$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melmax
Business
atlanta
Aug 8, 2011

stay away

At checkin, we were given a key card to get into someone else's room. Their things were there, but they were not. The pool is dirty. The cleaning staff does not do a good job. Over all, the staff does not care for the hotel and it shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twinslove Jade
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 7, 2011

First Timers

It was a great hotel. The front desk personal helped us with great customer service and assisted us with great locations to dine and visit. Thank you so much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lykacory
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 2, 2011

Mixes feeling on the St. James Hotel

I would recommend the St. James to travelors if they get a good deal. If not, probably go elsewhere. The room was small, the safe didn't work, the shower flooded the bathroom everytime we took a shower, the maid service was not great. (She only came twice in our 4 day stay) not enough towels (especially with the flooding) and we found a few cockroaches. The dipping pool is kinda dirty. I wouldnt get it in. But on the bright side, the staff was really nice. And really, in New Orleans we just needed a place to crash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huck Finns had GREAT food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 2, 2011

Great minus the smell

The St. James has a great location, and the set up for the rooms are awesome. However, our room smelled like someone died in there, or that it hadn't been aired out in forever. The clock was an hour wrong too, so we figured maybe no one HAD been in the room since Daylight Savings kicked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Beautiful on the outside

The hotel was very beautiful on the outside but definitely lacked the "loving-touch" on the inside. We stayed a total of 4 nights & our air conditionaer went out after the first day! Despite numerous complaints, we settled for keeping our door to the hallway open because it was cooler in the halls. Our room was on the 4th floor & the elevator did not work for 2 days. Though the hotel was far from full, they refused to let us have a late check-out (our flight was not until 7pm) but did store our luggage for us. Overall, not a really great visit at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of food establishments in area. Short walk to Bourbon street & French Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2011

The St. James Hotel

The hotel was fine, the room was a little musty. For the price and location it was great. It's minutes away from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Jul 12, 2011

Could have been better.

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon to a somewhat warm greeting. The gentleman at the front desk could have done a much better job of greeting us. Our room was warm when we arrived and continued to be that way for our two night stay. My husband had left his wallet in the car and unfortunately did not realize it until our car had been valeted. We called down to the front desk to have it brought back up and was answered by the same very annoyed fron desk man. He also told me to make sure and get everything I needed out of the car in a very rude way. The hotel was nice but in the future I will not return, I need to know i can sleep comfortably during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murielles Restaurante, fabulous crab appitizer and Tuna dish. The Yo Mama bar and grill, best burger. Boondocks Bar, great local scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
Jul 12, 2011

Out and About

Upon arriving at the St. James, the concierge was very welcoming and immediately gave us some tips and sites to see. We put our things in our room and headed out, not returning until the evening. When we returned and had the opportunity to examine the room, we found that its cleanliness was unacceptable. The shower (no bathtub) had hair in it, as did one of the beds. Additionally, the deadbolt on the door was broken and lamps were not plugged in. Due to the uncleanliness, specifically of the bed, we asked to switch rooms, and did so. The second room was satisfactory, but clearly grimy. All was well though, as we were out early each morning exploring the city--cemeteries, museums, nearby neighborhoods, and returned only to go to sleep. We found it hysterical that the pool is considered an amenity, as it should be described more as a large bird bath. Overall, our experience in New Orleans was wonderful, despite the higher expectations we had for the St. James. It offered a great location and allowed us to experience a wonderful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 9, 2011

Great location!

Very nice hotel and in a great location! Walking distance to everything. Two blocks from Harrah's and 3 blocks from Bourbon St. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Harrah's parking garage and if you play even penny slots and play for a half hour, your parking is validated for 24 hrs! Get a Rewards card, play slots and you even get to drink for free and your parking is covered! It is hard to find a place to park in New Orleans and most lots charge a minimum of $30.00 a day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 8, 2011

Close to everything

It was close to everything, which was the best part! The hotel was ok, the worst part about it was the housekeeping. We literally had to beg for towels and for someone to come daily and change our sheets. The hotel had charm which was a great feature since we didn't want to stay somewhere "commercial." For the most part it served its purpose: somewhere to sleep, close to everything and New Orleans charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

*Bourbon is streets away and everything is at your finger tips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top