St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

3.8/5

Overall score

86%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tameesha D.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

A great little boutique hotel

On a quieter street - a little away from the hustle of Bourbon. Awesome breakfast place on the corner don't miss it. Beautiful courtyard and pool. Very New Orleans :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
earl e.
Business
Cold Spring
Feb 27, 2015

Plain but close

The hotel over all was very plain. Actually there were no amenities. We chose this hotel for the value and location. We paid in the mid 80's a night which was a bargain. It's 2 blocks from Bourbon street. Front desk was very friendly. Would I stay here again..... yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Brooklyn
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

Great Stay in the Heart of the French Quarter.

First off, I must say, excellent customer service! Staff was very friendly and helpful we got some excellent restaurant recommendations that were spot-on. The room was clean and very comfortable. I loved the character of the building. Over all, I'm very happy with my decision to stay here. Best part of all, the location! If you're looking to stay in the french quarter, I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichaelN
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Great Stay for the Money

The hotel was right smack in the french quarter, so we were close to great restaurants, bars, and music. The french quarter is so lively, so full of life and culture. We were lucky to be part of it. The hotel was very clean, and very old, and we appreciate the history. My girlfriend loves the haunted history of New Orleans, and loved the fact that there were haunted buildings to the left and right. The room was very clean, very white, and somewhat small. There were no windows outside (we did not know this until we got there) and there were only a small handful of rooms that had windows out to the street, and these were all booked up. As it were the only windows in our room opened up to the internal courtyard - and all the sounds of people walking up and down the stairs were amplified. There also was a pool in the back - which is why we booked the hotel, but the pool was mostly for show. I never saw a guest actually go swimming. The staff were very helpful and courteous. They did everything that they could to make our stay more pleasant. I just would have liked a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jared G.
Business
Arlington
Feb 13, 2015

Couple Getaway

I have been to this hotel several times, you cannot beat the location and price of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BirthdayGrl
Business
Birmingham
Feb 9, 2015

Krewe Du Vieux

The location of this hotel was great! Right in the middle of the French Quarter, which made it within walking distance to practically everything. The accommodations were pretty basic and the rooms were small, but I'd recommend it if you're just using the hotel as a home base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lawrence S.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Great anniversary trip

The hotel was quiet and comfortable, only one block to Jackson Square, so close to everything. Get a room in the back looking over the pool. They offer a light breakfast of sweet rolls and coffee. Recommend Deanie's Seafood for oysters and gumbo, and Court of Two Sisters for brunch. Don't be afraid of the line at Cafe du Monde. The beinets and cafe au lait are worth the 20 minutes. Pretty cheap beer at Jimini, right down the street at Iberville and Chartres. The Airport Shuttle is the cheapest way for two to get there and worked out well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhonda B.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Weekend get away

Hotel in walking distance to a lot of dining & shopping....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mrshamills
Business
Draper
Dec 16, 2014

Girls trip

The location for this hotel is great, it's walking distance to almost everything, and it's adjacent to the Napoleon House, which is a bonus. Our room, however, was really, really not great. Paper thin walls made ear plugs and absolute must, and not always enough. Our room was on the main level, just down from the front desk, and just down from the courtyard. People came in and out at all hours, and we could hear everything, and were often awakened at 4:00 and 5:00 in the morning, despite our earplugs, and definitely at 6:00 when they started to put up the breakfast service, which was more or less right next to our room. I'd like to say though, that the noise was all internal, the staff, or other guests. We didn't hear any outside noise. But staff, especially when they prepared the breakfast setup, were pretty loud, and there was music played in the lobby that we could hear quite clearly from some of the night staff. Then, due to poor weather stripping on our door, whenever people would go down to the courtyard to smoke, which was frequently, our room would positively reek of the smell, and it would linger, because once it got down that short hall and into our room, it didn't have anywhere to get out. The staff was very hit or miss. It seemed like they had pretty short shifts, and it always seemed to be somebody new, which isn't a complaint, but it made for a rather large variety of personalities, and some were friendly and helpful, and some were sullen and rather put out by our appearance. I got food poisoning from Pierre Maspero's (pretty sure it was there, won't go into just how) just across the street, and was violently ill, and requested to purchase an additional room for a night to spare my friend from the nastier aspects of being quite sick, and that room was also on the first floor, just across from my other room. This room was more expensive, but seemed to be much quieter. I wish we had just stayed there for the remainder of our trip. Our bed in our original room was so squeaky, that neither of us slept well for fear of moving and waking the other person, the bed in the other room wasn't nearly as bad. In hindsight, I really, really should have requested to be moved, as our room was pretty unacceptable, but we had already unpacked, as well as already spent a good amount of money on the room we had. I wish I hadn't let my laziness affect my comfort, because we didn't really sleep the last two nights we were there due to the noise and the cigarette smoke collecting in our room, not to mention the horrid bed. I think I'm pretty easy to please usually, and I've waited, and thought about my experience, to make sure I was being fair, but I'm solid on my review. I'll again say that the location is great, and it's a neat old building, and our room was pretty clean, but the noisy, uncomfortable room, and the just ok staff have left me with a bad taste in my mouth for this place, which makes me sad because I was very excited for our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuel Adams
Business
Laguna Beach
Nov 9, 2014

Friends celebrate

I pick a new hotel/location each time I come to New Orleans. I picked this hotel as it was very centrally located. That turned out perfect. It was nice to have coffee and fruit available each morning in the lobby/kitchen. I knew it would be noisy on the front FQ balcony, and it was! Brought my earplugs and that helped. The balcony was so awesome though, so it was worth the wake up call from the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must get a cocktail at Napoleon House and then dinner (at the bar...more fun!) at Nola's. Both are on the same/cross street of the hotel. If I had to stay on that corner at these two places the whole trip, I could!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top