$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
70 reviews
Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay. See full review

  • Ash Flash
  • Jul 30, 2014
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flo-town's hero
Portsmouth, UK
Jan 10, 2013

Great Location and that's about it

Very noisy construction works being carried out opposite with a very large mobile generator running 24/7. Not the hotel's fault, I know, but not great. No elevator to the 3rd floor, which was a bit of a struggle with suitcases. Received charges for 'goodness knows what' on my credit card - only noticed on return from long vacation, so will be posing the question - prepaid through travel agent, so wasn't expecting any additional costs. Room was tiny, even small by European standards, and not what we normally get in the USA. Staff were friendly enough, but nothing spectacular, and it seemed a different person on the front desk every day, so no continuity. In retrospect, wish I'd paid the extra couple of dollars to stay in a slightly more up-market establishment - there are quite a few in the immediate vicinity. Disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans seems to have a larger than average number of 'scammers', i.e. people who want to take your money from you for no significant return. Watch out for the 'shoe shine scam'. Man says 'nice shoes' and before you know it, he's rubbing silicone into them and trying to charge you twenty bucks for the privelage. Also, the 'free hat' number. Usually starts as you cross a road and someone with a very stern face advises that you're not allowed to - when you look surprised, they respond with 'without a jack daniels in your hand', or 'without a smile' or somesuch rubbish. They then offer you a free hat, for which they expect over the odds recompense - depending on intimidation to get you to part with your money. Other than that, nice town.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimatiu
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 3, 2014

Not really a hotel, more of a rooming house...roll with it

Something wrong with the room? There isn't really anybody who can help. New flat screen TVs, but 'the cable is out.' 'No it will not likely be fixed soon.' This is the loudest 'hotel' I've ever been in, from people talking to banging their luggage up and down the stairs (no elevator). If you sleep like a rock then ok for a one night stay. Small rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACDC Fan
Leavenworth, KS
Aug 5, 2013

Stay at the Daupine Orleans instead!

I hate to sound like a downer but don't stay here! NOLA is my home away from home and this time, it didn't feel like home. This was a spacious enough room but one big problem - the extra area with the couch was unusable as there was no lamp! The rooms only have 1 window which was depressing. Also, there is no carpet so it was not cozy. The elevator didn't work or there wasn't one and we were on the 3rd floor. The pool area was uninviting and the free coffee area was by the pool. Odd. Don't let the pictures fool you! People in the room next to us were smoking pot which is no big deal but just not my thing. At least they were quiet. The staff was very nice but the room was dark and depressing. Blech.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Napoleon House is right around the corner - can never go wrong there. Also, a great little breakfast counter is at the other end of the corner. They are cheerful and attentive.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramie
French Settlement , Louisiana
Nov 4, 2013

Birthday get away for my wife

Their wasn't any TV available , when my wife and I wanted to relax for the evening we had no TV. We had blank wall to stair at . We asked the not so friendly staff about it and all they had to say way, " the cable is out ". Now we know tht cable companies work in weekends and for emergencies .. We were not at all happy with this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston, IL
Jun 26, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, But Missing A Lot

St. Helene sits in the middle of the antique and art district, close to the French Market and Jackson Square - exactly where we wanted to be! The hotel itself was stylish, but it seemed like a facade. The rooms were small. I'm not picky. They were VERY small, like 10x10. They were also not well cleaned. Hair was everywhere! The courtyard pool was beautiful. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, yogurt, dry cereal, and coffee. Really disappointing, especially since you get a semi-surprising $10.95/day charge on top of your hotel charge for "amenities." The amenities by the way are that lack luster breakfast and poor wi-fi access. The staff were very friendly, but whenever I needed them to do something, I had to ask a few times before it got done. Example 1: the safe code needed re-set. I had to ask them three times before someone re-set it. Example 2: I asked for late check-out. They said, "great, sure no problem." However, they wrote down the wrong room #. I knew from my safe experience to double check on the late check out, and sure enough the next day, they had told me they wrote the wrong room # down and we were not set for late check-out. Both problems eventually got resolved. It was just irritating having to babysit the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Market is close and you can barter for anything without a price tag.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James Bondman
Citizen of the World
Apr 12, 2013

Mostly disappointing

Other than the convenient location, I can't recommend this hotel. Very noisy due to all wood construction and open design with no carpeting....so anyone closing a door or talking in the hallways is heard all over the hotel. Almost no furniture in the rooms, zero amenities, minimal housekeeping, staff seemed inexperienced but most did try to help. We objected to the daily fee for unlimited phone, Internet and in-room safe since phone was inoperable, safe was broken and we had our own data plan. After much discussion they took it of the bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaybird2
Atlanta
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect location but small, windowless room

We came for JazzFest and the location of the St. Helene couldn't be better -- right in the heart of the French Quarter and easy walking distance (3 or 4 blocks) to the JazzFest shuttle, Bourbon Street, and everything else that's fun about the Quarter. The continental breakfast was nice, too, with cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries and decent coffee. I just want to make two important observations about the hotel: First, there are several rooms that do not have external windows -- the room we had, for example, had a window that looked into the internal stairwell, which meant that we kept it closed and shuttered at all times. I didn't think I would care about this but it was odd to not be able to see outside. Next time I'd get a room with an outside-looking window. Second, the room was clean and nice but small. No problem for my wife and me but tight quarters and no desk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found some folks this year who rented bikes to ride to the JazzFest from the Quarter. We took the shuttle, as we always have, but plan next time on renting bikes and riding to the fairgrounds. It's an easy, short ride, no hills, and would be a fun way to see NOLA rather than fooling with the shuttle, esp. when you leave the Fest in the evening (long lines).

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JodyBee
Florida
Jan 15, 2013

Birthday get-away

I got this vacation as a birthday present for my boyfriend. The location was great, however, the bed was con-caved and we could hear a pin drop in the room right next door to us. It was very clean and well kept, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billy1o
Ptld. OR
Jan 15, 2013

clean and simple

Our room did not have an exterior window or any furniture. Bed was comfortable, room in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldT
Newton, MA
Oct 29, 2013

Needs more

The location perfect, the room is fine. The TV cables didnt work, nobody told us and didnt let us know, not even gave us an update on that. NO parking, well, it been said, though you can not stand in front and unload your staff and they dont help with the actual guidance or what you should do with the parking, why not????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street

Back to menu Return to top

Change search