$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GJC3303
Business
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Perfect Location. Friendly Staff.

I've stayed in New Orleans on numerous occasions, and I can't recall ever staying at a hotel with a better location. It's directly in the center, and mere blocks away, from: The French Quarter, Bourbon Street, The Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Harrah's, The Riverwalk, etc. The staff was wonderful. Like I said, I've been to NOLA several times, and this was the friendliest and most helpful staff, by far. Any questions that I had were answered knowledgeably and any request that I had was met quickly. I also have to add that I was very impressed with their valet service. I called 10 minutes before I walked down to check out, and when I arrived downstairs, my car was waiting on me. The previous time that I had traveled to New Orleans, I stayed at a hotel on Camp street (one block away), and when my boyfriend and I checked out, we had to wait over two hours for our car! This will always be the hotel that I stay at when I travel to New Orleans in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe on Canal Street is highly recommended. Great New Orleans cuisine. Wonderful environment.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jilly
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 29, 2011

GREAT HOTEL TO RELAX ON YOUR VACATION

Great location for anything you want to do. The hotel was old and charming. The best part was the staff, Hard working and on top of everything. The staff remembered your name and every morning would say hello and make you feel like you were at home. I would go back and tell my friends. thanks St, James for making my vacation great. Girl from Wisconsin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

look around for food. the best deals and the best food are the little diners that are small and unknown.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rook
Business
Forsyth
Oct 2, 2011

Close enough to everything

We decided on this because of location, which was perfect, like a short walk to everything and far enough away that you can park your car across the street and not let the valet take it somewhere else. The room was decent, old building, it worked with what it had. The staff was very knowledgable of the area, and also gave you details of where to avoid. Believe me, you will need this info!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take plenty of cash. Everything on Bourbon St is cash only. This place is like a carnival, with no open container law.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pegleg61
Business
Hamilton, OH, USA
Sep 14, 2011

just average

there was mold on the tile in the shower and we had sugar ants bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amandah
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Condemn this Hotel

This hotel (if you want to call it that) needs to be bulldozed. Its absolutely horrific and its on the back end of Magazine street. So if you think your in a good location on Magazine street with all the shops your dead wrong. The counter when you check in is sticky, the place smells of mildew, mold, musty decay, and moth balls. You cant even save this trainwreck of hotel with repairs it just needs to be condemned. Run away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen street and check out the true New Orleans night life and clubs. Dance with the locals of NOLA and experience some amazing live music.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Austin Business Traveler
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Local charm minus the charm

I've stayed in this hotel twice now because it's two blocks from my company headquarters in the Central Business District, and because I like to try to support independent local businesses. I won't stay here again, though, until they improve the experience. On the positive, sheets and towels have been fresh and clean. But on the negative, they give only 1 bar of soap and a sample packet of Fructis shampoo/conditioner. On this last trip the hallway and room smelled like something had flooded and was not quite dry, and had been doused with a cheap deodorizer. The desk clerk seemed unhappy to be there. This building and location has a lot of potential. I hope the owners and management can give it the charm it deserves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Could have been better

From checking in to checking out I found there was much lacking at the St James Hotel. The staff was not very welcoming and there was an unclean look to the loby floors and walls. The carpet in the hallways on most of the floors needed a major cleaning, ice machines were out of order, door locks were broken.And I was hearing this very same thing from other guests Considering there were many other hotels in the area I would not recommend staying at the St James to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GSMummy
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 7, 2011

St James Hotel

Just don't do it...Run down...Dirty.....only goog thing is location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum was Great!!!!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lincoln48
Business
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

good value,nice location

excellent value, 2 blocks to french quarter, happy with hotel. ac not working in 1st room, was moved to another, staff helpful. would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bufflo52
Business
massachusetts
Aug 31, 2011

New Orleans is supposed to be cool

Tthe city is......the St. James not so much. AC is locked at 75 degees. You cannot override the thermostat. Walking into the room after being out for a couple hours is walking into a hot stuffy room. The room is pleasantly decorated, but not necessarily squeaky clean......the corners in the bathroom had a ditreous buildup that should be taken care of with a little attention to detail. Our room was separated from the main hotel by a pleasant appearing courtyard, but the courtyard smelled of rotting garbage from the adjacent restaurant. The odor is not constant but it it could be a problem for those with sensitive olfactory tendencies. It is not to say the place is all that bad. We would stay there again....it does have it's charm. It is affordable, close to the French Q uarter, Harrad's, and the Riverwalk. . The staff is great. They are friendly and helpful. All in all it was. A fun long weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top