$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul Kent
Couples
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 2, 2008

St. James Hotel

This hotel is in a fine CBD location, near some good restaurants, but our stay was not a pleasant one - there is a venue next to the hotel that regularly hosts weddings - and this venue shares an inner courtyard with the St. James - there were weddings both nights we were there, and the noise was awful - not just the band playing until 1am, but all the screaming partygoers in the courtyard, and then everyone returning to the hotel afterwards - i honestly don't know how they can run a hotel in this location - there seemed to be A LOT of complaints - there is no way that anyone in the hotel who was trying to sleep could. I would NEVER stay here again. I know this is New Orleans, but if I'm going to stay up late partying, I want it to be on my own terms. Were it not for this problem, it would be a fine, standard hotel with limited amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilliana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Poor Stay

I was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel. Very dirty bathrooms. Small rooms. No bell hop to help with luggage during the week. Very soiled wall behind the toilet, disgusting coffee area in room. AAA lists fridge in room and they had been removed. There is a fridge to use in the lobby. Was checked into a room to rest after insisting and was told to not unpack that we would be moved as soon as a room was ready. I finally called the front desk at five that night and they moved us to a room half the size. This is just an overview of what went wrong at this hotel. If you plan to book it, RUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty in walking distance.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Sep 3, 2007

Pretty but uncomfortable

Too much furniture in the bed room and the bed was the worst I have ever slept on. The mattress seemed very worn out but they put a pillow top on it to try to help it out, it didn't. They also had really nice furniture, but too much of it, It was hard to get around the room without stubbing your toe. The towels were few and very stained. It's too bad because it was a very nice looking hotel and somewhat clean. Updated and alot of attention to detail. The location was fine. It was close to the French Quarter, the river and a casino. But there was only one restaurant close to the hotel and it wasn't very good. We went to the casino to eat after that. If the could thin out the furniture and pay a little more attention to service it would be a great place. Oh yea, AND REPLACE THE MATTRESS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 13, 2007

Nice Hotel!

The st James is a really nice hotel the room was big the bathroom was beautiful and I would recommed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to french quarter just a short walk to Harrahs Casino

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Jun 17, 2007

great value

Great location and great value for the money. The pool was small, but I didnt go to New Orleans to swim in a hotel pool. The room was nice appointed, clean and the hotel staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to everything

Back to menu Return to top