$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mel838
Nashville,Tn
Jul 24, 2013

Well worth the money

A wonderful place to stay. It is close to everything in the French Quarter. The staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldT
Business
Newton, MA
Oct 29, 2013

Needs more

The location perfect, the room is fine. The TV cables didnt work, nobody told us and didnt let us know, not even gave us an update on that. NO parking, well, it been said, though you can not stand in front and unload your staff and they dont help with the actual guidance or what you should do with the parking, why not????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimboutit
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 21, 2013

Great location

Great location, just a few blocks from outstanding restaurants, bars, and shopping. We found our room to be pretty noisy, but it might have just been because we were on the first floor near an open stairwell. To be fair, we did not complain about the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TimSue
Business
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Sep 22, 2013

French Quarter Gem

Our experience at this hotel was smooth and problem free. The ambiance while entering the hotel was warm and welcoming. Our hotel room was on the first floor and it was amazing. Every morning we would look to our left and see a beautiful courtyard with an amazing pool. The bed was comfortable and the room was very nice. The only downside is that they have a t.v. that doesn't work; it is just a wall prop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savannah B.
Business
Destin, FL
Aug 23, 2013

Great room

The room was great. Updated & modern, one of the best rooms I've stayed in while in New Orleans. Also came with a spacious balcony. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACDC Fan
Business
Leavenworth, KS
Aug 5, 2013

Stay at the Daupine Orleans instead!

I hate to sound like a downer but don't stay here! NOLA is my home away from home and this time, it didn't feel like home. This was a spacious enough room but one big problem - the extra area with the couch was unusable as there was no lamp! The rooms only have 1 window which was depressing. Also, there is no carpet so it was not cozy. The elevator didn't work or there wasn't one and we were on the 3rd floor. The pool area was uninviting and the free coffee area was by the pool. Odd. Don't let the pictures fool you! People in the room next to us were smoking pot which is no big deal but just not my thing. At least they were quiet. The staff was very nice but the room was dark and depressing. Blech.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Napoleon House is right around the corner - can never go wrong there. Also, a great little breakfast counter is at the other end of the corner. They are cheerful and attentive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
08086
Business
west deptford, nj
Jul 30, 2013

great staff for recommending good resturants not always in travel guides

Our room was court side by the swimming pool. the room was well appointed. Hotel staff is excellent. Location is perfect. would definitely stay there again. In past have stayed in some great locations in the Quarter, but hotels not maintained as well as this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mel838
Business
Nashville,Tn
Jul 24, 2013

Well worth the money

A wonderful place to stay. It is close to everything in the French Quarter. The staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston, IL
Jun 26, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, But Missing A Lot

St. Helene sits in the middle of the antique and art district, close to the French Market and Jackson Square - exactly where we wanted to be! The hotel itself was stylish, but it seemed like a facade. The rooms were small. I'm not picky. They were VERY small, like 10x10. They were also not well cleaned. Hair was everywhere! The courtyard pool was beautiful. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, yogurt, dry cereal, and coffee. Really disappointing, especially since you get a semi-surprising $10.95/day charge on top of your hotel charge for "amenities." The amenities by the way are that lack luster breakfast and poor wi-fi access. The staff were very friendly, but whenever I needed them to do something, I had to ask a few times before it got done. Example 1: the safe code needed re-set. I had to ask them three times before someone re-set it. Example 2: I asked for late check-out. They said, "great, sure no problem." However, they wrote down the wrong room #. I knew from my safe experience to double check on the late check out, and sure enough the next day, they had told me they wrote the wrong room # down and we were not set for late check-out. Both problems eventually got resolved. It was just irritating having to babysit the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Market is close and you can barter for anything without a price tag.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zuzka cooke
Business
Cooke City, MT
May 11, 2013

It has atmosphere

The price very acceptable for where the hotel is placed. The room was kinda tiny. No table and chair where you could sit and use the comp. Tiny space in the bathroom. In the room you could hear the voice from the hall and closing doors from other rooms. There was one thing which I did miss in description of this hotel or just didn´t notice and it surprised me. They charged us something about 10 a day extra for breakfast and using wireless. (breakfast=coffee, tea, some danishes, croissant, butter, jelly, vanilla yogurt, granola). The room was very clean, bed comfortable, stuff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

ZOO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Il traveler 2013
Business
Illinois
May 10, 2013

Clean, amazing staff, close to everything!

This hotel was a great find. It was cheaper than other hotels in the area. The room was small, and the only window looked out into the courtyard/stair case. We were not in the room much, so this didn't matter to us. The room is very clean and has high ceilings. The pool is adorable. A modest continental breakfast. The staff was so friendly. They greeted us at the front and took our bags. They also gave us some great recommendations about what to do. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere. Parking for our car was right across the street from the hotel. We will definately stay in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Masperos has the best sandwiches! Good price. Great staff. Market cafe has the best roast beef po boy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top