$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay. See full review

  • Ash Flash
  • Jul 30, 2014
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecuador connection
Denver CO
Dec 6, 2012

Boutique hotel

I loved this place! Great hidden location and comfy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 14, 2014

Room given away due to IT issues

Arrived at the St Helene drop dead exhausted and so ready to get to my room and just lay down. The front desk guy Timothy (who was a complete pleasure and never lost his composure) for some reason, prior to even checking me in, took my bag to my room.... he came back and informed me that someone else was IN my room.... granted he did not come back with my bag so, I have no clue where it was left or why. I spent the next 45 minutes standing there while he tried to figure out what happened and finally called their sister property which was 7 blocks away to see if they had a room. They did (and he upgraded to me to a double balcony room which I appreciated). He also called me a cab (which he paid for). I had already paid $36 dollars to park my car at the St Helene and the sister property said they had no parking so, I had to leave my car there causing me to have to walk the 7 blocks the next morning to retrieve my car. Since I had no room at the St Helene due to their IT issues, I cannot review the rooms but I can say that the front desk guy Timothy was a pleasure. He was very sweet and never once stopped smiling..... still have no clue what the deal with my bag was though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuel Adams
Business
Laguna Beach
Nov 9, 2014

Friends celebrate

I pick a new hotel/location each time I come to New Orleans. I picked this hotel as it was very centrally located. That turned out perfect. It was nice to have coffee and fruit available each morning in the lobby/kitchen. I knew it would be noisy on the front FQ balcony, and it was! Brought my earplugs and that helped. The balcony was so awesome though, so it was worth the wake up call from the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must get a cocktail at Napoleon House and then dinner (at the bar...more fun!) at Nola's. Both are on the same/cross street of the hotel. If I had to stay on that corner at these two places the whole trip, I could!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VBmore
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 1, 2014

New Orleans First Timer

The layout of the room w/balcony was very nice. The room was a blend of modern with old charm. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and informative, especially Dazz and Valerie. The location of the hotel was perfect, two blocks away from all the action on Bourbon St. The only negative was the cable tv not working. But I have able to connect my tablet to the tv using a HDMI cable and stream movies from netflix. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Checkout the French Market, many vendor and places to eat at one spot. Also visit Cafe du Monde for coffee and fresh beignets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple from Brooklyn
Business
brooklyn, ny
Apr 30, 2014

Perfect Location

Perfect location for a French Quarter hotel! Excellent staff who were extremely helpful as they had some great dinner and activity suggestions. The room was cozy, neat, and comfortable. Would def. recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Designerdougfan
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 3, 2014

St. Helene

We checked into 2 rooms for a 1 night stay. It was a great location, and a good value -- especially with breakfast included. We were disappointed that the bellman left at 4 pm right before we checked in, so no one available to help us with our luggage (since one of the rooms was on the second floor) -- but they did help us at check out the next day. We loved the hotel. Nice pool (although not heated) and deck area. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 5, 2012

Classy hotel

A modern feeling with the historic setting of the French quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good food, its everywhere - but not cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
food tour 2012
Business
las cruces, nm
Jul 6, 2012

summer time in the quarter.

perfect location if you want to walk out the door into the french quarter & stumble in very late at nite. great intimate pool to break the humidity of the day. nice room but a little small & bare. staff was great all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah234
Business
austin, texas
Jul 3, 2012

Enjoyable experience - great location

This hotel is superbly located in the French Quarter. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, the bed was uncomfortable, and the walls and doors were a bit dirty and tired. Our room was a courtyard suite which opened onto the courtyard, which meant we could hear every word spoken outside and every splash in the pool. No reserved parking at this hotel, and the nearby parking was extremely expensive, even for the French Quarter, at $35 overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you fly don't rent a car - parking is extortionate and you don't need one to get around the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaborDay vacationer123
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Jul 1, 2012

A week in N'awlins

This hotel is located in the French Quarter right near everything people usually go to see. The room was smaller than most hotel rooms but honestly you're going to be walking around and seeing the city, all you need is a bed to sleep in and a bathroom to get ready. The pool was also a nice amenity. The only complaint was the broken elevator. We were on the 3rd floor but it was only a problem when we checked in and checked out. We are planning to visit this city in the future and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Hay
Business
San Antonio, tx
Jul 9, 2012

Excellent

Loved it! Would definately go back. Perfect for two, small and quaint but when u don't plan on spending much time at the hotel a clean small room is all you need! It was in a historic New Orleans style building and it was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top