$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenna noelle
denver, co
Mar 24, 2013

great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the st. Charles streetcar

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gil
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
May 4, 2009

Friendly folks...nice location.

We were in town for our wedding anniversary during the French Quarter Festival. We found the St James to be perfectly located...we were within walking distance to all the activity. Considering the number of tourists in NOLA during that weekend, we felt the room was reasonably priced. Although our room was relatively small it was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 23, 2009

Nice hotel, good location

We paid for an up-grade in room. Reception said they did not have more rooms and that they did not guaranty the up-grade that it was Orbitz responsibility. It wasn't nice since it was our 1 year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a great experience take a traveler book with you.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CPP
Business
Miami, fl
Mar 9, 2009

Good Choice

The location was pretty good and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is that the first night we had a room on the first floor close to the front desk where we could hear everything happening there. Later we talked to them and they changed our room. The hotel is a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2009

great experience

siteseeing, pre-Mardi Gras events, birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

numerous great restaurants within walking distance

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 3, 2009

Loved this quaint close-to-all hotel

The St. James is in a perfect location for anyone wanting to be close to French Quarter or Canal Street or Harrah's! Just a short walk to all. Magazine Street turns into Decatur (Cafe Dumonde) on other side of Canal Street. Rooms are small but very nicely appointed with four poster beds and high ceilings with plush window coverings. West Indian Caribbean decorations throughout. Coffee maker in room, excellent pastries for breakfast. We will definitly stay there again- no need at all for a car. Close to all downtown and French Quarter parade routes. Very helpful and pleasant desk attendants. Great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all NOLA including French Quarter, Riverwalk area, downtown.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mihalis
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Mar 3, 2009

A Nice Place But Not Too Near Bourbon St

The hotel is nice, but really over-priced... as are most in New Orleans. The picture looks like it should be in the midst of the French Quarter, but it is not. It is quite a walk to Bourbon Street and across Canal Street. The room was really small with the large bed and TV console with drawers making getting around a squeeze to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverfront is really close as is the casino... but Bourbon Street is a rather long walk from the hotel. Be prepared for an internet charge of $4.95 a day... even if you don't bring your laptop. They also charge you for the room safe... even if you do not use it. I did not rent a car so I don't know the parking fee situation.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Batavia
Dec 9, 2008

Great Location--Nice Charm

Room was huge and furniture/linens were above expected for the price. A few blocks from everything (French Quarter, Harrah's, Riverfront, Warehouse district restaurants, St. Charles streetcar) made it an ideal location. The only flaw was the shower was not very warm one morning out of three. Otherwise, the St. James provided everything I expected and then some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2008

Walking distance

It was perfect for walking to anything we needed. Great restaurants, close to Bourbon Street and all of the other local places most short visits would want. The room was very nice, very old, nice balcony and the employees were very friendly. The cost of parking was much more than we expected though and a bit inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles
Jul 28, 2008

xmas in July

this was a very nice place for the price even if it was $10 cheaper at the hotel. I actually stayed an extra night because I was late for my flight leaving New Orleans. In walking distance to everything I needed. I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm leagally blind but had no problem walking short distance to little shops, Saks, a couple nice restraunts, and Harrahs Casino was only a couple blocks away. I felt safe and comfortable.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 25, 2008

great location

The St. James has very comfortable rooms. The front desk staff especially Patrick were all very helpful and friendly. The location was convienient to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

with a couple of blocks walk you are in the heart of the French Quarter.

Back to menu Return to top