$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
228 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phil1961
Business
ATL
Jul 22, 2012

Birthday

Thought hotel was dirty and needed a face lift. Dimly lit. My family gives it a higher rating than I. I wouln't go back for the price. My daughter would. Overall a fair place to stay. The plus is that it's right in the Freanch Quarters. So if you are young and came soley to party it's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Camillia Grill! Awesome! Cheap prices FANTASTIC staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lalo76
Business
Miami
Jul 27, 2012

Old building

The hotel seems to be very old, worn carpets, smell to humidity. There is no fitness center. The amenities in general are poor or even missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

The real st. james hotel

Parking very scarce. Valet service virtually required @ $30/day Also billed for phone and safe in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
May 31, 2009

St James Hotel: Good Budget Hotel

The Hotel was fine, no real issues. It's in a fantastic location, that's probably the biggest pro. It's not by any means a destination hotel or a hotel you want to stay at if you're looking for a hotel experience. But, if you're on a budget and you want to stay in that neighborhood (close to the French Quarter/Canal St.), it's a good option. The hotel and rooms overall are clean, but just dingy. The hotel could benefit from a remodeling to be honest. Also, the hotel doesn't really match up with what is conveyed online in terms of pictures, etc. For example, the pool, which looks fantastic online and I was kind of excited for, by the looks of it in person, I would never step foot in. But anyway, like I said - it's a good budget hotel and the staff was very friendly. If you're looking for a really nice experience and have the $$ to spend for it, go to the Windsor Court Hotel, or the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MILWAUKEE
Jul 5, 2011

st James Hotel

Hotel was a bit dank, needed more fresh air, room had broken furniture and smelled. Ice machine out of order .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Does anyone downtown own a power sprayer?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 2, 2011

Not Great.

We guess for the price of the St. James Hotel that we should not have thought that it was going to be the best or have many amenities, but we did expect it to be clean and accomodating per a friend's recommendation. When we got there in the late afternoon and were assigned our room, it was not clean with smashed raisins on the carpet, wine tops on the bathroom floor and the sheets did not seem to be clean when we got into bed that night. The light in the entry was out and the room was dark to begin with. The soap, shampoo,etc had not been replinished and the hair dryer was broken. The coffee supplies in our room had never been replenished or cleaned (coffee brewed left in the coffee pot). After three times of telling the front desk about these things, they finally fixed the light in the entry and replenished the coffee and bathroom supplies on the morning that we were departing while we were at breakfast (we were there for three nights and two full days). There was no newspaper in the lobby, yet they did have freshly brewed coffee each morning which was appreciated. The front desk tried calling a taxi for us the final night of our stay because it was raining, but none ever showed up so we just went ahead and walked (that was okay because we love to walk, even in the rain). Cuvee, the great restaurant next door, is a big drawing point in the advertising for the St. James but it had closed down. Nonetheless, we found great places to eat in the Square. No refrigerator in the room or on the floor to store water, left overs, etc. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The location of the St. James Hotel was wonderful and the people who worked there were very nice. Isaac, in particular, did recommend some wonderful places to eat and mapped out for us where we wanted to go. We might possibly recommend the St. James to a friend if we were certain some improvements had been made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we first arrived, our friend took us to Domilises where we got a wonderful po boy. Grand Isle (wonderful dinner) and The Ruby Slipper (great breakfast) were very close to our hotel and were delicious with great service! We enjoyed eating a Coop's, grabbing beignets at Cafe Du Monde, and dinner at some little place at the bottom of a hotel on Bourbon Street. We wanted to go to Gallatoire's our last night but could not get the taxi, so we will have to go there on our next visit. Other than the food, the St. Louis Cathedral is beautiful and the happenings and great music in the Square were very fun and entertaining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, CA
Jul 31, 2010

An OK place - you get what you pay for

I was there to play in a bridge tournament. On check-in there were sunflower seeds on the bathroom floor - but the housekeeeping was fine otherwise. The location was fine. The AC system was strange and not user-friendly - vent blew right toward the beds. It is an old hotel in decent shape and was more or less worth the price I paid. But my roommate got a better deal at a much nicer place for the period after I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. B's Bistro is probably one of the better restaurants and fairly priced. K-Pauls's is a tourist rip-off. BonTon is across the street and overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, La
May 14, 2009

deja vu all over again

Am providing review since I originally measured the risks to choose this hotel based on some poor and some good reviews. Unfortunately, our experience was very similar to another guest. We arrived on Friday about 3PM and upon checking in we were given the dreaded lobby room, no. 115. This room is located on the main floor, with full windows on the front street and our room door just outside of the staff / service room, and around one corner to the lobby. I immediately requested a different room but was told they were full, due to us arriving on Friday afternoon. During the early evening I would like to take a short nap and relax before heading out to dinner but this was not possible with the noise of staff cutting up just outside the window and then inside the the lobby around 6PM each night. Simply put, this room needs to be converted to something else as I am sure there are several things to enjoy about this hotel, but getting past this room location makes it impossible to appreciate anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmens Street and hop from one establishment to another enjoying the various live and local music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington dc
Jun 25, 2010

Not 4 stars

About 5 of us checked into rooms at this hotel. The ac didn't work in some of them and the shower curtains were too short in all of them. There was water everywhere on the floor. The staff was not profession and dismissive. When I say dismissive, they would say "ohh we will send someone up to your room" many of us were told that and not one of us ever saw a repair man. This hotel is like playing a slot machine. You never know what your getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pegleg61
Business
Hamilton, OH, USA
Sep 14, 2011

just average

there was mold on the tile in the shower and we had sugar ants bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top