St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
230 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaime R
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Overall I think that the quality of the hotel was very average. The two big downers for me related to the hotel were the parking situation where you had to either pay $35 a day to park with the hotel or try to find the difficult task of finding parking the street and the lack of a pool at the hotel. The location was good enough to make it to the french quater and casino in about 5 mins of walking and along with the pricing of the hotel it made up for the lack of amenities of the hotel. This hotel will do if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of all the main attractions but don't expect to be impressed with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaandRichard
Mobile, AL
Jul 5, 2012

Overnight get away

About 3 blocks (a little further than I thought) from French quarter. Great, clean room and very dark in the morning with drapes closed (got to sleep in a bit). Entire experience and value was worth it. Hate that valet is over $30 but car was well taken care of. Will definitely go back! Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and music very close by at Riverwalk, French Market & French quarter-Perfect!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Izzy peanut
Prairieville, LA
Jul 3, 2012

You pay for what you didn't get

The first room the AC didn't work. They moved us to another one, AC worked excellently, but had no window. That was good for us we were able to sleep in. Park around the block, it is much cheaper than paying almost $40 a night. Staff amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Decatur st. There is a 4 star Restaurant, Star Steak and Lobster. Excellent food for breakfast lunch and dinner. Price was even better.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Croostatetraveling
MD
Jul 2, 2012

Outdated

The hotel offers a beautiful entry and presents well from outside, but once you reach your room it's a jump back in time. And not in the best way. The drapes and carpet are dark and heavy, the AC felt like it had not been on before we walked in the room and once on, felt like a swamp cooler. Once settled, it's cozy but needs a serious update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
janoregon
Cornelius oregon
Jul 1, 2012

janoregon

Had to pay $25.00 a night for parking, swimming pool was the size of an oversized hot tub, it was between large buildings that did not allow very much sun in. The bathrooms had no counter space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TulaneParent
Seattle, WA
Jun 26, 2012

Not terrible but

Not the best...I give it 2 stars because... The maintenance of the room and most public areas was lacking. There were a few repairs that should be done just to make it ok...Most of the staff were friendly. Parking was ok, they don't have a designated lot so it's a shot in the dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Palace and Mother's very close.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chelle1234
Pensacola, fl
Jun 11, 2012

Quick trip

Beautiful room ... Friendly staff !! Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rawnie
Newark, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Great Central location

Location is excellent. Walking distance to museums, riverboats, French Quarter, streetcars and art galleries. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool small, but clean with a nice tropical garden atmosphere. Room comfortable and clean. The only suggestion I have is to have some kind of small , simple, breakfast items available in the morning to go with the coffee (maybe beignets or croissants?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to take the Pearl River Eco-tour to the Honey Island Swamp. I've taken other swamp tours every time I visit NOLA, and this one is the best so far. The hotel can arrange for transport.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davoo
Indianapolis
May 30, 2012

Most Horrible

1. The original details have changed. 2. Carpet was a mess, we were afraid to walk barefoot in the room. I couldn’t tell if it was a murder aftermath or what. Red stains everywhere, even in the hallway leading up to our room. 3. The pool was dirty and we would only put our feet into it. No circulation and I can’t imagine the last time it was cleaned. 4. Interior is in need of desperate painting. Holes filled and holes not filled, what a mess. 5 Vomit stains in the stairwells. 6. AC hardly existed and it happened to be 95 or better each day. 7. The staff seemed extremely bothered when you asked questions. Your Bellman and other staff were great. I went to them instead. 8. No coffee maker as promised. Not a huge deal breaker though. 9. If this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, then the scale should be 1-10 thus a 4 would be about right (sub standard).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demiel
Chicago, Il
May 28, 2012

Nice Place, just one thing wrong

Everything was great. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. I liked the amenities and the bed was comfortable and beautiful. the only issue were the fact that I found two cockroaches, one in the hallway and one in my room. That was less than sublime. However, we did not encounter any others in the time that we were there and I am not sure that it is not an isolated incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Ruby Slipper. It's just two blocks to the right of the hotel and worth it.

Back to menu Return to top