$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
228 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 23, 2009

History and Charm

Close to the Quarter.. Friendly staff.. Located near Canal st near the hotel district. It has history and charm. It is a bit worn but clean. It's a nice change from staying in the big chain style hotels. They have a nice outside courtyard area to relax. If you want to stay somewhere that's like the city stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is just around the corner from the hotel. You may have to wait in line but it's good southern home cooking. The atmosphere, waitstaff and rules of the house are almost more fun than the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
M
Jul 13, 2009

great location, quiet, friendly

our second stay at this boutique hotel in the CBD of New Orleans. Friendly staff, near great eateries, Harrahs Casino, Canal Street, French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restaurants right outside the door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joigurl[@]
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 7, 2009

Great room, few amentities

The hotel was quaint, very quiet and conveniently located within walking distance of the Superdome, Convention Center and French Quarters. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did notice that a bit more thorough cleaning was needed as there was hair and dust that aggravated one of our party's allergies. Also, no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look into dining facilities before arriving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagirl
Business
Spring, TX
Jun 15, 2009

Not young, but restless

The Hotel was really nice. It was not far from great eateries. I loved the room. On the flipside, the bed was very uncomfortable for me, however, it did not bother my husband. The staff was really, really nice as well. The hotel did not have all the amenities that I'm normally used to but it served its purpose for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eateries were great! My favorite was The Praline Connection. If you like soul food that is the place to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCProducerGuy
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2009

Good, could be great

The hotel is good, but there are better bangs for the buck. The good points: it's a very clean, lovely building. The location is close to the French Quarter and only a 5 minute walk to the casino. The staff on a whole was friendly and helpful. Now for the downsides. There is a mandatory telephone and safe charge - not very practical in the cell phone age. It's a hefty fee, and I never used either. Plus in the room I was in, there were no drawers or shelves to put clothes - I ended up folding out the ironing board and unpacking there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
May 31, 2009

St James Hotel: Good Budget Hotel

The Hotel was fine, no real issues. It's in a fantastic location, that's probably the biggest pro. It's not by any means a destination hotel or a hotel you want to stay at if you're looking for a hotel experience. But, if you're on a budget and you want to stay in that neighborhood (close to the French Quarter/Canal St.), it's a good option. The hotel and rooms overall are clean, but just dingy. The hotel could benefit from a remodeling to be honest. Also, the hotel doesn't really match up with what is conveyed online in terms of pictures, etc. For example, the pool, which looks fantastic online and I was kind of excited for, by the looks of it in person, I would never step foot in. But anyway, like I said - it's a good budget hotel and the staff was very friendly. If you're looking for a really nice experience and have the $$ to spend for it, go to the Windsor Court Hotel, or the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 26, 2009

Good location, Average Hotel

We reserved a king room, but only a queen was available. The bathroom is in need of repair. Ceiling tiles are falling down and the faucet in the shower falls off. The mattress is old and lumpy. The wireless internet connection in the room did not work. I was traveling for business so the internet connection was necessary. I had to sit in the lobby for three hours to work on projects. The front desk associate was friendly and removed the daily internet charges from my room bill. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to most attractions and French Quarter district. Hotel was "ok" because of the great Orbitz rate. If I had paid full price for my room, I would not have been happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
May 25, 2009

quaint, large room, nice courtyard

great place for the night, our doggies were happy with the little courtyard outside our room too. Good location, excellent restaurant next door, CUVE and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

connected to the hotel by a hallway, Cuve is a wonderful example of the fine dining in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB- Illinois
Business
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2009

Quiet, off the beaten path

The St. James is a quiet hotel, but almost too much so. Close to everything, but not close enough to get a bite to eat for breakfast. Rooms well appointed, but not as clean as others I have stayed in recently. Would like to have had a computer in the lobby to check emails, etc. as we didn't want to bring our own laptop. A good value when combined with the car and flight, but probably won't be back,will try for a larger hotel instead. The pool is sized for koi, not people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

New Orleans is home to fantastic evening dining, but to get a quick bite for breakfast it is a very long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 19, 2009

Good location, excellent service.

My wife and I went to New Orleans for a destination wedding. We went early (Wed) and stayed extra (Mon). The St. James was a couple of blocks from Canal St., the edge of the French Quarter. It was also an easy walk to the Riverwalk, Mother's restaurant, the St. Charles St. Streetcar, and the Quarter. The service was without equal, but the beds were a little lumpy and one of the sheets had a rip in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is a landmark, but expect the line to get in to be out the door and down the ramp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top