$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmsne
Business
Boston MA
Jan 22, 2013

French Quarter proximity cannot be beat

We enjoyed our stay. You are close to Jackson Square and the usual tourist places. You are also close to some local spots, including Frenchman Street and fringes of the Quarter where the real world lives. The hotel was dealing with a few challenges including a huge HVAC engine running constantly 24x7 during our entire stay. Thankfully we had a courtyard room which saved us from the noise. The continental breakfast was quite modest, with a few pasties, cereal, yogurt and coffee. The addition of some fresh fruit, a few more juices would have been great. The room was great, comfortable bed and nice sitting area. The sink top and shower control value were not properly attached. The hotel has no parking and parking is expensive in the French Quarter. Going forward I would not invest in a rental car unless you know you are taking a trip. We spent as much on parking as we did the rental car for 5 days! All in all a great value; and sure to improve on the little things that would make it a 5 start recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtexas
Business
Fort Worth, Tx
Jan 21, 2013

Great location, friendly staff,lots of bang for the buck.

Staff very friendly and attentive. Only down side was no elevator. Did I mention attentive staff, young man carried all our bags upstairs! Desk clerk supplied fresh coffee and local eatery suggestions. A repeat visit hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camella's grill on the corner was yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peachply
Business
NYC
Jan 28, 2013

Clean, modern and classic in the heart of French Quarter

This was an excellent location, the price was right and I was recommend. Rooms are small but they are for sleeping and resting when on vacation not living. Highly recommend this hotel. The Camelia Coffee Shoppe is down the street which is super convenient for a cheap meal anytime given with diner and southern flair. Love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camelia Coffee Shoppe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MG MAN
Business
ANNA OHIO
Jan 28, 2013

PARTI GRAS

EXCELLENT HOTEL STAFF & CLEANLINESS VERY CLOSE TO SEVERAL ATTRACTIONS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CAMELLIAS GRILL & SOMETHING ELSE EXCELLENT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married without children
Business
Charleston, sc
Feb 12, 2013

Awesome boutique hotel!

Wonderful staff and location! Only 2 blocks to bourbon street and in the middle of everything. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I already want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 Blocks to Bourbon street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname Jon doe
Business
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2013

Great location

Great location. Close enough to everything you need in the French quarter. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is not cookie cutter. It has some character and can be loud. I didn't care and had a great time at this historic and beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEH21
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 4, 2013

Great Location for Fun in NOLA!!!

Hotel is nicely updated and clean. Great location right in the heart of the French Quarter! Great for exploring Bourbon St, Jackson Square, Frenchman St and much more! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Have an older heating/cooling system that left us without heat in 40 degrees temps (very unusual) but provided a space heater that did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleur De Lis Cafe on Charters - just 2 blocks from hotel has an amazing breakfast/brunch! Check out the Chicory Coffee and Bloody Mary's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tutates
Business
Winchester, Tennessee
Apr 5, 2013

Great getaway with my grandson.

Excellent. The staff was especially friendly and helpful, The breakfast was nice. Coffee was especially good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzfest Faithful
Business
San Diego
May 8, 2013

Great place

The staff was really nice and helpfull. It is right in the heart of the fench quarter with all kinds of good restaurants, bars, and art shops near by. Room was clean, and they were able to get us in our roomo early. It was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zuzka cooke
Business
Cooke City, MT
May 11, 2013

It has atmosphere

The price very acceptable for where the hotel is placed. The room was kinda tiny. No table and chair where you could sit and use the comp. Tiny space in the bathroom. In the room you could hear the voice from the hall and closing doors from other rooms. There was one thing which I did miss in description of this hotel or just didn´t notice and it surprised me. They charged us something about 10 a day extra for breakfast and using wireless. (breakfast=coffee, tea, some danishes, croissant, butter, jelly, vanilla yogurt, granola). The room was very clean, bed comfortable, stuff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

ZOO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top