$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city, ks
Jun 6, 2011

St. James New Orleans

room was a little dated and could have done with some tlc. No coffee maker, ice machine broken, bed a little uncomfortable, pool looked more like a fountain. However, it had a great location, wasn't too costly, and was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 22, 2009

Good location & price

Except for warm showers, experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foodie Couple
Business
New Haven, CT
Nov 22, 2009

Great location, quiet rooms

This is a great location, but the hotel has a few kinks to work out. One day our room didn't receive maid service. There was no surface near or on the sink for personal items. The towel count was inconsistent from day to day. I needed to request a new iron because the one provided was broken. We received only shampoo, soap and lotion, but no conditioner or shower cap, which are usually standard. However, the staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the bell service was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roosevelt Hotel was recently restored,is a short walk and is a beautiful and romantic place for a nightcap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liana22370
Business
Montrose, NY
Mar 24, 2011

Great Location

St. James Hotel was 2 blocks out of the French Quarter, which made it perfect... close enough to all the action, yet far enough away for a quiet night sleep! Everything was in a short walking distance, the casino was 2 blocks away, as was the Streetcar Lines. I would have liked a mini fridge in the room to keep drinks in and to my disappointment, there was only a pedestal sink in the bathroom and no shelving to put your toiletries. Other than that, I had no other complaints about the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The St. James Hotel is a short walk from everything you want to do and see in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Mar 25, 2011

adequate for one night

Checked in at 5:00 p.m. and checked out at 6:00 a.m. the next morning. For having a bed for the night in the CBD, it wasn't too bad. The placed looks a little run down and not where I'd want to spend an extended time. The staff was nice, the bed was confortable, but the bathroom had only one hand towel and one washcloth. We got a good deal, so it was worth the price (less than $100 plus taxes). We spend several nights in New Orleans hotels every year, and i doubt we'll return here unless we can't find something better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the French Quarter, casino and riverfront in a safe part of the business district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClydeDAiredale
Business
Jackson, MS
Apr 1, 2011

Has its charms, but hygiene is lacking

This hotel is reasonably priced and conveniently located. The employees are friendly and efficient. The rooms have nice, high ceilings and a certain amount of New Orleans flair. The only downside we found was that the room just wasn't that clean. There were hairs all over the place, and when I used a tissue to pick one up from the bathroom floor, all this grime came up with it. Yuck. The (easily visible) baseboard under the desk was covered with dust. I don't want to make it sound worse than it was; we didn't consider packing up our bags and leaving or even calling the front desk to complain (we were only there for a night), but I doubt we'll return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 23, 2009

Nice hotel, good location

We paid for an up-grade in room. Reception said they did not have more rooms and that they did not guaranty the up-grade that it was Orbitz responsibility. It wasn't nice since it was our 1 year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a great experience take a traveler book with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 27, 2010

Comfortable but average

Comfortable but low on emenities. No balcony as described and could not open windows. Friendly front desk. Airconditioning made vents and wall rattle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jun 6, 2010

Meh...

the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. don't get excited about complimentary breakfast...coffee canisters and rock hard muffins...good morning!(seriously, thats all). oh, and the pool is a fountain-sized joke. we laughed a lot because there were "no diving" signs and there is no way a sane person would dive in the several inches available for swimming. also, you may get a deal on the room, but they get you on the parking and internet charges (100 bucks extra at the end of our stay) however, quiet area, close to just about anything you want, and friendly staff. not bad, but if you are a hotel freak, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

french quarter is only a hop skip and a jump away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison Alabama
Feb 26, 2010

Not Quite What It Seemed

The hotel staff were wonderful and very informative. The bed sheets were not fitted and often came off during the night and made sleeping a bit challenging. The absence of a clock was noticable. The trash collecting at 3 AM was loud and prolonged. The hallway noise was very noticable as well. Only certain rooms had balconies. The continental breakfast was present but not well stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top