$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria Aria
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 13, 2009

Not a 4 Star hotel.

I guess I need to move up to lower end 5 star hotels to get what I think of as true 4 star quality. I chose the hotel for it's historic nature [...]; I expected some pride in ownership. There was a ceramic dish in the bathroom with a broken lid and hair in it. There was hair on the tub. There weren't enough hangers. We asked to get a cab and were told it would be an hour. Good hotels have cabs available for their guests. The room we were given did have a private balconey but the planters were full of cigarette butts. I won't be staying at the St. James again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 22, 2010

Central location for a decent price

The hotel is really charming, with a cute lobby, and great front desk help. The rooms are small, but comfortable enough with nice bathrooms. The location was absolutely great, just a 5 minute walk into the French Quarter, and a few blocks away from the trolley. Only complaints are that it feels a little gloomy in the hotel, and it could be a bit cleaner in the rooms. Overall, for the price: you're getting your money's worth in a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out ACME seafood! Zagat rated, great price, and amazing experience. Also, the Central Grocery and Cafe Du Monde are must-sees in the French Quarter. Very cheap and just insanely good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
i'm awesome
Business
miami, fl
Jul 19, 2010

Cute and just right

This place was really cute. Me and my partner are from Miami so it was a nice experience to stay here. It set the tone for the entire trip. The only downside is that the pool was more like a wishing pond and it wasn't maintained. It would have been nice to have a clean big pool since it was very humid outside. Also, they don't have a continental breakfast.Location was fine. Either take a cab or rent bicycles because it is a very good walk to places. Rent a bicycle from [...]. He was really nice. Overall, I give this hotel a 3 only because of tiny pool and no continental breakfast. I've stayed at tons of hotels so a 3 is very good in my book. I would definitely recommend this place to a couple that plans to be hitting the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bicycle from [...]. He's really nice. It was about $25 a day for a bike. Put down a $50 but you get it back. Saved us a bunch of money and time to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 7, 2011

Almost Decent Hotel

The hotel looked good and was in a perfect spot but we had 5 incidents happen. 1) The toilet was clogged the first night we arrived. They unclogged it but it clogged back up again. They brought US a plunger to plunge it ourselves and after we discovered the plunger was broken, we asked the front desk to do it. Needless to say, he couldnt get it either so we had to pack up and switch rooms on NYE evening. Ah 2) The door in the new room was broken so we had to wait for someone 3) We found a cockroach in the bathroom 4) There was no mattress pad on the bed 5) The maids did not come the first day- and there was no soap in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is is a great location, close to Harrahs, Canal St, Bourbon St, everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James C.
Business
Winston Salem
Feb 9, 2015

Good, but park somewhere else

Honestly, my experience here was good - it's close enough to the festivities of Mardi Gras, but away from some of the more crowded areas. Room was nice, even if I could hear every word from the hallway (it's NOLA - I don't expect complete peace and quiet). If you're driving your own car, though, I'd recommend parking yourself the valet takes 20-30 minutes to retrieve your car, and the actual valet rate may come in higher than they quote you if there's an event. It's not much money, but even a few bucks feels dirty when the staff has already told you a different number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish Doctor
Business
Greensboro, AL
Feb 17, 2014

Great New Orleans Stay

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. Hotel experience helped give us a very good overall experience while visiting New Orleans. We are already making plans to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Antique/ art section of the French quarter is really fun to walk through especially at night. Tons of police on the street. Never felt unsafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noles Traveler
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Mar 4, 2014

Mardi Gras 2014

The hotel staff was excellent and very friendly! The location was great; walking distance to Canal St. and Bourbon St. Had a great time at Mardi Gras 2014 and would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BNMNW
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 4, 2014

Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary continental breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 25, 2008

great location

The St. James has very comfortable rooms. The front desk staff especially Patrick were all very helpful and friendly. The location was convienient to all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

with a couple of blocks walk you are in the heart of the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gil
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
May 4, 2009

Friendly folks...nice location.

We were in town for our wedding anniversary during the French Quarter Festival. We found the St James to be perfectly located...we were within walking distance to all the activity. Considering the number of tourists in NOLA during that weekend, we felt the room was reasonably priced. Although our room was relatively small it was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top