$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pawrow
Business
Berlin, CT
May 18, 2012

New Orleans: Friendly City

It was a pleasant hotel and staff were helpful and friendly...I loved the service and food at the restaurant next to the hotel (they were really great... they anticipated every need...before you asked : water, bread etc..) you felt like Queen for the day...The desk person highly recommended the restaurant and Iwas grateful for the great dining experience...THE WORLD WAR 2 MUSEUM and film is a must see...I walked too much the first day... it would have been better to take the trolley (several available)...the next day I could barely walk and missed some programs at the RE convention ...Great food...friendly ,helpful people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

World War 2 Museum...take the trolley...the exhibits are very well thought out ...the film across the street is very impressive...you could comfortably spend 4 hours...the day I was there they had several musical groups performing ( inspiring )...

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMF loves New Orleans
Pikesville MD
May 8, 2012

They claim renovated in 2006...

That's only one building. The other one has not been renovated in 30 years. Hall carpet so old and dirty, your feet would stick to it. Almost no "amenities", not even a bathmat, only shampoo and soap. No tissues, only plastic cups - wow can't they spend any money at all? AC works very poorly. Rooms damp and smelly. Not that cheap either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent breakfast located a bit towards canal (the ruby slipper) and all round excellence especially for oysters at Mothers on Poydras

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mafn
Albany, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

st james infirmary

no trouble finding the room....just follow the black stain in the carpet. Room dirty, staff clueless. Plus =comfortable bed, decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Mother's

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
von hauser
Business
salt lake city
Apr 10, 2012

location was great-walking to anywhere

hotel was great. but the valet parking stole my brand new phone. the hotel made no effort to recover it. that speaks "volumes" about integrity or lack of

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. SBJ
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Not Recommended

Overall this was not a great experience. While the staff tried hard (at least some of them) the facility was old and in need of repair and refurbishing. The first room we were given was not cleaned from the last guest and had no windows and a creepy looking bed. The room we stayed in was on the 4th floor and the elevator broke down. They charged a $150 incidental deposit and there were no amenities. Even worse they double charged my debit card so I am now out of $300 waiting to be reimbursed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the city trollies.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Suj
New Orleans, LA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Staff was very accommodating

Everything you need. Hotels are built for sleeping and that's what the St. James provided. Decor was appealing as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Ang
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2012

Vacation

I would not stay at this hotel again. Lets start with the burlap drapes, bed skirts, and extremely heavy burlap blanket. I asked to have them removed since they were dirty and stained, and made the room extremely stuffy and musty. They looked at me like I had 2 heads. My daughter and I put all of that stuff onto one bed, and shared the other bed. I am sure those items never get cleaned. The bedspreads are too heavy for one person to lift. Lets not forget that the temperature outside is in the 80's, and the air conditioner never made the room comfortable, no matter how much you tried to adjust it. The rug was actually very dirty and moldy. Now for the best part. While getting ready for bed the first nite, I was sitting on the edge of the bed and suddenly a very large waterbed crawls out from under the burlap and into the bathroom. We switched rooms at that time, which was after midnite. After being up since 4:30 am, that was the last thing we wanted to do. We also used the stairs at all times since the elevators have a mind of their own, and open and close randomly. Loved the town, but will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RaginCajun
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Good location, lacks amenities

I enjoyed its location in relation to the french quarter, and was a great deal for what it was. The hotel lacked a continental breakfast or a gym but with as much walking you will do and the plethora of great restaurants around the area it wasn't that big of a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashton
Hattiesburg, MS
Mar 16, 2012

We've Had Better

The St. James wasn't a bad hotel. I'll break it down into Pros and Cons. Pros - Location was right off Canal St, near the French Quarter, and was relatively quiet. The room itself was decently sized. Not as small as many NOLA hotel rooms often are. The bathroom was a fair size. The decor was nice enough, and everything appeared clean. Cons - Valet service was very expensive ($30/day) and VERY VERY SLOW. Expect to wait nearly 30 minutes for your car, even in off times of day. The front desk staff wasn't exactly friendly. Each time we encountered them, they acted like we were an annoyance. The walls in the rooms REALLY need a paint job. Nearly every open wall space had big black scuffs all over them (I assume from luggage?) The sink faucets and handles leaked very badly in the bathroom. The mattress was very uncomfortable. It felt old. I could feel every single spring and woke up with my back and neck on fire each morning. The elevator needs repairs in a bad way. It skips the floor you select and goes a floor above. Ex: We stayed on the 3rd floor. So select 3 in the elevator. It goes (slowwwwwly) to floor 4. What? Hit 3 again. It eventually takes you down to your appropriate level. We tested this on other floors, and it works the same on each one. Expect to pay substantial charges over the price of the room, particularly if you have your own car. We stayed two nights and the additional charges for valet, phone, and internet amounted to $95 over the cost of the two nights and taxes ($190). We probably won't stay again. We had much better service and stay at the Maison DuPuy for the same price previously. Or if you can afford it, stay at the Monteleone instead. Both are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Ruby Slipper Cafe. It's a little hectic in the mornings, but absolutely worth any wait you run into. Amazing breakfasts.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdefghiojklmnop
mn
Feb 20, 2012

awful place

there were carpet beatles all over the beds ,the curtains were stained with who knows what.i had to pay for vallet parking cause of no where to park and when i got my car back it had a parking ticket on the window,for the money it was awful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top