$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay. See full review

  • Ash Flash
  • Jul 30, 2014
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flo-town's hero
Business
Portsmouth, UK
Jan 10, 2013

Great Location and that's about it

Very noisy construction works being carried out opposite with a very large mobile generator running 24/7. Not the hotel's fault, I know, but not great. No elevator to the 3rd floor, which was a bit of a struggle with suitcases. Received charges for 'goodness knows what' on my credit card - only noticed on return from long vacation, so will be posing the question - prepaid through travel agent, so wasn't expecting any additional costs. Room was tiny, even small by European standards, and not what we normally get in the USA. Staff were friendly enough, but nothing spectacular, and it seemed a different person on the front desk every day, so no continuity. In retrospect, wish I'd paid the extra couple of dollars to stay in a slightly more up-market establishment - there are quite a few in the immediate vicinity. Disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

New Orleans seems to have a larger than average number of 'scammers', i.e. people who want to take your money from you for no significant return. Watch out for the 'shoe shine scam'. Man says 'nice shoes' and before you know it, he's rubbing silicone into them and trying to charge you twenty bucks for the privelage. Also, the 'free hat' number. Usually starts as you cross a road and someone with a very stern face advises that you're not allowed to - when you look surprised, they respond with 'without a jack daniels in your hand', or 'without a smile' or somesuch rubbish. They then offer you a free hat, for which they expect over the odds recompense - depending on intimidation to get you to part with your money. Other than that, nice town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimatiu
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 3, 2014

Not really a hotel, more of a rooming house...roll with it

Something wrong with the room? There isn't really anybody who can help. New flat screen TVs, but 'the cable is out.' 'No it will not likely be fixed soon.' This is the loudest 'hotel' I've ever been in, from people talking to banging their luggage up and down the stairs (no elevator). If you sleep like a rock then ok for a one night stay. Small rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James Bondman
Business
Citizen of the World
Apr 12, 2013

Mostly disappointing

Other than the convenient location, I can't recommend this hotel. Very noisy due to all wood construction and open design with no carpeting....so anyone closing a door or talking in the hallways is heard all over the hotel. Almost no furniture in the rooms, zero amenities, minimal housekeeping, staff seemed inexperienced but most did try to help. We objected to the daily fee for unlimited phone, Internet and in-room safe since phone was inoperable, safe was broken and we had our own data plan. After much discussion they took it of the bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston, IL
Jun 26, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, But Missing A Lot

St. Helene sits in the middle of the antique and art district, close to the French Market and Jackson Square - exactly where we wanted to be! The hotel itself was stylish, but it seemed like a facade. The rooms were small. I'm not picky. They were VERY small, like 10x10. They were also not well cleaned. Hair was everywhere! The courtyard pool was beautiful. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, yogurt, dry cereal, and coffee. Really disappointing, especially since you get a semi-surprising $10.95/day charge on top of your hotel charge for "amenities." The amenities by the way are that lack luster breakfast and poor wi-fi access. The staff were very friendly, but whenever I needed them to do something, I had to ask a few times before it got done. Example 1: the safe code needed re-set. I had to ask them three times before someone re-set it. Example 2: I asked for late check-out. They said, "great, sure no problem." However, they wrote down the wrong room #. I knew from my safe experience to double check on the late check out, and sure enough the next day, they had told me they wrote the wrong room # down and we were not set for late check-out. Both problems eventually got resolved. It was just irritating having to babysit the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Market is close and you can barter for anything without a price tag.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACDC Fan
Business
Leavenworth, KS
Aug 5, 2013

Stay at the Daupine Orleans instead!

I hate to sound like a downer but don't stay here! NOLA is my home away from home and this time, it didn't feel like home. This was a spacious enough room but one big problem - the extra area with the couch was unusable as there was no lamp! The rooms only have 1 window which was depressing. Also, there is no carpet so it was not cozy. The elevator didn't work or there wasn't one and we were on the 3rd floor. The pool area was uninviting and the free coffee area was by the pool. Odd. Don't let the pictures fool you! People in the room next to us were smoking pot which is no big deal but just not my thing. At least they were quiet. The staff was very nice but the room was dark and depressing. Blech.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Napoleon House is right around the corner - can never go wrong there. Also, a great little breakfast counter is at the other end of the corner. They are cheerful and attentive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramie
Business
French Settlement , Louisiana
Nov 4, 2013

Birthday get away for my wife

Their wasn't any TV available , when my wife and I wanted to relax for the evening we had no TV. We had blank wall to stair at . We asked the not so friendly staff about it and all they had to say way, " the cable is out ". Now we know tht cable companies work in weekends and for emergencies .. We were not at all happy with this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
old joe
Business
salem or
Feb 8, 2014

French Quarter Ambiance

This hotel fit the FQ like an old well worn glove. The room was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated, but the TV had no reception and apparently could not be fixed. The staff was friendly, the continental breakfast adequate, but the bed was lumpy and the bed linens poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T n J
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 3, 2012

First Visit to New Orleans

Overall I had an ok experience. The location was great. There was Parking ( expensive $35/ day) right next door. It was a little noisy though at night, people yelling from above down to the pool , and staff arguing in stairwell with a hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DMS901
Business
Memphis
Sep 22, 2012

Room 205 Nice but small

Stayed for one night and the location is great. Room was very clean and bright. The in room safe was on the floor of the closet which required you to lay on the floor to access it. It would make more sense to mount it on the shelf of the closet. The staff was very friendly. parking is very high at $35 but it is the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camilla Grill is a great place for breakfast and it is located in the same block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lolalizard
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 22, 2012

Family get together

No elevator and we requested the first floor and were told we would get it and we didn't. Air conditioner made a loud buzzing noise (all night). No decaf coffee. Not enough chairs in the court yard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top