$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenna noelle
Friends
denver, co
Mar 24, 2013

great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the st. Charles streetcar

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rawnie
Single
Newark, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Great Central location

Location is excellent. Walking distance to museums, riverboats, French Quarter, streetcars and art galleries. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool small, but clean with a nice tropical garden atmosphere. Room comfortable and clean. The only suggestion I have is to have some kind of small , simple, breakfast items available in the morning to go with the coffee (maybe beignets or croissants?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to take the Pearl River Eco-tour to the Honey Island Swamp. I've taken other swamp tours every time I visit NOLA, and this one is the best so far. The hotel can arrange for transport.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davoo
Couples
Indianapolis
May 30, 2012

Most Horrible

1. The original details have changed. 2. Carpet was a mess, we were afraid to walk barefoot in the room. I couldn’t tell if it was a murder aftermath or what. Red stains everywhere, even in the hallway leading up to our room. 3. The pool was dirty and we would only put our feet into it. No circulation and I can’t imagine the last time it was cleaned. 4. Interior is in need of desperate painting. Holes filled and holes not filled, what a mess. 5 Vomit stains in the stairwells. 6. AC hardly existed and it happened to be 95 or better each day. 7. The staff seemed extremely bothered when you asked questions. Your Bellman and other staff were great. I went to them instead. 8. No coffee maker as promised. Not a huge deal breaker though. 9. If this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, then the scale should be 1-10 thus a 4 would be about right (sub standard).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demiel
Chicago, Il
May 28, 2012

Nice Place, just one thing wrong

Everything was great. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. I liked the amenities and the bed was comfortable and beautiful. the only issue were the fact that I found two cockroaches, one in the hallway and one in my room. That was less than sublime. However, we did not encounter any others in the time that we were there and I am not sure that it is not an isolated incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Ruby Slipper. It's just two blocks to the right of the hotel and worth it.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimmie vacation
Couples
PA
May 25, 2012

St.James NOLA

The location is great for the value - less than 3 blocks from the French Quarter and walking distance to all of the sights and attractions. Don't plan on swimming because the pool is tiny and gets no sun in the courtyard. Staff was helpful and friendly. We went as a group and some people had very large,spacious rooms with extra seating and I had a tiny room with a bed against the wall and no extra room to move around. Since we paid the same price I asked the staff to move me to a larger room and they did - the first room I had only had a shower stall in the bathroom, no tub. It just depends on what room they give you. Stanley Steamer was there during our stay cleaning the carpets. Good coffee in the lobby but only available in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pawrow
Business
Berlin, CT
May 18, 2012

New Orleans: Friendly City

It was a pleasant hotel and staff were helpful and friendly...I loved the service and food at the restaurant next to the hotel (they were really great... they anticipated every need...before you asked : water, bread etc..) you felt like Queen for the day...The desk person highly recommended the restaurant and Iwas grateful for the great dining experience...THE WORLD WAR 2 MUSEUM and film is a must see...I walked too much the first day... it would have been better to take the trolley (several available)...the next day I could barely walk and missed some programs at the RE convention ...Great food...friendly ,helpful people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

World War 2 Museum...take the trolley...the exhibits are very well thought out ...the film across the street is very impressive...you could comfortably spend 4 hours...the day I was there they had several musical groups performing ( inspiring )...

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMF loves New Orleans
Family
Pikesville MD
May 8, 2012

They claim renovated in 2006...

That's only one building. The other one has not been renovated in 30 years. Hall carpet so old and dirty, your feet would stick to it. Almost no "amenities", not even a bathmat, only shampoo and soap. No tissues, only plastic cups - wow can't they spend any money at all? AC works very poorly. Rooms damp and smelly. Not that cheap either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent breakfast located a bit towards canal (the ruby slipper) and all round excellence especially for oysters at Mothers on Poydras

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mafn
Couples
Albany, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

st james infirmary

no trouble finding the room....just follow the black stain in the carpet. Room dirty, staff clueless. Plus =comfortable bed, decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Mother's

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
von hauser
Business
salt lake city
Apr 10, 2012

location was great-walking to anywhere

hotel was great. but the valet parking stole my brand new phone. the hotel made no effort to recover it. that speaks "volumes" about integrity or lack of

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. SBJ
Couples
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Not Recommended

Overall this was not a great experience. While the staff tried hard (at least some of them) the facility was old and in need of repair and refurbishing. The first room we were given was not cleaned from the last guest and had no windows and a creepy looking bed. The room we stayed in was on the 4th floor and the elevator broke down. They charged a $150 incidental deposit and there were no amenities. Even worse they double charged my debit card so I am now out of $300 waiting to be reimbursed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the city trollies.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Suj
Couples
New Orleans, LA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Staff was very accommodating

Everything you need. Hotels are built for sleeping and that's what the St. James provided. Decor was appealing as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top