$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, is one of New Orlean's finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guest rooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. Parking fee: 34.00 USD per night; 45.00 USD per night during special events.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 26, 2009

Good location, Average Hotel

We reserved a king room, but only a queen was available. The bathroom is in need of repair. Ceiling tiles are falling down and the faucet in the shower falls off. The mattress is old and lumpy. The wireless internet connection in the room did not work. I was traveling for business so the internet connection was necessary. I had to sit in the lobby for three hours to work on projects. The front desk associate was friendly and removed the daily internet charges from my room bill. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to most attractions and French Quarter district. Hotel was "ok" because of the great Orbitz rate. If I had paid full price for my room, I would not have been happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joigurl[@]
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 7, 2009

Great room, few amentities

The hotel was quaint, very quiet and conveniently located within walking distance of the Superdome, Convention Center and French Quarters. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did notice that a bit more thorough cleaning was needed as there was hair and dust that aggravated one of our party's allergies. Also, no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look into dining facilities before arriving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB- Illinois
Business
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2009

Quiet, off the beaten path

The St. James is a quiet hotel, but almost too much so. Close to everything, but not close enough to get a bite to eat for breakfast. Rooms well appointed, but not as clean as others I have stayed in recently. Would like to have had a computer in the lobby to check emails, etc. as we didn't want to bring our own laptop. A good value when combined with the car and flight, but probably won't be back,will try for a larger hotel instead. The pool is sized for koi, not people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

New Orleans is home to fantastic evening dining, but to get a quick bite for breakfast it is a very long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gulf Coast traveler
Business
Florida Panhandle
Jun 25, 2010

Mixed Bag

The location of the St. James was great for both the business and leisure locations of NOLA. The evening staff was friendly and helpful. The morning staff was markedly unfriendly. Air conditioning was not adequate for NOLA in the summer; also, the a/c vent in the bathroom leaked continuously. Dollar for dollar value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherry Ames
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 16, 2011

Budget trip to New Orleans

This was one of several trips to New Orleans that I have taken in the past 30 years. However, I had not been back since Hurricane Katrina. This time we explored more of the city taking the Canal Street Trolley to it's end. Along the way, we were able to see where some of the flooding had occured that caused massive destruction. New Orleans is coming back slowly. The French Quarter is basically the same as it was not flooded. The St. James Hotel is quaint. The pictures of the swimming pool are misleading. It is more of a wading pool than a swimming pool. Expect to get wet, but there is no way you will be able to swim laps here. The reception area is small. Coffee is served in the AM. The reception desk people are polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mihalis
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Mar 3, 2009

A Nice Place But Not Too Near Bourbon St

The hotel is nice, but really over-priced... as are most in New Orleans. The picture looks like it should be in the midst of the French Quarter, but it is not. It is quite a walk to Bourbon Street and across Canal Street. The room was really small with the large bed and TV console with drawers making getting around a squeeze to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverfront is really close as is the casino... but Bourbon Street is a rather long walk from the hotel. Be prepared for an internet charge of $4.95 a day... even if you don't bring your laptop. They also charge you for the room safe... even if you do not use it. I did not rent a car so I don't know the parking fee situation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D. Mintz
Business
North Carolina
Jul 7, 2011

Great Location

The St. James is an older property, but quaint. It is in a great location, within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. One negative thing was the air condidtioner, although it worked, it didn't work that well at cooling the room. Otherwise our stay there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 8, 2011

Close to everything

It was close to everything, which was the best part! The hotel was ok, the worst part about it was the housekeeping. We literally had to beg for towels and for someone to come daily and change our sheets. The hotel had charm which was a great feature since we didn't want to stay somewhere "commercial." For the most part it served its purpose: somewhere to sleep, close to everything and New Orleans charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

*Bourbon is streets away and everything is at your finger tips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Apr 2, 2010

Good location - Few downfalls

We got in late the first night so they did not have a non-smoking room available for us that night. The guy at the front desk was extremely friendly and said that we could switch rooms the next morning. When we called down to inquire about switching the room the woman was very nasty ([...]). We had spoken to her a few times throughout the trip and she was cold and unfriendly. The last day there as we were getting ready we saw a HUGE roach running around the room. SOOOOOOOOO GROSS! Other than that everything else was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ms
Jun 20, 2010

Tiny!

The staff was wonderful! However, the pool appeared to be a goldfish pond, but was out of service anyway. Rooms were very small. We were charged for the optional safe though it wasn't used as well as for the telephone. Very close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top