$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenna noelle
denver, co
Mar 24, 2013

great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the st. Charles streetcar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sglass
Corpus Christi, Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Great Anniversary Get Away

Perfect Location, within walking distance to French Quarter, WWII Museum, Casino, and Riverwalk. Hotel had old world charm. Staff was great and helpful. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Travalers
Spring Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Great Stay

Was just great staff could not be better or more helpfull the location was great would never think about staying any where else in New Orleans Great charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Squint 1
FL
Jan 31, 2012

Dissappointing

No ice available, dirty linen. Hidden charges for safe & internet that were not wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alliegata
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

good location, nothing special

Let's put it this way... I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great, but there was nothing fantastic about this place. My room was less than average. The bed was very hard and the pillows were the worst. Although there was space for a mini-fridge, there wasn't one! I found this disappointing since my husband and I had planned on buying some breakfast foods to store in our room to save a little. Worst of all, the room was very dirty. There was blood dripped on a wall... not like anything gory, just something kind of gross. I also watched for six days a earring back on the floor that never seemed to be vacuumed up. I am not snoooty when it comes to hotels. I'm okay with a cheap hotel, if that's what I'm expecting. I just was expecting much more from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GWA123
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Bad Hotel In A Great City

This is a very bad hotel in a great city. The service was similar to that of a roadside motel. The facilities are poorly maintained. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Appenine
Bayside, Queens, NY 11361, USA
Jan 1, 2012

St James

The hotel was as picture on their website. Nothing outstanding about it. It was conveniently located in the Central Buisness Disrtict, about two blocks from Harrahs, 2 blocks from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from a couple of Trolly lines. There was no refreigerator in the room. The hotel coffee was good. I never went to the restaraunt. For what I needed it for, (a place to pass out and shower) it was more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't get completely caught up on Bourbon St. Many nice venues for great live entertainment exist off the beaten path within the Quarter and elsewheres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTravelers11
Louisiana
Dec 12, 2011

Disappointed in the hotel but great location

This hotel left much to the imagination. First of all, the room location was terrible. They put us on the 100 hallway in the back of the hotel (separate building) this time, and every little noise could be heard in our room. This included doors slamming, people laughing, kids crying, and the numerous outdoor street noises. We did not sleep well due to the poor building quality. Secondly, the quality of this part of the building was underpar for the other part. The walls were dingy, and the carpet was dirty. The hairdryer was broken, and there were minimal towels and pillows in the room. They would not move our room to the original part (and quiet/clean) of the hotel because we booked it on the internet. It would make sense to give every customer the same quality of ammenities to ensure repeat customers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GJC3303
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Perfect Location. Friendly Staff.

I've stayed in New Orleans on numerous occasions, and I can't recall ever staying at a hotel with a better location. It's directly in the center, and mere blocks away, from: The French Quarter, Bourbon Street, The Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Harrah's, The Riverwalk, etc. The staff was wonderful. Like I said, I've been to NOLA several times, and this was the friendliest and most helpful staff, by far. Any questions that I had were answered knowledgeably and any request that I had was met quickly. I also have to add that I was very impressed with their valet service. I called 10 minutes before I walked down to check out, and when I arrived downstairs, my car was waiting on me. The previous time that I had traveled to New Orleans, I stayed at a hotel on Camp street (one block away), and when my boyfriend and I checked out, we had to wait over two hours for our car! This will always be the hotel that I stay at when I travel to New Orleans in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe on Canal Street is highly recommended. Great New Orleans cuisine. Wonderful environment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jilly
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 29, 2011

GREAT HOTEL TO RELAX ON YOUR VACATION

Great location for anything you want to do. The hotel was old and charming. The best part was the staff, Hard working and on top of everything. The staff remembered your name and every morning would say hello and make you feel like you were at home. I would go back and tell my friends. thanks St, James for making my vacation great. Girl from Wisconsin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

look around for food. the best deals and the best food are the little diners that are small and unknown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rook
Forsyth
Oct 2, 2011

Close enough to everything

We decided on this because of location, which was perfect, like a short walk to everything and far enough away that you can park your car across the street and not let the valet take it somewhere else. The room was decent, old building, it worked with what it had. The staff was very knowledgable of the area, and also gave you details of where to avoid. Believe me, you will need this info!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take plenty of cash. Everything on Bourbon St is cash only. This place is like a carnival, with no open container law.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top