$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB- Illinois
Business
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2009

Quiet, off the beaten path

The St. James is a quiet hotel, but almost too much so. Close to everything, but not close enough to get a bite to eat for breakfast. Rooms well appointed, but not as clean as others I have stayed in recently. Would like to have had a computer in the lobby to check emails, etc. as we didn't want to bring our own laptop. A good value when combined with the car and flight, but probably won't be back,will try for a larger hotel instead. The pool is sized for koi, not people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

New Orleans is home to fantastic evening dining, but to get a quick bite for breakfast it is a very long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 19, 2009

Good location, excellent service.

My wife and I went to New Orleans for a destination wedding. We went early (Wed) and stayed extra (Mon). The St. James was a couple of blocks from Canal St., the edge of the French Quarter. It was also an easy walk to the Riverwalk, Mother's restaurant, the St. Charles St. Streetcar, and the Quarter. The service was without equal, but the beds were a little lumpy and one of the sheets had a rip in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is a landmark, but expect the line to get in to be out the door and down the ramp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, La
May 14, 2009

deja vu all over again

Am providing review since I originally measured the risks to choose this hotel based on some poor and some good reviews. Unfortunately, our experience was very similar to another guest. We arrived on Friday about 3PM and upon checking in we were given the dreaded lobby room, no. 115. This room is located on the main floor, with full windows on the front street and our room door just outside of the staff / service room, and around one corner to the lobby. I immediately requested a different room but was told they were full, due to us arriving on Friday afternoon. During the early evening I would like to take a short nap and relax before heading out to dinner but this was not possible with the noise of staff cutting up just outside the window and then inside the the lobby around 6PM each night. Simply put, this room needs to be converted to something else as I am sure there are several things to enjoy about this hotel, but getting past this room location makes it impossible to appreciate anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmens Street and hop from one establishment to another enjoying the various live and local music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
May 8, 2009

Nice Little Place

Its a really nice small hotel, close to everything but not in the non stop party like the neighboring French Quarter. We come every year for Jazz Fest a lot of musicians stay here too so you can see them off stage and say hi. Some of the Ponderosa Stomp guys were there when we checked in and were practicing very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ccchon and Mothers are very close. Go early because Mothers has long lines but they are pretty fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
May 5, 2009

Nice staff, but dirty & outdated hotel

The hotel did not look like the one shown in the pictures. The hotel was very outdated and appeared very dirty/grimy. The pool was very small and did not look like it had ever been cleaned- algea and leaves filled the water. The staff was very friendly, and I was allowed to check in early. However, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gil
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
May 4, 2009

Friendly folks...nice location.

We were in town for our wedding anniversary during the French Quarter Festival. We found the St James to be perfectly located...we were within walking distance to all the activity. Considering the number of tourists in NOLA during that weekend, we felt the room was reasonably priced. Although our room was relatively small it was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 23, 2009

Nice hotel, good location

We paid for an up-grade in room. Reception said they did not have more rooms and that they did not guaranty the up-grade that it was Orbitz responsibility. It wasn't nice since it was our 1 year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a great experience take a traveler book with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CPP
Business
Miami, fl
Mar 9, 2009

Good Choice

The location was pretty good and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is that the first night we had a room on the first floor close to the front desk where we could hear everything happening there. Later we talked to them and they changed our room. The hotel is a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2009

great experience

siteseeing, pre-Mardi Gras events, birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

numerous great restaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 3, 2009

Loved this quaint close-to-all hotel

The St. James is in a perfect location for anyone wanting to be close to French Quarter or Canal Street or Harrah's! Just a short walk to all. Magazine Street turns into Decatur (Cafe Dumonde) on other side of Canal Street. Rooms are small but very nicely appointed with four poster beds and high ceilings with plush window coverings. West Indian Caribbean decorations throughout. Coffee maker in room, excellent pastries for breakfast. We will definitly stay there again- no need at all for a car. Close to all downtown and French Quarter parade routes. Very helpful and pleasant desk attendants. Great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all NOLA including French Quarter, Riverwalk area, downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top