$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Key joe
Business
Fort Collins co
Jul 16, 2014

Awesome location, room could use a refresh.

The hotel is charming, with tall (10 feet ish) ceilings and a beautiful courtyard. We stayed in one of the garden view rooms. There were 8ft tall shuttered door that opened into the courtyard. The rooms were cool and bright, but the Ac was pretty noisy and the bed was pretty uncomfortable/squeaky. Overall a great place to stay. They just need to give the Ac a little attention and get some new beds to make it an awesome place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The international hotel has the best bar that we visited while in town. Incredible hand crafted drinks, great barmaid personality and cool ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 14, 2014

Room given away due to IT issues

Arrived at the St Helene drop dead exhausted and so ready to get to my room and just lay down. The front desk guy Timothy (who was a complete pleasure and never lost his composure) for some reason, prior to even checking me in, took my bag to my room.... he came back and informed me that someone else was IN my room.... granted he did not come back with my bag so, I have no clue where it was left or why. I spent the next 45 minutes standing there while he tried to figure out what happened and finally called their sister property which was 7 blocks away to see if they had a room. They did (and he upgraded to me to a double balcony room which I appreciated). He also called me a cab (which he paid for). I had already paid $36 dollars to park my car at the St Helene and the sister property said they had no parking so, I had to leave my car there causing me to have to walk the 7 blocks the next morning to retrieve my car. Since I had no room at the St Helene due to their IT issues, I cannot review the rooms but I can say that the front desk guy Timothy was a pleasure. He was very sweet and never once stopped smiling..... still have no clue what the deal with my bag was though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuel Adams
Business
Laguna Beach
Nov 9, 2014

Friends celebrate

I pick a new hotel/location each time I come to New Orleans. I picked this hotel as it was very centrally located. That turned out perfect. It was nice to have coffee and fruit available each morning in the lobby/kitchen. I knew it would be noisy on the front FQ balcony, and it was! Brought my earplugs and that helped. The balcony was so awesome though, so it was worth the wake up call from the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must get a cocktail at Napoleon House and then dinner (at the bar...more fun!) at Nola's. Both are on the same/cross street of the hotel. If I had to stay on that corner at these two places the whole trip, I could!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
earl e.
Business
Cold Spring
Feb 27, 2015

Plain but close

The hotel over all was very plain. Actually there were no amenities. We chose this hotel for the value and location. We paid in the mid 80's a night which was a bargain. It's 2 blocks from Bourbon street. Front desk was very friendly. Would I stay here again..... yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 5, 2012

Classy hotel

A modern feeling with the historic setting of the French quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good food, its everywhere - but not cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
food tour 2012
Business
las cruces, nm
Jul 6, 2012

summer time in the quarter.

perfect location if you want to walk out the door into the french quarter & stumble in very late at nite. great intimate pool to break the humidity of the day. nice room but a little small & bare. staff was great all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah234
Business
austin, texas
Jul 3, 2012

Enjoyable experience - great location

This hotel is superbly located in the French Quarter. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, the bed was uncomfortable, and the walls and doors were a bit dirty and tired. Our room was a courtyard suite which opened onto the courtyard, which meant we could hear every word spoken outside and every splash in the pool. No reserved parking at this hotel, and the nearby parking was extremely expensive, even for the French Quarter, at $35 overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you fly don't rent a car - parking is extortionate and you don't need one to get around the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaborDay vacationer123
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Jul 1, 2012

A week in N'awlins

This hotel is located in the French Quarter right near everything people usually go to see. The room was smaller than most hotel rooms but honestly you're going to be walking around and seeing the city, all you need is a bed to sleep in and a bathroom to get ready. The pool was also a nice amenity. The only complaint was the broken elevator. We were on the 3rd floor but it was only a problem when we checked in and checked out. We are planning to visit this city in the future and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Hay
Business
San Antonio, tx
Jul 9, 2012

Excellent

Loved it! Would definately go back. Perfect for two, small and quaint but when u don't plan on spending much time at the hotel a clean small room is all you need! It was in a historic New Orleans style building and it was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan world traveler 2012
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 18, 2012

Wonderful experience

very friendly stafff, amazing location, great ambiance, will definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top