$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay. See full review

  • Ash Flash
  • Jul 30, 2014
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vikramhk
Business
Hillsborough, NC
Dec 29, 2012

A good place to stay

The hotel is conveniently located if the French Quarter is going to be one's center of sight seeing. The rooms are clean and the art deco interiors are well done. Not a spectacular place by any means. It met the needs of someone who was out and about all day. Do not expect any thing more than an arrangement of pastries and hot beverages as far as the complimentary breakfast. I could not find drinking water anywhere in the breakfast area. I had an issue with the shower not dispensing hot water. It took two complaints at the front desk, and was fixed on my third morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Napoleon House right next door. You can pretty much stalk the place to find out when the lines are not long, and afford to stay there very late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mma1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 6, 2013

First time in New Orleans

Hotel was very nice and staff was beyond helpful. Some cons were no elevator (we were on the third floor) and the bed was a bit to soft for my liking. But I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billy1o
Business
Ptld. OR
Jan 15, 2013

clean and simple

Our room did not have an exterior window or any furniture. Bed was comfortable, room in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JodyBee
Business
Florida
Jan 15, 2013

Birthday get-away

I got this vacation as a birthday present for my boyfriend. The location was great, however, the bed was con-caved and we could hear a pin drop in the room right next door to us. It was very clean and well kept, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.J. Wright
Business
CT
Mar 14, 2013

It does the job, with a few caveats.

The hotel is in a perfect location, only a couple blocks from nearly all the high points of the Vieux Carre. Bear in mind that the hotel DOES NOT have its own garage or lot. You will probably have to move your vehicle at least once and pay handily to do so at the various public lots adjacent to the hotel. My room--a queen suite--was on the smallish side, but comfortable and clean, with a couch in an alcove - presumably this is what makes it a suite. Unfortunately, the thermostat in my room was not working (I heard at least one other guest on my floor say the same) so the room warmed up while I was out, though it cooled after I turned the air off. There are no bathtubs, only standing showers in most (all?) rooms, so between that and the smallish room, this is perhaps not the best place if you're traveling with kids or looking to cram a group into one room to save. The free breakfast was just some coffee and some pastries on a plate at the end of the hall. Between this and the pralines and water in the room, the hidden "amenities charge" of $11/night seems steep. The courtyard and pool seemed nice, though it was far to cool out for swimming. The staff was fine, though one gentleman whose name I didn't catch was most helpful. You will recognize him by the earbuds that never leave his ears, but don't be fooled, he's quite attentive. Overall, I thought the St. Helene was a fine place for someone on a budget, and its location and ease of access mostly made up for any faults. This is a fine hotel for a couple or a solo traveler not looking to spend a ton while still getting the most out of a stay in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCTravel
Business
DC
Apr 15, 2013

Great Location, but Loud Room

Close to everything in the Quarter and helpful staff, but the room was at the top of the stairs where we heard every passerby. Could hear the conversation of our next door neighbors from in our room. Great if you don't plan to stay in the room long, but don't count on a great night's sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaybird2
Business
Atlanta
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect location but small, windowless room

We came for JazzFest and the location of the St. Helene couldn't be better -- right in the heart of the French Quarter and easy walking distance (3 or 4 blocks) to the JazzFest shuttle, Bourbon Street, and everything else that's fun about the Quarter. The continental breakfast was nice, too, with cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries and decent coffee. I just want to make two important observations about the hotel: First, there are several rooms that do not have external windows -- the room we had, for example, had a window that looked into the internal stairwell, which meant that we kept it closed and shuttered at all times. I didn't think I would care about this but it was odd to not be able to see outside. Next time I'd get a room with an outside-looking window. Second, the room was clean and nice but small. No problem for my wife and me but tight quarters and no desk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found some folks this year who rented bikes to ride to the JazzFest from the Quarter. We took the shuttle, as we always have, but plan next time on renting bikes and riding to the fairgrounds. It's an easy, short ride, no hills, and would be a fun way to see NOLA rather than fooling with the shuttle, esp. when you leave the Fest in the evening (long lines).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimboutit
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 21, 2013

Great location

Great location, just a few blocks from outstanding restaurants, bars, and shopping. We found our room to be pretty noisy, but it might have just been because we were on the first floor near an open stairwell. To be fair, we did not complain about the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldT
Business
Newton, MA
Oct 29, 2013

Needs more

The location perfect, the room is fine. The TV cables didnt work, nobody told us and didnt let us know, not even gave us an update on that. NO parking, well, it been said, though you can not stand in front and unload your staff and they dont help with the actual guidance or what you should do with the parking, why not????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
old joe
Business
salem or
Feb 8, 2014

French Quarter Ambiance

This hotel fit the FQ like an old well worn glove. The room was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated, but the TV had no reception and apparently could not be fixed. The staff was friendly, the continental breakfast adequate, but the bed was lumpy and the bed linens poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top