$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foodie Couple
Business
New Haven, CT
Nov 22, 2009

Great location, quiet rooms

This is a great location, but the hotel has a few kinks to work out. One day our room didn't receive maid service. There was no surface near or on the sink for personal items. The towel count was inconsistent from day to day. I needed to request a new iron because the one provided was broken. We received only shampoo, soap and lotion, but no conditioner or shower cap, which are usually standard. However, the staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the bell service was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roosevelt Hotel was recently restored,is a short walk and is a beautiful and romantic place for a nightcap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maurice Montpetit
Business
Laval, Montreal, Quebec Canada
Nov 17, 2009

Whach out !!

Upon arrival the reception lady wanted us to sign a form where by we where consenting to pay extra charge daily for internet cable availibility and two other different service all of whicht we did not want. After insisting telling me it was mandatory, I clearly said that ''I will not sign'' '' this was not part of our deal with [...]'' ''clearly no''and so on....I had to take a firm stand and clearly the lady seems to us furious. We did not like this experience. All of the 5 days (exept monday morning at 4:00 AM before departure)we where entitled to 2 or 3 minutes of warm water when showering after that was icy cold !!! We reported this situation 2 times...they promised to fix the problem but to no avail....very very frustrating.We do not recommend this hotel.But New Orleans is very lively, special and unique...what a good time we had...music & music: blues jazz, dixieland, creole jazz. rock jazz. A city worth to see and visitMaurice Montpetit and Nicole Lemieux.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

eating and music: The Snug Harbour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Croix Falls, WI
Nov 16, 2009

Satisfied

My partner and I stayed at the St. James from Thursday afternoon until Sunday morning; it was our first visit to NOLA. The hotel itself was nothing really special--the rooms were nice but dark and kind of noisy. We were in room 209 which was right across from the elevator and the ice machine--not the best location in the place. The pool is TINY and should actually be called a pond and they do not offer continental breakfast. The bright spots were the staff (VERY friendly and helpful) and the location. Technically, the St. James is located in the Central Business District, but it is only about 2 city blocks from the start of the French Quarter and right around the corner from Mothers. Also, a bonus was that Chuck's bar was kitty corner and it proved to be a great little dive bar to watch the Saints game on Sunday (also open "d*** near 24 hours" which we loved!) All in all, I would be happy to stay at this hotel the next time we visit NOLA. The benefits outweighed the drawbacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Nov 14, 2009

Very friendly staff and nice location!

I basically used the hotel to sleep, I will definitely return there, friendly staff and good location. Only minus is that it is an old hotel (smelly carpets, etc...) but that is what you get for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K B
Business
Marietta, GA
Nov 8, 2009

Look elsewhere

The restaurant is a jacket and tie place, just a heads up on that one. THE BAD: The "pool" is better described as a 5 x 12 child's pool and the area it is in smelt much like rotting garbage, put it this way I open the door looked laughed then inhaled through my nose and closed the door as fast as possible. The room had no ceiling fan so it gets stuffy very quickly. The windows could not be opened, they were nailed shut no help their. As for lighting in the room, you get a standing lamp on the switch and small desk light and medium lamp on the bed table, all with weak bulbs, so forget reading. As for the bath room the shower head is lower than usual caused us to duck when showering, and to make it worse the pressure was very low so it took longer, and to make it all worse the showers were warm at best for a few minutes then went to cold. I can also say this 2 of us left with sinus issues every time we left the room, and I only get agitated by long haired cats and the other is allergic to mold, so who knows what was getting us both. More importantly there is NO PROVIDED PARKING!!! with a few options park it your self somewhere of 15 or more dollars a night or the valet which takes your car 2 blocks away (I asked) and charges 25 dollars plus 3 dollars tax per 24 hours. As for the extra "BS" charges at check out a safe fee of 2.95 per night is added but not listed here! THE GOOD: Next visit to New Orleans ... new place no question about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Oct 22, 2009

The room vibrated!

I was there for a convention and in that sense the location was convenient. The staff were quite friendly. The room they gave me though left a lot to be desired. It was at the front of the hotel. It smelt musty but the windows did not open so I could not air it out. The bed was quite uncomfortable and sunken in the middle. There was no refrigerator. However, the worst thing was that the parking garage across the streets gate would squeak open and close all night long and it felt like the windows were open it was so loud. Also anytime a large vehicle drove by the whole room vibrated! This was not a comfortable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 21, 2009

Back to the past at the St. James

We stayed at two hotels, one was an upscale well known chain. Though it was very nice, it is pretty much the same in any city. The St. James was very unique, full of charm. All of the staff were friendly, cheerful and very helpful. The Bellman even had a "ghost story" for us, which added to the ambiance. It is a little rough around the edges, but has two great restraunts acrossw the street and next door. We are going to bring our kids and visit again. Hopefully the Deluxe or family type room is a little larger, but we were very comfortable and enjoyed outselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous 'Mothers' resaurant is right around the corner. It is a short walk to Canal St. There are two well known local favorite restraunts just steps away........Cuvee and BonTon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, mn
Oct 19, 2009

Wonderful experience

The location was very nice, just outside the french quarter. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable with one exception. The cooling system is tied to a motion detector and so it doesn't run when you are out of the room. When it was warm (80+) this would result in returning to a room that was around 75 or 77 degrees. That is a little warm for me. When the system did turn on it cooled down in a half hour or so, but it was a little annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La
Oct 19, 2009

st. james hotel--magazine st. nola

I visit New Orleans very frequently & enjoy trying out different hotels, however, there were a lot of events going on this weekend in the city so my choices were rather limited. I went ahead and booked this hotel even though I thought the price was pretty high ($220 per night!!!) On top of that--valet parking is $30 and i was charged $5 for an internet fee whenever the internet was never used. I'm used to staying at 'the W' which isn't exacly cheap either but at least it's always clean and the people would bend over backwards for you. They do not act like they're swamped at the front desk and will kindly answer any questions//make suggestions. The location for the St. James is not bad--just a few blocks off of canal. I was disappointed because the room was really small & not cleaned at all. They had two packs of empty cigarettes (from the previous guests) near the window when i specifically booked a nonsmoking room. It didn't smell clean at all, either. But the decor is nice, I suppose--just needs dusting--i'm not sure if that's the theme they're going for though. Love the city--just wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

house of blues, bourbon street, magazine street, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Physics
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 8, 2009

St. James in Sept. 2009

Can't wait to go back. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I plan on returning to New Orleans and St. James soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster House - The grilled oysters are the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top