$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La.
Apr 25, 2011

The Good, Bad and really ugly.....

The St. James Hotel is in a very good location, but the pool is the size of a hot tube and should not even be allowed to say pool... the A/c was not working very well when we cheched in but it was fixed that day. The lock on the door was broken but was fixed and finally the room was cleaned but no towels were left and the dirty ones were picked up... oh and the elevator was broken one night... over all it was just Ok....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drago's Restrant in the hilton on the river was excellent...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latin Teacher's Wife
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 19, 2011

Good Hotel with great charm

Our bed on the first floor was great! Tall and made us feel like royalty. The windows were tall and let in lots of light. The only problem we had was it was a bit loud when we were trying to sleep at night. The hotel staff was very accommodating and jumped at our every request. The location was great, and the breakfast place at the end of the block "The Ruby Slipper" was a go to every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must buy a pass for the trolley, it is super convenient and take you all the way down St. Charles. Also take the risk and eat at Feast, it's a wonderful restaurant on Julia. Also try Capdeville, it has a rock and roll vibe with really good food and spirits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prisoner of zenda
Business
boston ma
Apr 19, 2011

Not what you want

We got in late, and were given room 302, which had no closet, no windows, only one of two in-room lamps working, and a bathroom with two of five lights working, although it did have a 45 inch big screen TV. On the way: there was only a dim bulb working in the elevator, which made all the spookier the blood-red stain in the carpet leading...to our room. There was a foul smell in the hall, which we learned later was a result of some unspecified "work" going on...blood removal? Maybe, since the stain was gone by the third day of our stay. On day two, the staff very efficiently and helpfully found us another room which had two windows, a closet, a much smaller TV (the big screen in 302 evidently a payback for the sucky room) and in fact the rest of the stay was pleasant enough. The guy on the desk actually went home to find us a corkscrew since a previous guest had absconded with the hotel's official corkscrew. The cleaning staff was not that interested in fixing minor flaws in our behavior, so every single thing of ours was untouched, and if that caused the room to look like debaucherie centrale, that wasn't their problem. Oh, by the way, part of the decision making process included the free internet and the swimming pool. The internet never worked, although I kind of gave up after one foray to talk to the guy at the desk, and the pool was outside, really small (my probably inaccurate guess: 16 feet by 6 feet by 3 feet deep), and had stuff floating in it. The accurate elements of the presentation: it was quiet, centrally located, the staff was friendly and helpful, the Ruby Slipper a block away was a great breakfast place, and the airport shuttle found us there and back...The coffee in the lobby was dark and robust in the morning, If you make sure not to book room 302 and ask if the elevator light has been replaced, you could do worse than the St.James. Now my wife has another view: she claims she'd stay in the gutter before going back to the Mello J., but I think that's a bit harsh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Ave has the best galleries. Stay away from Bourbon street, especially if you have kids. It's gotten grosser and grosser over time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 14, 2011

Nice location building for reasonable $

Nice room. Friendly personnel. My only complaints are the air conditioned system that did not work well and noise from people speaking outside that woke me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to eat at walk distance: two blocks from the French quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 12, 2011

Not too impressed with the hotel

I was in town for a work conference. While the staff was quite friendly and the location was great, the room was not comfortable or clean. The sheets did not fit on the bed, the blanket was turned side-ways, and there were awful stains in the bathtub... I would NOT recommend this hotel unless there is more attention to the cleanliness of the place. For $140.00 a night, I expected at least a clean bathroom and sheets that actually fit the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chevy chase, md
Apr 11, 2011

Charm just outside of the quarter

Service was solid and the room charming and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
malibu ca
Apr 11, 2011

St. James

Hidden gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mothers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACC cardio
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 5, 2011

average experience

I went there for a conference, in general its ok, service kinda of slow and "may forget to clean the room' kinda of service! I would go there again since I prefer 5 star hotels for my short stays. its kinda of cute, french style but probably wouldnot stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril's...excelnt restaurent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scotty L.
Business
Bastrop, LA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Location, not so great hotel.

My partner and I went down to the Big Easy so that I could attend a business meeting, and then we stayed the weekend. While the king sized bed that I had requested was present, it took up basically the entire room. The air conditioning did not work well, the sheets were filthy, and there were lots of articles left in the room from previous guests, i.e. clothing, etc. The ice machine in the building where our room is (there are three separate buildings in this hotel) did not have a functioning ice machine. The hallway carpet was filthy and the walls are thin. Also, despite its advertisement, the attached restaurant is closed for business, which means no room or food service of any kind. On a positive note, the hotel is located a very short walking distance from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eggs Cochon at the Red Slipper Cafe, only a couple of blocks from the St. James Hotel, are a surprisingly delicious breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClydeDAiredale
Business
Jackson, MS
Apr 1, 2011

Has its charms, but hygiene is lacking

This hotel is reasonably priced and conveniently located. The employees are friendly and efficient. The rooms have nice, high ceilings and a certain amount of New Orleans flair. The only downside we found was that the room just wasn't that clean. There were hairs all over the place, and when I used a tissue to pick one up from the bathroom floor, all this grime came up with it. Yuck. The (easily visible) baseboard under the desk was covered with dust. I don't want to make it sound worse than it was; we didn't consider packing up our bags and leaving or even calling the front desk to complain (we were only there for a night), but I doubt we'll return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top