ames
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 16, 2011

Budget trip to New Orleans

This was one of several trips to New Orleans that I have taken in the past 30 years. However, I had not been back since Hurricane Katrina. This time we explored more of the city taking the Canal Street Trolley to it's end. Along the way, we were able to see where some of the flooding had occured that caused massive destruction. New Orleans is coming back slowly. The French Quarter is basically the same as it was not flooded. The St. James Hotel is quaint. The pictures of the swimming pool are misleading. It is more of a wading pool than a swimming pool. Expect to get wet, but there is no way you will be able to swim laps here. The reception area is small. Coffee is served in the AM. The reception desk people are polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph...just chilling!
Business
Georgia
Jun 14, 2011

Love...In the Big Easy

My travel to New Orleans was strictly for a quite and peaceful respite. i found exactly that at this hotel. The service was excellant, the location was right on point. I was very close to everything. The hotel was quite pleasant! I will stay there again when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The 4 to 5 blocks that I walked to dine was jsut what the doctor ordered...

Back to menu Return to top