$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wegiff
Northeast
Feb 1, 2013

Staying at the St James

I have nothing but great things about the St James Hotel. The front desk people were great taking care of our every need. The room was clean and up to date, especially the wood floors. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the Quarter to be peaceful but close enough to the action. When I go back to New Orleans, i will be staying at the St James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Olympia, WA
Mar 24, 2010

Cozy Home Away from Home

I loved it and thought the staff was wonderful. Traveling alone I felt safe and taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Rita's is a block away for a casual Tex Mex and you can have food delivered. Open everyday but Monday....and then there's the River Walk with Dragos at the Hilton for Charbroiled Oysters.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young-ish foodie
Dallas, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Would not stay here again

This hotel is conveinently located between the warehouse district and the French Quarter. BUT, that's about all it has going for it. It was pretty inexpensive, but I'm certain you could find similarly-located, cleaner, nicer hotels for the same or less. Also, when looking at the price of the hotel, be sure to factor in a daily charge for wireless Internet and use of a safe, regardless of whether you use either. My biggest complaint is that it just wasn't clean. Also, when we went to check out, the desk clerk was super rude. When we came back to pick up our bags and call a cab for the airport, her boss was at the desk, too, and she was all sweetness and light. Very annoying. In a city of such amazing hospitality, there is no sense in paying to experience that kind of behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cochon (full restaurant) for dinner, then go back to Cochon Butcher (small butcher and sandwich shop just around the corner) for lunch the next day. Amazing.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young-ish foodie
Dallas, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Would not stay here again

This hotel is conveinently located between the warehouse district and the French Quarter. BUT, that's about all it has going for it. It was pretty inexpensive, but I'm certain you could find similarly-located, cleaner, nicer hotels for the same or less. Also, when looking at the price of the hotel, be sure to factor in a daily charge for wireless Internet and use of a safe, regardless of whether you use either. My biggest complaint is that it just wasn't clean. Also, when we went to check out, the desk clerk was super rude. When we came back to pick up our bags and call a cab for the airport, her boss was at the desk, too, and she was all sweetness and light. Very annoying. In a city of such amazing hospitality, there is no sense in paying to experience that kind of behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cochon (full restaurant) for dinner, then go back to Cochon Butcher (small butcher and sandwich shop just around the corner) for lunch the next day. Amazing.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile, AL.
Mar 19, 2010

Great stay for the price but....

We couldn't have been any happier with our stay at the St. James Hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, lots of hot water. The bed was a bit lumpy but when you're exhausted from seeing "Nawlins" it didn't matter too much. Even though the hotel is not dead center in the French Quarter it is only a five minute walk there or you can turn left out of the hotel for some of the finest dining and boutique shopping the area has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We love old Irish "dive" bars and The Kerry is a straight shot (no pun intended) down Magazine St. across Canal and onto Decature. Stop in and say Hi to [...] and [...]!!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mobile, AL.
Mar 19, 2010

Great stay for the price but....

We couldn't have been any happier with our stay at the St. James Hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, lots of hot water. The bed was a bit lumpy but when you're exhausted from seeing "Nawlins" it didn't matter too much. Even though the hotel is not dead center in the French Quarter it is only a five minute walk there or you can turn left out of the hotel for some of the finest dining and boutique shopping the area has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We love old Irish "dive" bars and The Kerry is a straight shot (no pun intended) down Magazine St. across Canal and onto Decature. Stop in and say Hi to [...] and [...]!!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
churchdesigner
Business
High Point, NC
Mar 18, 2010

HOTEL CHARMS VISITER ON BUSINESS

I took a chance at an unknown hotel and was pleasantly surprised..close to to all the action of the quarter but nice and quiet, less traffic, very turn of the century charm and tranquil. I told the staff that I had a poor seat on my plane trip.[...] once agin put me in a rear seat right across from the restroom..so the nice receptionist handpicked a nice corner room with a pleasant view. The danish pastries and coffee in the lobby in the morning was also a nice surprise. I will stay here agin. I may even bring my dog since they allow small pets..thats a rarity these days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cozy bar at the Austin Restaurant right around the corner from the hotel is a lovely place to stop for a great martini, but next time I will do dinner so I can have their Gnocci with truffle oil and crab!-heard from several people how wonderful it is!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
churchdesigner
Business
High Point, NC
Mar 18, 2010

HOTEL CHARMS VISITER ON BUSINESS

I took a chance at an unknown hotel and was pleasantly surprised..close to to all the action of the quarter but nice and quiet, less traffic, very turn of the century charm and tranquil. I told the staff that I had a poor seat on my plane trip.[...] once agin put me in a rear seat right across from the restroom..so the nice receptionist handpicked a nice corner room with a pleasant view. The danish pastries and coffee in the lobby in the morning was also a nice surprise. I will stay here agin. I may even bring my dog since they allow small pets..thats a rarity these days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cozy bar at the Austin Restaurant right around the corner from the hotel is a lovely place to stop for a great martini, but next time I will do dinner so I can have their Gnocci with truffle oil and crab!-heard from several people how wonderful it is!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 16, 2010

great location, disappointing stay

enjoyed river walk, amazed by French Quarter, Mothers restaurant around corner felt like authentic real-life New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 16, 2010

great location, disappointing stay

enjoyed river walk, amazed by French Quarter, Mothers restaurant around corner felt like authentic real-life New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hammond, Louisiana
Mar 7, 2010

Great for getaway

Only complaint we had was slow service getting more towels to our room. Other than that, everything was wonderful. The room was very clean and spacious. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is worth paying for the valet parking, because the hotel is located close to the Superdome and the French Quarter. They allow you to keep your vehecle in the valet even after you check out, which saves on other parking fees as you sight see. My family and I will be booking there again when we stay over-night in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to an event at the Superdome or the Hornets Arena, this hotel is the perfect place to stay to avoid the price of parking there. If you leave early enough, you are able to stop and grab a bite to eat along the way, then continue to the event. Taxis back to the hotel are rather cheap, so if you are too tired to walk back to the hotel, they line up along this stretch of road after the event.

Back to menu Return to top