$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wegiff
Northeast
Feb 1, 2013

Staying at the St James

I have nothing but great things about the St James Hotel. The front desk people were great taking care of our every need. The room was clean and up to date, especially the wood floors. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the Quarter to be peaceful but close enough to the action. When I go back to New Orleans, i will be staying at the St James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RaginCajun
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Good location, lacks amenities

I enjoyed its location in relation to the french quarter, and was a great deal for what it was. The hotel lacked a continental breakfast or a gym but with as much walking you will do and the plethora of great restaurants around the area it wasn't that big of a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashton
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Mar 16, 2012

We've Had Better

The St. James wasn't a bad hotel. I'll break it down into Pros and Cons. Pros - Location was right off Canal St, near the French Quarter, and was relatively quiet. The room itself was decently sized. Not as small as many NOLA hotel rooms often are. The bathroom was a fair size. The decor was nice enough, and everything appeared clean. Cons - Valet service was very expensive ($30/day) and VERY VERY SLOW. Expect to wait nearly 30 minutes for your car, even in off times of day. The front desk staff wasn't exactly friendly. Each time we encountered them, they acted like we were an annoyance. The walls in the rooms REALLY need a paint job. Nearly every open wall space had big black scuffs all over them (I assume from luggage?) The sink faucets and handles leaked very badly in the bathroom. The mattress was very uncomfortable. It felt old. I could feel every single spring and woke up with my back and neck on fire each morning. The elevator needs repairs in a bad way. It skips the floor you select and goes a floor above. Ex: We stayed on the 3rd floor. So select 3 in the elevator. It goes (slowwwwwly) to floor 4. What? Hit 3 again. It eventually takes you down to your appropriate level. We tested this on other floors, and it works the same on each one. Expect to pay substantial charges over the price of the room, particularly if you have your own car. We stayed two nights and the additional charges for valet, phone, and internet amounted to $95 over the cost of the two nights and taxes ($190). We probably won't stay again. We had much better service and stay at the Maison DuPuy for the same price previously. Or if you can afford it, stay at the Monteleone instead. Both are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Ruby Slipper Cafe. It's a little hectic in the mornings, but absolutely worth any wait you run into. Amazing breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdefghiojklmnop
Business
mn
Feb 20, 2012

awful place

there were carpet beatles all over the beds ,the curtains were stained with who knows what.i had to pay for vallet parking cause of no where to park and when i got my car back it had a parking ticket on the window,for the money it was awful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Travalers
Business
Spring Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Great Stay

Was just great staff could not be better or more helpfull the location was great would never think about staying any where else in New Orleans Great charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sglass
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Great Anniversary Get Away

Perfect Location, within walking distance to French Quarter, WWII Museum, Casino, and Riverwalk. Hotel had old world charm. Staff was great and helpful. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Squint 1
Business
FL
Jan 31, 2012

Dissappointing

No ice available, dirty linen. Hidden charges for safe & internet that were not wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alliegata
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

good location, nothing special

Let's put it this way... I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great, but there was nothing fantastic about this place. My room was less than average. The bed was very hard and the pillows were the worst. Although there was space for a mini-fridge, there wasn't one! I found this disappointing since my husband and I had planned on buying some breakfast foods to store in our room to save a little. Worst of all, the room was very dirty. There was blood dripped on a wall... not like anything gory, just something kind of gross. I also watched for six days a earring back on the floor that never seemed to be vacuumed up. I am not snoooty when it comes to hotels. I'm okay with a cheap hotel, if that's what I'm expecting. I just was expecting much more from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GWA123
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Bad Hotel In A Great City

This is a very bad hotel in a great city. The service was similar to that of a roadside motel. The facilities are poorly maintained. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Appenine
Business
Bayside, Queens, NY 11361, USA
Jan 1, 2012

St James

The hotel was as picture on their website. Nothing outstanding about it. It was conveniently located in the Central Buisness Disrtict, about two blocks from Harrahs, 2 blocks from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from a couple of Trolly lines. There was no refreigerator in the room. The hotel coffee was good. I never went to the restaraunt. For what I needed it for, (a place to pass out and shower) it was more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't get completely caught up on Bourbon St. Many nice venues for great live entertainment exist off the beaten path within the Quarter and elsewheres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTravelers11
Business
Louisiana
Dec 12, 2011

Disappointed in the hotel but great location

This hotel left much to the imagination. First of all, the room location was terrible. They put us on the 100 hallway in the back of the hotel (separate building) this time, and every little noise could be heard in our room. This included doors slamming, people laughing, kids crying, and the numerous outdoor street noises. We did not sleep well due to the poor building quality. Secondly, the quality of this part of the building was underpar for the other part. The walls were dingy, and the carpet was dirty. The hairdryer was broken, and there were minimal towels and pillows in the room. They would not move our room to the original part (and quiet/clean) of the hotel because we booked it on the internet. It would make sense to give every customer the same quality of ammenities to ensure repeat customers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top