$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACC cardio
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 5, 2011

average experience

I went there for a conference, in general its ok, service kinda of slow and "may forget to clean the room' kinda of service! I would go there again since I prefer 5 star hotels for my short stays. its kinda of cute, french style but probably wouldnot stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril's...excelnt restaurent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scotty L.
Business
Bastrop, LA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Location, not so great hotel.

My partner and I went down to the Big Easy so that I could attend a business meeting, and then we stayed the weekend. While the king sized bed that I had requested was present, it took up basically the entire room. The air conditioning did not work well, the sheets were filthy, and there were lots of articles left in the room from previous guests, i.e. clothing, etc. The ice machine in the building where our room is (there are three separate buildings in this hotel) did not have a functioning ice machine. The hallway carpet was filthy and the walls are thin. Also, despite its advertisement, the attached restaurant is closed for business, which means no room or food service of any kind. On a positive note, the hotel is located a very short walking distance from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eggs Cochon at the Red Slipper Cafe, only a couple of blocks from the St. James Hotel, are a surprisingly delicious breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClydeDAiredale
Business
Jackson, MS
Apr 1, 2011

Has its charms, but hygiene is lacking

This hotel is reasonably priced and conveniently located. The employees are friendly and efficient. The rooms have nice, high ceilings and a certain amount of New Orleans flair. The only downside we found was that the room just wasn't that clean. There were hairs all over the place, and when I used a tissue to pick one up from the bathroom floor, all this grime came up with it. Yuck. The (easily visible) baseboard under the desk was covered with dust. I don't want to make it sound worse than it was; we didn't consider packing up our bags and leaving or even calling the front desk to complain (we were only there for a night), but I doubt we'll return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arfiesmom
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 31, 2011

Unbeatable location for price

Came to New Orleans for the first time. Interesting trip, lots to do, great food and very accomodating people. On the down side, the city is dirtier than I expected. Can feel a little unsafe at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask desk people for assistance. A wide range of choices and costs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgan City, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Our stay at the St. James

This hotel was just lovely and the rate was great. Although the rooms may very, we had a sitting room and a bedroom with a door that opened onto a small courtyard. The bed was really comfortable. The only negative, if you can call it a negative, is that the tv was in the sitting room and couldn't be watched from bed. I just loved the whole atmosphere and felt pampered. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was nice and quiet, a couple of blocks from the french quarter and the Riverwalk. I am looking forward to returning to this hotel for a few nights stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Mar 25, 2011

adequate for one night

Checked in at 5:00 p.m. and checked out at 6:00 a.m. the next morning. For having a bed for the night in the CBD, it wasn't too bad. The placed looks a little run down and not where I'd want to spend an extended time. The staff was nice, the bed was confortable, but the bathroom had only one hand towel and one washcloth. We got a good deal, so it was worth the price (less than $100 plus taxes). We spend several nights in New Orleans hotels every year, and i doubt we'll return here unless we can't find something better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the French Quarter, casino and riverfront in a safe part of the business district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liana22370
Business
Montrose, NY
Mar 24, 2011

Great Location

St. James Hotel was 2 blocks out of the French Quarter, which made it perfect... close enough to all the action, yet far enough away for a quiet night sleep! Everything was in a short walking distance, the casino was 2 blocks away, as was the Streetcar Lines. I would have liked a mini fridge in the room to keep drinks in and to my disappointment, there was only a pedestal sink in the bathroom and no shelving to put your toiletries. Other than that, I had no other complaints about the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The St. James Hotel is a short walk from everything you want to do and see in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeByke
Business
Augusta, GA
Mar 20, 2011

Classic modesty

First off, I loved this hotel. It was modesty, and humble, yet you could tell that the place is historical and loved. With that said, It was perfect for a quick enjoyable stay. My issues were that some of the outlets were not working, the lighting in the room was on the dark side (I needed to work) and that the TV/channels were rather pitiful. Either way though, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Centrally located, if you're willing to walk for a bit, this hotel is great. Check out Central Grocery, Cafe du Monde, Green Goddess, and Felix's. You won't regret the beautiful walk and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 16, 2011

Value hotel

We had a good experience at the St. James. We are 24-27 year olds in town for a wedding, and our priorities were: cheap and in the French Quarter. The St. James met both of these. It wasn't an outstanding property, but it was the perfect place to crash after a long night of blues. The shower handle did break while we were there -- but the it still worked, and we weren't there to spend a long time in the room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

skip Bourbon and go to Frenchman Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayland,Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Worst Hotel experience EVER

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was located on a block that did not feel very safe. There were several homeless people that were always hanging out. To begin with the room was tiny and not very clean. Pillows were stained and beds not comfortable. The pool was horrible. It was in a dark courtyard and it was very dirty. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything in the next room including their alarm which went off at 5:00 AM and did not stop. The fire alarms went off three times. The first two occurred in the middle of the night. The third one was an actual wire on fire. When we called the front desk to see what was going on no one answered the phone. We then had to evacuate for a period of time again with no expanation. The room was not cleaned any of the days that we were there even after multiple requests to have it cleaned. WE requested a wake up call and did not receive it. When we repeatedly complained to the front desk he encouraged us to write to management since he agreed with all our complaints but management would do nothing. This experience was so disappointing. We had looked forward to this hotel based on the website and it was far different than promised. I would never consider staying in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top