$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles
Jul 28, 2008

xmas in July

this was a very nice place for the price even if it was $10 cheaper at the hotel. I actually stayed an extra night because I was late for my flight leaving New Orleans. In walking distance to everything I needed. I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm leagally blind but had no problem walking short distance to little shops, Saks, a couple nice restraunts, and Harrahs Casino was only a couple blocks away. I felt safe and comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 25, 2008

great location

The St. James has very comfortable rooms. The front desk staff especially Patrick were all very helpful and friendly. The location was convienient to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

with a couple of blocks walk you are in the heart of the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul Kent
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 2, 2008

St. James Hotel

This hotel is in a fine CBD location, near some good restaurants, but our stay was not a pleasant one - there is a venue next to the hotel that regularly hosts weddings - and this venue shares an inner courtyard with the St. James - there were weddings both nights we were there, and the noise was awful - not just the band playing until 1am, but all the screaming partygoers in the courtyard, and then everyone returning to the hotel afterwards - i honestly don't know how they can run a hotel in this location - there seemed to be A LOT of complaints - there is no way that anyone in the hotel who was trying to sleep could. I would NEVER stay here again. I know this is New Orleans, but if I'm going to stay up late partying, I want it to be on my own terms. Were it not for this problem, it would be a fine, standard hotel with limited amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilliana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Poor Stay

I was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel. Very dirty bathrooms. Small rooms. No bell hop to help with luggage during the week. Very soiled wall behind the toilet, disgusting coffee area in room. AAA lists fridge in room and they had been removed. There is a fridge to use in the lobby. Was checked into a room to rest after insisting and was told to not unpack that we would be moved as soon as a room was ready. I finally called the front desk at five that night and they moved us to a room half the size. This is just an overview of what went wrong at this hotel. If you plan to book it, RUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 3, 2007

Pretty but uncomfortable

Too much furniture in the bed room and the bed was the worst I have ever slept on. The mattress seemed very worn out but they put a pillow top on it to try to help it out, it didn't. They also had really nice furniture, but too much of it, It was hard to get around the room without stubbing your toe. The towels were few and very stained. It's too bad because it was a very nice looking hotel and somewhat clean. Updated and alot of attention to detail. The location was fine. It was close to the French Quarter, the river and a casino. But there was only one restaurant close to the hotel and it wasn't very good. We went to the casino to eat after that. If the could thin out the furniture and pay a little more attention to service it would be a great place. Oh yea, AND REPLACE THE MATTRESS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 13, 2007

Nice Hotel!

The st James is a really nice hotel the room was big the bathroom was beautiful and I would recommed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to french quarter just a short walk to Harrahs Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2007

great value

Great location and great value for the money. The pool was small, but I didnt go to New Orleans to swim in a hotel pool. The room was nice appointed, clean and the hotel staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top