$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
intowntraveler
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2013

Nice Enough Hotel

The staff were friendly enough but this hotel offers very little in the way of amenities. There is not a crumb of food available on premises - not even a vending machine. I was unprepared for the rain we had one day and asked if there was an umbrella I could borrow, no (not holding it against them just saying don't expect much in the way of services). The room was kept nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The curtains shut fully at night and I was able to get a really good night's sleep each night. The decor is a little dated. The nightstands and furniture a little bit dingy and older but not the worst I have seen. The location was very good and convenient to everything I need to do while there for a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just half a block up the street is the Ruby Slippers cafe. Had fantastic brunch here and highly recommend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A couple travelers
Business
California
Apr 22, 2013

Business Trip

My stay was quite comfortable, but the carpet had a large dark red stain in the middle of the floor that was somewhat disturbing. I put a towel over it each day I was there so I wouldn't feel like I was staying in a crime scene. However, the front desk staff were nice and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper cafe is one block away and is great for breakfast. Noisy and busy, but good food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzylou la femme fatale
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 21, 2013

Rebecca was the best!

The hotel was in a great spot downtown, very near the french quarter making walking back and forth several times a day easy. Our room was nice, a little dark, but no big deal because we really went to New Orleans to see New Orleans and not hangout in our hotel room. With that said, however, each day after walking or biking around till 5 or so, we headed back to the hotel for a few drinks (we made ourselves with supplies picked up from the corner store) in the hotel's outside area and chatted with another couple staying at the hotel, and it was very pleasant. The real shiner was Rebecca, the front desk attendant that greeted us the day we arrived, and whom we saw everyday when we came back. Rebecca was super helpful, funny, and great spirited making our initial encounter with someone from New Orleans very memorable. Hats off to her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tricia 240
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Apr 13, 2013

Nice Location

Nice location and convient to almost all city activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenna noelle
Business
denver, co
Mar 24, 2013

great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the st. Charles streetcar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KingJamsI
Business
New Paltz, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

I was a bit let down when we first got to St. James Hotel... The descriptions and pictures gave the impression that this was a unique, funky and different hotel. I guess due to renovations, the hotel now looks pretty much like any hotel... No interesting voodoo portals or West Indian influences so far as I could see. That said, everything was clean, staff was helpful and pleasant, and the location is fantastic if you are trying to be on that part of town. Never did find the standing pool they spoke of though..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghpt
Business
new york, ny
Mar 17, 2013

Great, no frills place

Great for a nice clean hotel that is about a 10 minute walk from the heart of the quarter. Amenities wise, there's free wireless internet, but no breakfast or a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael0526
Business
Oak Park, IL
Aug 24, 2012

Romantic New Orleans!

Beautiful hotel with old world charm and character in the rooms. Helpful and friendly staff, and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lalo76
Business
Miami
Jul 27, 2012

Old building

The hotel seems to be very old, worn carpets, smell to humidity. There is no fitness center. The amenities in general are poor or even missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top