$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
penguin lover adele
Business
Mamou, LA
Jul 8, 2010

nice non chain hote

Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Willie Wise
Business
New Haven, CT
Jul 6, 2010

St. James Hotel

The hotel was old and quaint. The room was nice, I would say average. We were in New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. The Hotel was in walking distance from the Superdome where the event was held. There was a stench where the pool was located. There was moss growing and the water in the pool was dirty. The land scaping around the pool and court yard was hurrendous. The staff was extremely nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can taker the trolly and see many sites in the city. Go shopping or what ever you chose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tulane Law Student
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Less than I expected

I will not stay at the St. James Hotel again. The place smelled of mold and dirt. There was an issue with towels. I continually had to ask for towels and was even told they won't have any until the morning. Also the air conditioner broke and our rooms never got cooler than 78 degrees. Can you believe that in New Orleans in summer. The pool actually looks like a pond. They should add fish to it. I wanted to try a quaint hotel but in the future I will stick with the national chains where I know the hotel will be clean and at least the air conditioner works. I felt as if they were having trouble staying in business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington dc
Jun 25, 2010

Not 4 stars

About 5 of us checked into rooms at this hotel. The ac didn't work in some of them and the shower curtains were too short in all of them. There was water everywhere on the floor. The staff was not profession and dismissive. When I say dismissive, they would say "ohh we will send someone up to your room" many of us were told that and not one of us ever saw a repair man. This hotel is like playing a slot machine. You never know what your getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gulf Coast traveler
Business
Florida Panhandle
Jun 25, 2010

Mixed Bag

The location of the St. James was great for both the business and leisure locations of NOLA. The evening staff was friendly and helpful. The morning staff was markedly unfriendly. Air conditioning was not adequate for NOLA in the summer; also, the a/c vent in the bathroom leaked continuously. Dollar for dollar value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ms
Jun 20, 2010

Tiny!

The staff was wonderful! However, the pool appeared to be a goldfish pond, but was out of service anyway. Rooms were very small. We were charged for the optional safe though it wasn't used as well as for the telephone. Very close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
australia
Jun 19, 2010

st james hotel, NO

all staff were great, helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jun 6, 2010

Good price and people, bad rooms.

Friendly staff and low rate however the room was incredibly small (I have stayed in larger at the budget inn) and the pool looked more like a swamp. The room had a musk smell to it and our view was a brick wall and alleyway. The carpet also had multiple stains and we didn't even have a refrigerator to keep sodas cold. The bathroom was small and the tub was microscopic. Also the ice machine is on the second floor just to let anyone know before you go on a scavenger hunt looking for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go check out the aquarium, it was phenomenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jun 6, 2010

Meh...

the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. don't get excited about complimentary breakfast...coffee canisters and rock hard muffins...good morning!(seriously, thats all). oh, and the pool is a fountain-sized joke. we laughed a lot because there were "no diving" signs and there is no way a sane person would dive in the several inches available for swimming. also, you may get a deal on the room, but they get you on the parking and internet charges (100 bucks extra at the end of our stay) however, quiet area, close to just about anything you want, and friendly staff. not bad, but if you are a hotel freak, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

french quarter is only a hop skip and a jump away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy from Harvard
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jun 5, 2010

Nice hotel, but no pool

Nice location, near vieux carre but a few streets away from the craziness. Staff was very pleasant, extra effort to help at every opportunity. There is no pool, Orbitz is incorrect. Room was plush, clean, bed very comfy. Our room was not on the street, so I don't know if balconies were accessible or an asset; our window was painted shut, so not possible to get fresh air. But AC worked fine. Staff at associated restaurant La Cuvee was snitty, so we went elsewhere. I'd go back: nice people, good location, reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers at Poydras and Tchoupitoulas streets is right around the corner. Long local history, authentic ambiance and good food. Try the famous Ferdi special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top