$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wegiff
Northeast
Feb 1, 2013

Staying at the St James

I have nothing but great things about the St James Hotel. The front desk people were great taking care of our every need. The room was clean and up to date, especially the wood floors. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the Quarter to be peaceful but close enough to the action. When I go back to New Orleans, i will be staying at the St James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B from Midpac
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 24, 2011

Centrally Located and Comfortable

I attended a conference that was within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel was centrally located and convenient. The room lighting could be improved as well as the amenities. Same class hotels at other destinations were a bit better in terms of amenities and lighting and equally good in terms of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations in advance. Select a restaurant where you can have leisurely dining

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kandi Lynn
Norman, OK
May 20, 2011

We absolutely loved it! Great room!

We would do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kandi Lynn
Norman, OK
May 20, 2011

We absolutely loved it! Great room!

We would do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
castle rock, colorado
May 5, 2011

Awesome

met some friends out there, we had a great hotel with a great balcony, 3 blocks from bourbon st. we visited the plantations,riverwalk,ferry,paddle boat and managed a little gambling. and of course hung out at the Jazz Fest, it really is a great place to visit, and theres music everywhere you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper from the hotel was a great place for breakfast as well as the Big Easy, both were a block or two from the hotel.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
castle rock, colorado
May 5, 2011

Awesome

met some friends out there, we had a great hotel with a great balcony, 3 blocks from bourbon st. we visited the plantations,riverwalk,ferry,paddle boat and managed a little gambling. and of course hung out at the Jazz Fest, it really is a great place to visit, and theres music everywhere you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper from the hotel was a great place for breakfast as well as the Big Easy, both were a block or two from the hotel.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
foley, alabama
May 2, 2011

jazz fest

We were there to see the jazz fest.room was old,it smelt . door to T.V. cabinet was broken ,bathroom door handle was broken and door didn't completely shut.noise level was incredible.Some burnt out bulbs coulkd have been replaced.two small towels and one hand wash towel in the bathroom !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

if you are very young, single and drink like fish this hotel is the place to crash and pass out after a night of heavy drinking.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
foley, alabama
May 2, 2011

jazz fest

We were there to see the jazz fest.room was old,it smelt . door to T.V. cabinet was broken ,bathroom door handle was broken and door didn't completely shut.noise level was incredible.Some burnt out bulbs coulkd have been replaced.two small towels and one hand wash towel in the bathroom !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

if you are very young, single and drink like fish this hotel is the place to crash and pass out after a night of heavy drinking.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 30, 2011

Convenient location

- We visited our son. As this was my first visit to New Orleans, we were doing tourist trips. NO is a reat city, many interesting thing to see. -The hotel has a great location. One can walk everywhere or take a tram a few blocks away. The reception staff was very kind, pleasant and helpful. -However, more attention to the room would be desired, e.g., only provided towels for one person was provided. We stayed there five nights and every day we had to ask for additional towels. Maids took the opened soap but didn't replace it. The fitting bedding was a problem; every time you turned around, the sheet was in the middle of the bed. There was a l smell in the corridor in front of our room, and the place with small pool looked pleasant to seat, but it wasn't usable as it had a terrible smell of cigarets. Still a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 30, 2011

Convenient location

- We visited our son. As this was my first visit to New Orleans, we were doing tourist trips. NO is a reat city, many interesting thing to see. -The hotel has a great location. One can walk everywhere or take a tram a few blocks away. The reception staff was very kind, pleasant and helpful. -However, more attention to the room would be desired, e.g., only provided towels for one person was provided. We stayed there five nights and every day we had to ask for additional towels. Maids took the opened soap but didn't replace it. The fitting bedding was a problem; every time you turned around, the sheet was in the middle of the bed. There was a l smell in the corridor in front of our room, and the place with small pool looked pleasant to seat, but it wasn't usable as it had a terrible smell of cigarets. Still a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La.
Apr 25, 2011

The Good, Bad and really ugly.....

The St. James Hotel is in a very good location, but the pool is the size of a hot tube and should not even be allowed to say pool... the A/c was not working very well when we cheched in but it was fixed that day. The lock on the door was broken but was fixed and finally the room was cleaned but no towels were left and the dirty ones were picked up... oh and the elevator was broken one night... over all it was just Ok....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drago's Restrant in the hilton on the river was excellent...

Back to menu Return to top