$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, is one of New Orlean's finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guest rooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. Parking fee: 34.00 USD per night; 45.00 USD per night during special events.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phil1961
Business
ATL
Jul 22, 2012

Birthday

Thought hotel was dirty and needed a face lift. Dimly lit. My family gives it a higher rating than I. I wouln't go back for the price. My daughter would. Overall a fair place to stay. The plus is that it's right in the Freanch Quarters. So if you are young and came soley to party it's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Camillia Grill! Awesome! Cheap prices FANTASTIC staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lalo76
Business
Miami
Jul 27, 2012

Old building

The hotel seems to be very old, worn carpets, smell to humidity. There is no fitness center. The amenities in general are poor or even missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Oct 22, 2009

The room vibrated!

I was there for a convention and in that sense the location was convenient. The staff were quite friendly. The room they gave me though left a lot to be desired. It was at the front of the hotel. It smelt musty but the windows did not open so I could not air it out. The bed was quite uncomfortable and sunken in the middle. There was no refrigerator. However, the worst thing was that the parking garage across the streets gate would squeak open and close all night long and it felt like the windows were open it was so loud. Also anytime a large vehicle drove by the whole room vibrated! This was not a comfortable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 16, 2010

great location, disappointing stay

enjoyed river walk, amazed by French Quarter, Mothers restaurant around corner felt like authentic real-life New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BeCee
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Nov 11, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The lobby is exceptionally small and tight making desk activities difficult. Not especially clean (carpets and in general). The first day I left a list of things needing attention - burned out bulbs replaced, additional hangers and more towels. All were taken care of. After that I could not get the variety of towels I requested. A small detail but a frustrating one. The location of St. James Hotel was good for my convention activities as well as walking distance from lots of great food, the French Quarter and everything I wanted to do. At check in I was told I would have additional charges per day of $2.95 for the room safe and $4.95 for internet access, neither of which I intended to use. I was told that in booking through [...]those charges were not covered but ultimately the hotel graciously agreed to waive the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bon Ton Cafe (not a cafe but fine dining) was right across the street and was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mbquincy
Business
Boston MA
Oct 22, 2010

Don't believe the 4 star rating

This was not a four-star hotel - the lobby and hallways were a bit on the shabby side. The room was not clean - sticky bathroom floors, rugs that had clearly not been vacuumed, etc.. We ended up moving to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young-ish foodie
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Would not stay here again

This hotel is conveinently located between the warehouse district and the French Quarter. BUT, that's about all it has going for it. It was pretty inexpensive, but I'm certain you could find similarly-located, cleaner, nicer hotels for the same or less. Also, when looking at the price of the hotel, be sure to factor in a daily charge for wireless Internet and use of a safe, regardless of whether you use either. My biggest complaint is that it just wasn't clean. Also, when we went to check out, the desk clerk was super rude. When we came back to pick up our bags and call a cab for the airport, her boss was at the desk, too, and she was all sweetness and light. Very annoying. In a city of such amazing hospitality, there is no sense in paying to experience that kind of behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cochon (full restaurant) for dinner, then go back to Cochon Butcher (small butcher and sandwich shop just around the corner) for lunch the next day. Amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
May 5, 2009

Nice staff, but dirty & outdated hotel

The hotel did not look like the one shown in the pictures. The hotel was very outdated and appeared very dirty/grimy. The pool was very small and did not look like it had ever been cleaned- algea and leaves filled the water. The staff was very friendly, and I was allowed to check in early. However, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Could have been better

From checking in to checking out I found there was much lacking at the St James Hotel. The staff was not very welcoming and there was an unclean look to the loby floors and walls. The carpet in the hallways on most of the floors needed a major cleaning, ice machines were out of order, door locks were broken.And I was hearing this very same thing from other guests Considering there were many other hotels in the area I would not recommend staying at the St James to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Jul 12, 2011

Could have been better.

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon to a somewhat warm greeting. The gentleman at the front desk could have done a much better job of greeting us. Our room was warm when we arrived and continued to be that way for our two night stay. My husband had left his wallet in the car and unfortunately did not realize it until our car had been valeted. We called down to the front desk to have it brought back up and was answered by the same very annoyed fron desk man. He also told me to make sure and get everything I needed out of the car in a very rude way. The hotel was nice but in the future I will not return, I need to know i can sleep comfortably during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murielles Restaurante, fabulous crab appitizer and Tuna dish. The Yo Mama bar and grill, best burger. Boondocks Bar, great local scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top