$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA
Mar 29, 2010

St. James Hotel

Location, location, location. Clean hotel, friendly personnel, historic atmosphere. Overall great experience, within walking distance of all the major attractions and local flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get caught up in the Bourbon St. tourist traps! Ask the locals where to go to enjoy live music and great local foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 26, 2010

Friendly and good value

The good: Staff was courteous and helpful. Decor of room was quite nice. Easy walk to French Quarter. Comfortable. The less good: Bathroom a bit spartan relative to the room with underwhelming but serviceable shower. TV an older model. Would like to be able to open windows, though climate control worked fine. Overall: Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street really has all kinds of establishments -- it's worth walking until you find one you really like!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olympia, WA
Mar 24, 2010

Cozy Home Away from Home

I loved it and thought the staff was wonderful. Traveling alone I felt safe and taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Rita's is a block away for a casual Tex Mex and you can have food delivered. Open everyday but Monday....and then there's the River Walk with Dragos at the Hilton for Charbroiled Oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young-ish foodie
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Would not stay here again

This hotel is conveinently located between the warehouse district and the French Quarter. BUT, that's about all it has going for it. It was pretty inexpensive, but I'm certain you could find similarly-located, cleaner, nicer hotels for the same or less. Also, when looking at the price of the hotel, be sure to factor in a daily charge for wireless Internet and use of a safe, regardless of whether you use either. My biggest complaint is that it just wasn't clean. Also, when we went to check out, the desk clerk was super rude. When we came back to pick up our bags and call a cab for the airport, her boss was at the desk, too, and she was all sweetness and light. Very annoying. In a city of such amazing hospitality, there is no sense in paying to experience that kind of behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cochon (full restaurant) for dinner, then go back to Cochon Butcher (small butcher and sandwich shop just around the corner) for lunch the next day. Amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL.
Mar 19, 2010

Great stay for the price but....

We couldn't have been any happier with our stay at the St. James Hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, lots of hot water. The bed was a bit lumpy but when you're exhausted from seeing "Nawlins" it didn't matter too much. Even though the hotel is not dead center in the French Quarter it is only a five minute walk there or you can turn left out of the hotel for some of the finest dining and boutique shopping the area has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We love old Irish "dive" bars and The Kerry is a straight shot (no pun intended) down Magazine St. across Canal and onto Decature. Stop in and say Hi to [...] and [...]!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
churchdesigner
Business
High Point, NC
Mar 18, 2010

HOTEL CHARMS VISITER ON BUSINESS

I took a chance at an unknown hotel and was pleasantly surprised..close to to all the action of the quarter but nice and quiet, less traffic, very turn of the century charm and tranquil. I told the staff that I had a poor seat on my plane trip.[...] once agin put me in a rear seat right across from the restroom..so the nice receptionist handpicked a nice corner room with a pleasant view. The danish pastries and coffee in the lobby in the morning was also a nice surprise. I will stay here agin. I may even bring my dog since they allow small pets..thats a rarity these days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cozy bar at the Austin Restaurant right around the corner from the hotel is a lovely place to stop for a great martini, but next time I will do dinner so I can have their Gnocci with truffle oil and crab!-heard from several people how wonderful it is!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 16, 2010

great location, disappointing stay

enjoyed river walk, amazed by French Quarter, Mothers restaurant around corner felt like authentic real-life New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hammond, Louisiana
Mar 7, 2010

Great for getaway

Only complaint we had was slow service getting more towels to our room. Other than that, everything was wonderful. The room was very clean and spacious. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is worth paying for the valet parking, because the hotel is located close to the Superdome and the French Quarter. They allow you to keep your vehecle in the valet even after you check out, which saves on other parking fees as you sight see. My family and I will be booking there again when we stay over-night in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to an event at the Superdome or the Hornets Arena, this hotel is the perfect place to stay to avoid the price of parking there. If you leave early enough, you are able to stop and grab a bite to eat along the way, then continue to the event. Taxis back to the hotel are rather cheap, so if you are too tired to walk back to the hotel, they line up along this stretch of road after the event.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

The real st. james hotel

Parking very scarce. Valet service virtually required @ $30/day Also billed for phone and safe in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wanderingjourno
Business
Brooklyn NY
Feb 27, 2010

Not as billed

The location is ok, but this place is really on it's last legs and the website is frankly, a con. It needs a complete overhaul in terms of decoration and service. The staff are friendly but clearly have been abandoned by their management. It is being run on a shoestring. They ran out of toothpaste and paper cups for coffee in the room. Whoever is in charge of supplies is a disgrace. The hotel could do so much better if more attention were paid to it and there was a reasonable investment made in its future. I will certainly not ever stay here again, and I love the small-hotel vibe of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top