$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
230 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
May 19, 2009

Good location, excellent service.

My wife and I went to New Orleans for a destination wedding. We went early (Wed) and stayed extra (Mon). The St. James was a couple of blocks from Canal St., the edge of the French Quarter. It was also an easy walk to the Riverwalk, Mother's restaurant, the St. Charles St. Streetcar, and the Quarter. The service was without equal, but the beds were a little lumpy and one of the sheets had a rip in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is a landmark, but expect the line to get in to be out the door and down the ramp.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, La
May 14, 2009

deja vu all over again

Am providing review since I originally measured the risks to choose this hotel based on some poor and some good reviews. Unfortunately, our experience was very similar to another guest. We arrived on Friday about 3PM and upon checking in we were given the dreaded lobby room, no. 115. This room is located on the main floor, with full windows on the front street and our room door just outside of the staff / service room, and around one corner to the lobby. I immediately requested a different room but was told they were full, due to us arriving on Friday afternoon. During the early evening I would like to take a short nap and relax before heading out to dinner but this was not possible with the noise of staff cutting up just outside the window and then inside the the lobby around 6PM each night. Simply put, this room needs to be converted to something else as I am sure there are several things to enjoy about this hotel, but getting past this room location makes it impossible to appreciate anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmens Street and hop from one establishment to another enjoying the various live and local music.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
May 8, 2009

Nice Little Place

Its a really nice small hotel, close to everything but not in the non stop party like the neighboring French Quarter. We come every year for Jazz Fest a lot of musicians stay here too so you can see them off stage and say hi. Some of the Ponderosa Stomp guys were there when we checked in and were practicing very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ccchon and Mothers are very close. Go early because Mothers has long lines but they are pretty fast.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
May 5, 2009

Nice staff, but dirty & outdated hotel

The hotel did not look like the one shown in the pictures. The hotel was very outdated and appeared very dirty/grimy. The pool was very small and did not look like it had ever been cleaned- algea and leaves filled the water. The staff was very friendly, and I was allowed to check in early. However, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gil
Gig Harbor, WA
May 4, 2009

Friendly folks...nice location.

We were in town for our wedding anniversary during the French Quarter Festival. We found the St James to be perfectly located...we were within walking distance to all the activity. Considering the number of tourists in NOLA during that weekend, we felt the room was reasonably priced. Although our room was relatively small it was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Apr 23, 2009

Nice hotel, good location

We paid for an up-grade in room. Reception said they did not have more rooms and that they did not guaranty the up-grade that it was Orbitz responsibility. It wasn't nice since it was our 1 year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a great experience take a traveler book with you.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CPP
Miami, fl
Mar 9, 2009

Good Choice

The location was pretty good and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is that the first night we had a room on the first floor close to the front desk where we could hear everything happening there. Later we talked to them and they changed our room. The hotel is a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2009

great experience

siteseeing, pre-Mardi Gras events, birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

numerous great restaurants within walking distance

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Mar 3, 2009

Loved this quaint close-to-all hotel

The St. James is in a perfect location for anyone wanting to be close to French Quarter or Canal Street or Harrah's! Just a short walk to all. Magazine Street turns into Decatur (Cafe Dumonde) on other side of Canal Street. Rooms are small but very nicely appointed with four poster beds and high ceilings with plush window coverings. West Indian Caribbean decorations throughout. Coffee maker in room, excellent pastries for breakfast. We will definitly stay there again- no need at all for a car. Close to all downtown and French Quarter parade routes. Very helpful and pleasant desk attendants. Great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all NOLA including French Quarter, Riverwalk area, downtown.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mihalis
St. Louis, Missouri
Mar 3, 2009

A Nice Place But Not Too Near Bourbon St

The hotel is nice, but really over-priced... as are most in New Orleans. The picture looks like it should be in the midst of the French Quarter, but it is not. It is quite a walk to Bourbon Street and across Canal Street. The room was really small with the large bed and TV console with drawers making getting around a squeeze to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverfront is really close as is the casino... but Bourbon Street is a rather long walk from the hotel. Be prepared for an internet charge of $4.95 a day... even if you don't bring your laptop. They also charge you for the room safe... even if you do not use it. I did not rent a car so I don't know the parking fee situation.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search