$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
Jul 12, 2011

Out and About

Upon arriving at the St. James, the concierge was very welcoming and immediately gave us some tips and sites to see. We put our things in our room and headed out, not returning until the evening. When we returned and had the opportunity to examine the room, we found that its cleanliness was unacceptable. The shower (no bathtub) had hair in it, as did one of the beds. Additionally, the deadbolt on the door was broken and lamps were not plugged in. Due to the uncleanliness, specifically of the bed, we asked to switch rooms, and did so. The second room was satisfactory, but clearly grimy. All was well though, as we were out early each morning exploring the city--cemeteries, museums, nearby neighborhoods, and returned only to go to sleep. We found it hysterical that the pool is considered an amenity, as it should be described more as a large bird bath. Overall, our experience in New Orleans was wonderful, despite the higher expectations we had for the St. James. It offered a great location and allowed us to experience a wonderful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 12, 2011

Not too impressed with the hotel

I was in town for a work conference. While the staff was quite friendly and the location was great, the room was not comfortable or clean. The sheets did not fit on the bed, the blanket was turned side-ways, and there were awful stains in the bathtub... I would NOT recommend this hotel unless there is more attention to the cleanliness of the place. For $140.00 a night, I expected at least a clean bathroom and sheets that actually fit the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Beautiful on the outside

The hotel was very beautiful on the outside but definitely lacked the "loving-touch" on the inside. We stayed a total of 4 nights & our air conditionaer went out after the first day! Despite numerous complaints, we settled for keeping our door to the hallway open because it was cooler in the halls. Our room was on the 4th floor & the elevator did not work for 2 days. Though the hotel was far from full, they refused to let us have a late check-out (our flight was not until 7pm) but did store our luggage for us. Overall, not a really great visit at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of food establishments in area. Short walk to Bourbon street & French Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scotty L.
Business
Bastrop, LA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Location, not so great hotel.

My partner and I went down to the Big Easy so that I could attend a business meeting, and then we stayed the weekend. While the king sized bed that I had requested was present, it took up basically the entire room. The air conditioning did not work well, the sheets were filthy, and there were lots of articles left in the room from previous guests, i.e. clothing, etc. The ice machine in the building where our room is (there are three separate buildings in this hotel) did not have a functioning ice machine. The hallway carpet was filthy and the walls are thin. Also, despite its advertisement, the attached restaurant is closed for business, which means no room or food service of any kind. On a positive note, the hotel is located a very short walking distance from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eggs Cochon at the Red Slipper Cafe, only a couple of blocks from the St. James Hotel, are a surprisingly delicious breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maurice Montpetit
Business
Laval, Montreal, Quebec Canada
Nov 17, 2009

Whach out !!

Upon arrival the reception lady wanted us to sign a form where by we where consenting to pay extra charge daily for internet cable availibility and two other different service all of whicht we did not want. After insisting telling me it was mandatory, I clearly said that ''I will not sign'' '' this was not part of our deal with [...]'' ''clearly no''and so on....I had to take a firm stand and clearly the lady seems to us furious. We did not like this experience. All of the 5 days (exept monday morning at 4:00 AM before departure)we where entitled to 2 or 3 minutes of warm water when showering after that was icy cold !!! We reported this situation 2 times...they promised to fix the problem but to no avail....very very frustrating.We do not recommend this hotel.But New Orleans is very lively, special and unique...what a good time we had...music & music: blues jazz, dixieland, creole jazz. rock jazz. A city worth to see and visitMaurice Montpetit and Nicole Lemieux.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

eating and music: The Snug Harbour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La.
Apr 25, 2011

The Good, Bad and really ugly.....

The St. James Hotel is in a very good location, but the pool is the size of a hot tube and should not even be allowed to say pool... the A/c was not working very well when we cheched in but it was fixed that day. The lock on the door was broken but was fixed and finally the room was cleaned but no towels were left and the dirty ones were picked up... oh and the elevator was broken one night... over all it was just Ok....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drago's Restrant in the hilton on the river was excellent...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 30, 2011

Convenient location

- We visited our son. As this was my first visit to New Orleans, we were doing tourist trips. NO is a reat city, many interesting thing to see. -The hotel has a great location. One can walk everywhere or take a tram a few blocks away. The reception staff was very kind, pleasant and helpful. -However, more attention to the room would be desired, e.g., only provided towels for one person was provided. We stayed there five nights and every day we had to ask for additional towels. Maids took the opened soap but didn't replace it. The fitting bedding was a problem; every time you turned around, the sheet was in the middle of the bed. There was a l smell in the corridor in front of our room, and the place with small pool looked pleasant to seat, but it wasn't usable as it had a terrible smell of cigarets. Still a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jun 6, 2010

Good price and people, bad rooms.

Friendly staff and low rate however the room was incredibly small (I have stayed in larger at the budget inn) and the pool looked more like a swamp. The room had a musk smell to it and our view was a brick wall and alleyway. The carpet also had multiple stains and we didn't even have a refrigerator to keep sodas cold. The bathroom was small and the tub was microscopic. Also the ice machine is on the second floor just to let anyone know before you go on a scavenger hunt looking for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go check out the aquarium, it was phenomenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

Great Friendly Staff But...

We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Essence Lover
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 8, 2010

Wouldn't stay again!

We were in town for the Essence Music Festival. The location was ok. The Housekeeping was not good at all. We had to wait for towels and ask for our room to be cleaned daily. The doorman and front desk staff were GREAT! This could be a very good hotel with a few modifications or remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top