$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 1, 2011

Good valuue

While an older building, it was nicely kept and fairly quiet. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. The lack of amenities was not an issue as it helped keep the price down. The only negative was the unknown additional fees upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fly on a dime
Business
Calgary
Feb 28, 2011

Great location

The St. James was a great deal for the price we paid. We had a lovely room and the hotel is a short walk from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cbass and Cat
Business
Pittdburgh, PA
Feb 27, 2011

Great Location

the hotel was located within walking distance to all the attractions we were interested in. the staff was friendly and accommodating. one minor issue was the AC did not function properly our first night. besides that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean-in -Montana
Business
Bozeman, Montana
Feb 23, 2011

Great location, very European in feel.

Just 3 blocks from Canal Street and the French Quarter, so quieter, yet close enough to get to everything. Close to the Ferry to Algiers, RiverWalk and the St. Charles Street car that will take you to the Garden District, and Audubon Park and Zoo. Some of the Staff was excellent, others just so-so, but very accomodating and they did cut out the local "extra" charge since they missed our room service two days....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gumbo Lover
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2011

Great Location

We didn't spend too much time in the hotel room, so it was okay for just crashing. Our room didn't have an alarm clock. There was a mandatory $8/day fee for internet and safe, which was annoying. But the location made up for these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to/from the airport, not the shuttle. It's cheaper and will save time.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nursing Decisions
Business
Out in the Woods
Feb 20, 2011

Old New Orleans

Room was lovely, right off the courtyard with french doors. 3 blocks out of the quarter but close to good food and musems. Beware of the valet service very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mommas and Bon Ton were less than a block.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 2, 2011

Not Great.

We guess for the price of the St. James Hotel that we should not have thought that it was going to be the best or have many amenities, but we did expect it to be clean and accomodating per a friend's recommendation. When we got there in the late afternoon and were assigned our room, it was not clean with smashed raisins on the carpet, wine tops on the bathroom floor and the sheets did not seem to be clean when we got into bed that night. The light in the entry was out and the room was dark to begin with. The soap, shampoo,etc had not been replinished and the hair dryer was broken. The coffee supplies in our room had never been replenished or cleaned (coffee brewed left in the coffee pot). After three times of telling the front desk about these things, they finally fixed the light in the entry and replenished the coffee and bathroom supplies on the morning that we were departing while we were at breakfast (we were there for three nights and two full days). There was no newspaper in the lobby, yet they did have freshly brewed coffee each morning which was appreciated. The front desk tried calling a taxi for us the final night of our stay because it was raining, but none ever showed up so we just went ahead and walked (that was okay because we love to walk, even in the rain). Cuvee, the great restaurant next door, is a big drawing point in the advertising for the St. James but it had closed down. Nonetheless, we found great places to eat in the Square. No refrigerator in the room or on the floor to store water, left overs, etc. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The location of the St. James Hotel was wonderful and the people who worked there were very nice. Isaac, in particular, did recommend some wonderful places to eat and mapped out for us where we wanted to go. We might possibly recommend the St. James to a friend if we were certain some improvements had been made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we first arrived, our friend took us to Domilises where we got a wonderful po boy. Grand Isle (wonderful dinner) and The Ruby Slipper (great breakfast) were very close to our hotel and were delicious with great service! We enjoyed eating a Coop's, grabbing beignets at Cafe Du Monde, and dinner at some little place at the bottom of a hotel on Bourbon Street. We wanted to go to Gallatoire's our last night but could not get the taxi, so we will have to go there on our next visit. Other than the food, the St. Louis Cathedral is beautiful and the happenings and great music in the Square were very fun and entertaining!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 7, 2011

Almost Decent Hotel

The hotel looked good and was in a perfect spot but we had 5 incidents happen. 1) The toilet was clogged the first night we arrived. They unclogged it but it clogged back up again. They brought US a plunger to plunge it ourselves and after we discovered the plunger was broken, we asked the front desk to do it. Needless to say, he couldnt get it either so we had to pack up and switch rooms on NYE evening. Ah 2) The door in the new room was broken so we had to wait for someone 3) We found a cockroach in the bathroom 4) There was no mattress pad on the bed 5) The maids did not come the first day- and there was no soap in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is is a great location, close to Harrahs, Canal St, Bourbon St, everything!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sugar Bowl
Business
AR
Jan 5, 2011

Not as good as it looks, not bad either.

The Staff was great. If some of the rooms had balconies, they weren't really overlooking anything. Our room had two beds that you would have expected in Motel 3. The location was convenient to the Superdome and Bourban Street, but a walk to both. For the price, probably would choose another next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bon Ton Cafe across the street was really good. The hotel has no dining options, but New Orleans is loaded with them.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ann arbor
Jan 3, 2011

disappointed

This is not a four-star hotel. No room service, no restaurant. Dead bugs in dresser drawers and stains on towels. The average Holiday Inn has better amenities. However, the staff were all very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top