$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mihalis
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Mar 3, 2009

A Nice Place But Not Too Near Bourbon St

The hotel is nice, but really over-priced... as are most in New Orleans. The picture looks like it should be in the midst of the French Quarter, but it is not. It is quite a walk to Bourbon Street and across Canal Street. The room was really small with the large bed and TV console with drawers making getting around a squeeze to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverfront is really close as is the casino... but Bourbon Street is a rather long walk from the hotel. Be prepared for an internet charge of $4.95 a day... even if you don't bring your laptop. They also charge you for the room safe... even if you do not use it. I did not rent a car so I don't know the parking fee situation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Batavia
Dec 9, 2008

Great Location--Nice Charm

Room was huge and furniture/linens were above expected for the price. A few blocks from everything (French Quarter, Harrah's, Riverfront, Warehouse district restaurants, St. Charles streetcar) made it an ideal location. The only flaw was the shower was not very warm one morning out of three. Otherwise, the St. James provided everything I expected and then some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2008

Walking distance

It was perfect for walking to anything we needed. Great restaurants, close to Bourbon Street and all of the other local places most short visits would want. The room was very nice, very old, nice balcony and the employees were very friendly. The cost of parking was much more than we expected though and a bit inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles
Jul 28, 2008

xmas in July

this was a very nice place for the price even if it was $10 cheaper at the hotel. I actually stayed an extra night because I was late for my flight leaving New Orleans. In walking distance to everything I needed. I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm leagally blind but had no problem walking short distance to little shops, Saks, a couple nice restraunts, and Harrahs Casino was only a couple blocks away. I felt safe and comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 25, 2008

great location

The St. James has very comfortable rooms. The front desk staff especially Patrick were all very helpful and friendly. The location was convienient to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

with a couple of blocks walk you are in the heart of the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul Kent
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 2, 2008

St. James Hotel

This hotel is in a fine CBD location, near some good restaurants, but our stay was not a pleasant one - there is a venue next to the hotel that regularly hosts weddings - and this venue shares an inner courtyard with the St. James - there were weddings both nights we were there, and the noise was awful - not just the band playing until 1am, but all the screaming partygoers in the courtyard, and then everyone returning to the hotel afterwards - i honestly don't know how they can run a hotel in this location - there seemed to be A LOT of complaints - there is no way that anyone in the hotel who was trying to sleep could. I would NEVER stay here again. I know this is New Orleans, but if I'm going to stay up late partying, I want it to be on my own terms. Were it not for this problem, it would be a fine, standard hotel with limited amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilliana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Poor Stay

I was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel. Very dirty bathrooms. Small rooms. No bell hop to help with luggage during the week. Very soiled wall behind the toilet, disgusting coffee area in room. AAA lists fridge in room and they had been removed. There is a fridge to use in the lobby. Was checked into a room to rest after insisting and was told to not unpack that we would be moved as soon as a room was ready. I finally called the front desk at five that night and they moved us to a room half the size. This is just an overview of what went wrong at this hotel. If you plan to book it, RUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 3, 2007

Pretty but uncomfortable

Too much furniture in the bed room and the bed was the worst I have ever slept on. The mattress seemed very worn out but they put a pillow top on it to try to help it out, it didn't. They also had really nice furniture, but too much of it, It was hard to get around the room without stubbing your toe. The towels were few and very stained. It's too bad because it was a very nice looking hotel and somewhat clean. Updated and alot of attention to detail. The location was fine. It was close to the French Quarter, the river and a casino. But there was only one restaurant close to the hotel and it wasn't very good. We went to the casino to eat after that. If the could thin out the furniture and pay a little more attention to service it would be a great place. Oh yea, AND REPLACE THE MATTRESS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 13, 2007

Nice Hotel!

The st James is a really nice hotel the room was big the bathroom was beautiful and I would recommed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to french quarter just a short walk to Harrahs Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2007

great value

Great location and great value for the money. The pool was small, but I didnt go to New Orleans to swim in a hotel pool. The room was nice appointed, clean and the hotel staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top