$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaybird2
Business
Atlanta
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect location but small, windowless room

We came for JazzFest and the location of the St. Helene couldn't be better -- right in the heart of the French Quarter and easy walking distance (3 or 4 blocks) to the JazzFest shuttle, Bourbon Street, and everything else that's fun about the Quarter. The continental breakfast was nice, too, with cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries and decent coffee. I just want to make two important observations about the hotel: First, there are several rooms that do not have external windows -- the room we had, for example, had a window that looked into the internal stairwell, which meant that we kept it closed and shuttered at all times. I didn't think I would care about this but it was odd to not be able to see outside. Next time I'd get a room with an outside-looking window. Second, the room was clean and nice but small. No problem for my wife and me but tight quarters and no desk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found some folks this year who rented bikes to ride to the JazzFest from the Quarter. We took the shuttle, as we always have, but plan next time on renting bikes and riding to the fairgrounds. It's an easy, short ride, no hills, and would be a fun way to see NOLA rather than fooling with the shuttle, esp. when you leave the Fest in the evening (long lines).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCTravel
Business
DC
Apr 15, 2013

Great Location, but Loud Room

Close to everything in the Quarter and helpful staff, but the room was at the top of the stairs where we heard every passerby. Could hear the conversation of our next door neighbors from in our room. Great if you don't plan to stay in the room long, but don't count on a great night's sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James Bondman
Business
Citizen of the World
Apr 12, 2013

Mostly disappointing

Other than the convenient location, I can't recommend this hotel. Very noisy due to all wood construction and open design with no carpeting....so anyone closing a door or talking in the hallways is heard all over the hotel. Almost no furniture in the rooms, zero amenities, minimal housekeeping, staff seemed inexperienced but most did try to help. We objected to the daily fee for unlimited phone, Internet and in-room safe since phone was inoperable, safe was broken and we had our own data plan. After much discussion they took it of the bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tutates
Business
Winchester, Tennessee
Apr 5, 2013

Great getaway with my grandson.

Excellent. The staff was especially friendly and helpful, The breakfast was nice. Coffee was especially good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.J. Wright
Business
CT
Mar 14, 2013

It does the job, with a few caveats.

The hotel is in a perfect location, only a couple blocks from nearly all the high points of the Vieux Carre. Bear in mind that the hotel DOES NOT have its own garage or lot. You will probably have to move your vehicle at least once and pay handily to do so at the various public lots adjacent to the hotel. My room--a queen suite--was on the smallish side, but comfortable and clean, with a couch in an alcove - presumably this is what makes it a suite. Unfortunately, the thermostat in my room was not working (I heard at least one other guest on my floor say the same) so the room warmed up while I was out, though it cooled after I turned the air off. There are no bathtubs, only standing showers in most (all?) rooms, so between that and the smallish room, this is perhaps not the best place if you're traveling with kids or looking to cram a group into one room to save. The free breakfast was just some coffee and some pastries on a plate at the end of the hall. Between this and the pralines and water in the room, the hidden "amenities charge" of $11/night seems steep. The courtyard and pool seemed nice, though it was far to cool out for swimming. The staff was fine, though one gentleman whose name I didn't catch was most helpful. You will recognize him by the earbuds that never leave his ears, but don't be fooled, he's quite attentive. Overall, I thought the St. Helene was a fine place for someone on a budget, and its location and ease of access mostly made up for any faults. This is a fine hotel for a couple or a solo traveler not looking to spend a ton while still getting the most out of a stay in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEH21
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 4, 2013

Great Location for Fun in NOLA!!!

Hotel is nicely updated and clean. Great location right in the heart of the French Quarter! Great for exploring Bourbon St, Jackson Square, Frenchman St and much more! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Have an older heating/cooling system that left us without heat in 40 degrees temps (very unusual) but provided a space heater that did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleur De Lis Cafe on Charters - just 2 blocks from hotel has an amazing breakfast/brunch! Check out the Chicory Coffee and Bloody Mary's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname Jon doe
Business
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2013

Great location

Great location. Close enough to everything you need in the French quarter. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is not cookie cutter. It has some character and can be loud. I didn't care and had a great time at this historic and beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married without children
Business
Charleston, sc
Feb 12, 2013

Awesome boutique hotel!

Wonderful staff and location! Only 2 blocks to bourbon street and in the middle of everything. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I already want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 Blocks to Bourbon street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peachply
Business
NYC
Jan 28, 2013

Clean, modern and classic in the heart of French Quarter

This was an excellent location, the price was right and I was recommend. Rooms are small but they are for sleeping and resting when on vacation not living. Highly recommend this hotel. The Camelia Coffee Shoppe is down the street which is super convenient for a cheap meal anytime given with diner and southern flair. Love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camelia Coffee Shoppe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MG MAN
Business
ANNA OHIO
Jan 28, 2013

PARTI GRAS

EXCELLENT HOTEL STAFF & CLEANLINESS VERY CLOSE TO SEVERAL ATTRACTIONS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CAMELLIAS GRILL & SOMETHING ELSE EXCELLENT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top