$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BeCee
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Nov 11, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The lobby is exceptionally small and tight making desk activities difficult. Not especially clean (carpets and in general). The first day I left a list of things needing attention - burned out bulbs replaced, additional hangers and more towels. All were taken care of. After that I could not get the variety of towels I requested. A small detail but a frustrating one. The location of St. James Hotel was good for my convention activities as well as walking distance from lots of great food, the French Quarter and everything I wanted to do. At check in I was told I would have additional charges per day of $2.95 for the room safe and $4.95 for internet access, neither of which I intended to use. I was told that in booking through [...]those charges were not covered but ultimately the hotel graciously agreed to waive the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bon Ton Cafe (not a cafe but fine dining) was right across the street and was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack10
Business
Somewhere in ,Alabama
Nov 1, 2010

No late check out? $200 a night?

When we first arrived the party in front of us was told that their reservation was not coming up. It took over 30 minutes to clear it up and I had to wait because there was only one person working the front desk and it was Halloween weekend!!! What!? Not only that, it was awkward and freaked the other party out because its Halloween in New Orleans and everything is booked up. We paid for a $75 a night hotel the night before and got a late check out, no problem but not somewhere where I pay $200 a night and we survived Halloween in New Orleans the night before? What!?On the plus side it really is a beautiful, cool hotel close to everything. We caught the street car down to the quarter in no time. And [...] is the man!!! If you need something done, he will get it done!!! He should totally be promoted!!! He took care of everything we needed while waiting 30 min from our car, directions, and all the paper worked signed just needed the key tot the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mbquincy
Business
Boston MA
Oct 22, 2010

Don't believe the 4 star rating

This was not a four-star hotel - the lobby and hallways were a bit on the shabby side. The room was not clean - sticky bathroom floors, rugs that had clearly not been vacuumed, etc.. We ended up moving to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davidmad1
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 21, 2010

Nice, clean, minimal amenities.

Arrived to check in and there is no parking. Across the street for $15 a night, or use hotel valet, for $25. Check was quick and easy, no wait. The room was clean, but the only view I had was of the partnering building about 15 ft away. Clean, quiet. Would have liked to see the price a little lower. But over all a decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourban street if you must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeekBrit
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 20, 2010

Affordable & friendly, comfortable hotel

The staff were very approachable and informative. This is a friendly city and the experience starts from the minute you check in. The building is pure New Orleans with quaint stone paved courtyards, but the room was far larger (and cleaner) than a more expensive hotel I've stayed in within the French Quarter. The location is perfect - about ten minutes walk from the restaurants of the French Quarter, a little more to the waterfront, Basilica and the Bourbon Street craziness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Audubon Aquarium & Imax is closed on Mondays!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solitary business class
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 19, 2010

Walking distance to everything

Very simply, it was clean and comfortable. No frills, but I didn't need them. The French Quarter is a short walk, as are the Riverwalk and Convention Center, and there are plenty of food choices close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete Moss
Business
NJ
Oct 17, 2010

good deal

the good - friendly staff, the room was clean, the location is great; the bad - the pool was NOT a pool and the lobby had a weird smell to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 16, 2010

Good Value Hotel

Well situated boutique hotel with pleasant staff. Relatively few amenities (coffee and Danish in lobby for breakfast) but room was clean, cleaned each day, TV and coffee maker in room. In between the Business district and the French Quarter. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thrifty CE
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 12, 2010

Saint James Hotel

Staff was very helpful with restaurant and sightseeing suggestions, directions to hot spots, assisting with securing transportation and printing of travel documents. Great location, within walking distance from the Convention Center, at the edge of the French Quarters and 10 minutes walking distance from Bourbon Street! And for about $100/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 27, 2010

Comfortable but average

Comfortable but low on emenities. No balcony as described and could not open windows. Friendly front desk. Airconditioning made vents and wall rattle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top