$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
68 reviews
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014
Well worth the money

A wonderful place to stay. It is close to everything in the French Quarter. The staff was great See full review

  • Mel838
  • Jul 24, 2013

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peachply
NYC
Jan 28, 2013

Clean, modern and classic in the heart of French Quarter

This was an excellent location, the price was right and I was recommend. Rooms are small but they are for sleeping and resting when on vacation not living. Highly recommend this hotel. The Camelia Coffee Shoppe is down the street which is super convenient for a cheap meal anytime given with diner and southern flair. Love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camelia Coffee Shoppe

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married without children
Charleston, sc
Feb 12, 2013

Awesome boutique hotel!

Wonderful staff and location! Only 2 blocks to bourbon street and in the middle of everything. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I already want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 Blocks to Bourbon street!

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MG MAN
ANNA OHIO
Jan 28, 2013

PARTI GRAS

EXCELLENT HOTEL STAFF & CLEANLINESS VERY CLOSE TO SEVERAL ATTRACTIONS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CAMELLIAS GRILL & SOMETHING ELSE EXCELLENT

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JXWeekender
Jackson, MS
Dec 24, 2012

Fantastic French Quarter location

Have made many trips to New Orleans, all for weekend getaways or to attend certain music festivals that N.O. have. First time in this hotel. Very enjoyable experience. Very quaint, small hotel. Rooms are small but updated and clean. This the best way to enjoy the French Quarter. We lived in N.O. many years ago and continue to come back. Only to minor negatives. Still no elevator, but not really a problem. No bath tub (wife loves her bath tub) and no provision for parking by the hotel; you have to find your own. There is Central Parking Co. lot next door where you can park overnight for $35 if a place is available. The location cannot be beaten. Two blocks from Jackson Square. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
08086
west deptford, nj
Jul 30, 2013

great staff for recommending good resturants not always in travel guides

Our room was court side by the swimming pool. the room was well appointed. Hotel staff is excellent. Location is perfect. would definitely stay there again. In past have stayed in some great locations in the Quarter, but hotels not maintained as well as this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Designerdougfan
Dallas, Texas
May 3, 2014

St. Helene

We checked into 2 rooms for a 1 night stay. It was a great location, and a good value -- especially with breakfast included. We were disappointed that the bellman left at 4 pm right before we checked in, so no one available to help us with our luggage (since one of the rooms was on the second floor) -- but they did help us at check out the next day. We loved the hotel. Nice pool (although not heated) and deck area. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa DB
Denver
Dec 24, 2012

An excellent two night stay

Very charming hotel in excellent location in French Quarter. Within walking distance of all FQ attractions. Very friendly, helpful staff and great value but a small room for two adults. No real amenities outside of a continental breakfast (better hurry before its gone) and a small pool that went unused during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A plethora of restaurants and food choices nearby but cleanliness and smells can be iffy.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MardiGrasFanatic
Baton Rouge, LA
Nov 24, 2013

great new hotel in great spot

Really cool hotel! Perfect location for the concert at House of Blues we went to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to HOB

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaybird2
Atlanta
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect location but small, windowless room

We came for JazzFest and the location of the St. Helene couldn't be better -- right in the heart of the French Quarter and easy walking distance (3 or 4 blocks) to the JazzFest shuttle, Bourbon Street, and everything else that's fun about the Quarter. The continental breakfast was nice, too, with cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries and decent coffee. I just want to make two important observations about the hotel: First, there are several rooms that do not have external windows -- the room we had, for example, had a window that looked into the internal stairwell, which meant that we kept it closed and shuttered at all times. I didn't think I would care about this but it was odd to not be able to see outside. Next time I'd get a room with an outside-looking window. Second, the room was clean and nice but small. No problem for my wife and me but tight quarters and no desk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found some folks this year who rented bikes to ride to the JazzFest from the Quarter. We took the shuttle, as we always have, but plan next time on renting bikes and riding to the fairgrounds. It's an easy, short ride, no hills, and would be a fun way to see NOLA rather than fooling with the shuttle, esp. when you leave the Fest in the evening (long lines).

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JodyBee
Florida
Jan 15, 2013

Birthday get-away

I got this vacation as a birthday present for my boyfriend. The location was great, however, the bed was con-caved and we could hear a pin drop in the room right next door to us. It was very clean and well kept, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top