$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, is one of New Orlean's finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guest rooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. Parking fee: 34.00 USD per night; 45.00 USD per night during special events.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaandRichard
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 5, 2012

Overnight get away

About 3 blocks (a little further than I thought) from French quarter. Great, clean room and very dark in the morning with drapes closed (got to sleep in a bit). Entire experience and value was worth it. Hate that valet is over $30 but car was well taken care of. Will definitely go back! Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and music very close by at Riverwalk, French Market & French quarter-Perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Izzy peanut
Business
Prairieville, LA
Jul 3, 2012

You pay for what you didn't get

The first room the AC didn't work. They moved us to another one, AC worked excellently, but had no window. That was good for us we were able to sleep in. Park around the block, it is much cheaper than paying almost $40 a night. Staff amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Decatur st. There is a 4 star Restaurant, Star Steak and Lobster. Excellent food for breakfast lunch and dinner. Price was even better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Croostatetraveling
Business
MD
Jul 2, 2012

Outdated

The hotel offers a beautiful entry and presents well from outside, but once you reach your room it's a jump back in time. And not in the best way. The drapes and carpet are dark and heavy, the AC felt like it had not been on before we walked in the room and once on, felt like a swamp cooler. Once settled, it's cozy but needs a serious update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
janoregon
Business
Cornelius oregon
Jul 1, 2012

janoregon

Had to pay $25.00 a night for parking, swimming pool was the size of an oversized hot tub, it was between large buildings that did not allow very much sun in. The bathrooms had no counter space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TulaneParent
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 26, 2012

Not terrible but

Not the best...I give it 2 stars because... The maintenance of the room and most public areas was lacking. There were a few repairs that should be done just to make it ok...Most of the staff were friendly. Parking was ok, they don't have a designated lot so it's a shot in the dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Palace and Mother's very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chelle1234
Business
Pensacola, fl
Jun 11, 2012

Quick trip

Beautiful room ... Friendly staff !! Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rawnie
Business
Newark, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Great Central location

Location is excellent. Walking distance to museums, riverboats, French Quarter, streetcars and art galleries. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool small, but clean with a nice tropical garden atmosphere. Room comfortable and clean. The only suggestion I have is to have some kind of small , simple, breakfast items available in the morning to go with the coffee (maybe beignets or croissants?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to take the Pearl River Eco-tour to the Honey Island Swamp. I've taken other swamp tours every time I visit NOLA, and this one is the best so far. The hotel can arrange for transport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davoo
Business
Indianapolis
May 30, 2012

Most Horrible

1. The original details have changed. 2. Carpet was a mess, we were afraid to walk barefoot in the room. I couldn’t tell if it was a murder aftermath or what. Red stains everywhere, even in the hallway leading up to our room. 3. The pool was dirty and we would only put our feet into it. No circulation and I can’t imagine the last time it was cleaned. 4. Interior is in need of desperate painting. Holes filled and holes not filled, what a mess. 5 Vomit stains in the stairwells. 6. AC hardly existed and it happened to be 95 or better each day. 7. The staff seemed extremely bothered when you asked questions. Your Bellman and other staff were great. I went to them instead. 8. No coffee maker as promised. Not a huge deal breaker though. 9. If this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, then the scale should be 1-10 thus a 4 would be about right (sub standard).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demiel
Business
Chicago, Il
May 28, 2012

Nice Place, just one thing wrong

Everything was great. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. I liked the amenities and the bed was comfortable and beautiful. the only issue were the fact that I found two cockroaches, one in the hallway and one in my room. That was less than sublime. However, we did not encounter any others in the time that we were there and I am not sure that it is not an isolated incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Ruby Slipper. It's just two blocks to the right of the hotel and worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimmie vacation
Business
PA
May 25, 2012

St.James NOLA

The location is great for the value - less than 3 blocks from the French Quarter and walking distance to all of the sights and attractions. Don't plan on swimming because the pool is tiny and gets no sun in the courtyard. Staff was helpful and friendly. We went as a group and some people had very large,spacious rooms with extra seating and I had a tiny room with a bed against the wall and no extra room to move around. Since we paid the same price I asked the staff to move me to a larger room and they did - the first room I had only had a shower stall in the bathroom, no tub. It just depends on what room they give you. Stanley Steamer was there during our stay cleaning the carpets. Good coffee in the lobby but only available in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top