St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
60 reviews
Well worth the money

A wonderful place to stay. It is close to everything in the French Quarter. The staff was great See full review

  • Mel838
  • Jul 24, 2013
Clean, amazing staff, close to everything!

This hotel was a great find. It was cheaper than other hotels in the area. The room was small, and... See full review

  • Il traveler 2013
  • May 10, 2013

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.7 / 5
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
southeast lover
Ohio
Oct 26, 2012

great location

Except for a raised area in the floor (which I tripped over a number of times) this is a good hotel. if you're coming to New Orleans as a tourist, stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to take the St. Charles Trolley! It covers much of New Orleans.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
lolalizard
Columbus, OH
Oct 22, 2012

Family get together

No elevator and we requested the first floor and were told we would get it and we didn't. Air conditioner made a loud buzzing noise (all night). No decaf coffee. Not enough chairs in the court yard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
DMS901
Memphis
Sep 22, 2012

Room 205 Nice but small

Stayed for one night and the location is great. Room was very clean and bright. The in room safe was on the floor of the closet which required you to lay on the floor to access it. It would make more sense to mount it on the shelf of the closet. The staff was very friendly. parking is very high at $35 but it is the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camilla Grill is a great place for breakfast and it is located in the same block.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
40thBdayTraveler
Massachusetts
Sep 22, 2012

Great hotel, great staff, great location

This hotel was terrific! Staff were friendly and gracious, and the location was ideal. A long weekend away from real life was needed, and this was the perfect place to relax and experience the French Quarter. While nestled in the city, the hotel itself was quiet. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the pool refreshing. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a long weekend away, and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Muriel's was unreal, Stanley's was perfect, The Gumbo Shop was so good.... Abita Amber was really good, too.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
TechFan
Shreveport, Louisiana
Sep 19, 2012

Good Hotel in a Great Location

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for in N.O. The hotel itself was not big but it was cozy and blended in nicely with New Orleans's style. The hotel is in probably the best location of N.O. Everything is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's is a fantastic place to get Oysters. Every time I come to New Orleans I have to stop at this place!

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
B.B. Smith
San Jose, CA
Sep 14, 2012

Great Stay

I always wanted to go to the French Quarter, and St. Helene was exactly what I was looking for. Great location and friendly staff made the trip a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
T.Cheng
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2012

Perfect

Everything was perfect! The staff was great and extremely helpful! Our room was clean and perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best meal was at R'evolution.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Hano
Dublin, Ireland
Aug 13, 2012

Perfect Location

We stayed 9 nights at St. Helene and had a wonderful holiday. I think that the location and the staff is what makes this place so special. A dip in the pool was also a very welcome refreshment. My only gripe would be that the room we stayed in had no soundproofing so we could hear everything in the room next door, which happened to be constant coughing and a loud TV. However, you can't hear noise from the street and anyway we spent most of our time exploring and enjoying the city as it is at the doorstep of the hotel. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanies Seafood Restaurant. Amazing food. Sit at the bar and enjoy.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
Ecuador connection
Denver CO
Jul 28, 2012

Best location French Qtr

We had a great time! The staff was friendly, helpful, and this location is the best for walking to all of the tourist sites. We were really happy that this hotel has a pool; we would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Death Valley Dave
Indian Springs, NV
Jul 28, 2012

A Wonderful Stay in the French Quarter

This recently restored and renovated property was a true delight. It's location was perfect and the staff went out of their way to make my stay one that I would like to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top