$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014
Well worth the money

A wonderful place to stay. It is close to everything in the French Quarter. The staff was great See full review

  • Mel838
  • Jul 24, 2013

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzfest Faithful
San Diego
May 8, 2013

Great place

The staff was really nice and helpfull. It is right in the heart of the fench quarter with all kinds of good restaurants, bars, and art shops near by. Room was clean, and they were able to get us in our roomo early. It was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaybird2
Atlanta
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect location but small, windowless room

We came for JazzFest and the location of the St. Helene couldn't be better -- right in the heart of the French Quarter and easy walking distance (3 or 4 blocks) to the JazzFest shuttle, Bourbon Street, and everything else that's fun about the Quarter. The continental breakfast was nice, too, with cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries and decent coffee. I just want to make two important observations about the hotel: First, there are several rooms that do not have external windows -- the room we had, for example, had a window that looked into the internal stairwell, which meant that we kept it closed and shuttered at all times. I didn't think I would care about this but it was odd to not be able to see outside. Next time I'd get a room with an outside-looking window. Second, the room was clean and nice but small. No problem for my wife and me but tight quarters and no desk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found some folks this year who rented bikes to ride to the JazzFest from the Quarter. We took the shuttle, as we always have, but plan next time on renting bikes and riding to the fairgrounds. It's an easy, short ride, no hills, and would be a fun way to see NOLA rather than fooling with the shuttle, esp. when you leave the Fest in the evening (long lines).

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCTravel
DC
Apr 15, 2013

Great Location, but Loud Room

Close to everything in the Quarter and helpful staff, but the room was at the top of the stairs where we heard every passerby. Could hear the conversation of our next door neighbors from in our room. Great if you don't plan to stay in the room long, but don't count on a great night's sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James Bondman
Citizen of the World
Apr 12, 2013

Mostly disappointing

Other than the convenient location, I can't recommend this hotel. Very noisy due to all wood construction and open design with no carpeting....so anyone closing a door or talking in the hallways is heard all over the hotel. Almost no furniture in the rooms, zero amenities, minimal housekeeping, staff seemed inexperienced but most did try to help. We objected to the daily fee for unlimited phone, Internet and in-room safe since phone was inoperable, safe was broken and we had our own data plan. After much discussion they took it of the bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tutates
Winchester, Tennessee
Apr 5, 2013

Great getaway with my grandson.

Excellent. The staff was especially friendly and helpful, The breakfast was nice. Coffee was especially good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.J. Wright
CT
Mar 14, 2013

It does the job, with a few caveats.

The hotel is in a perfect location, only a couple blocks from nearly all the high points of the Vieux Carre. Bear in mind that the hotel DOES NOT have its own garage or lot. You will probably have to move your vehicle at least once and pay handily to do so at the various public lots adjacent to the hotel. My room--a queen suite--was on the smallish side, but comfortable and clean, with a couch in an alcove - presumably this is what makes it a suite. Unfortunately, the thermostat in my room was not working (I heard at least one other guest on my floor say the same) so the room warmed up while I was out, though it cooled after I turned the air off. There are no bathtubs, only standing showers in most (all?) rooms, so between that and the smallish room, this is perhaps not the best place if you're traveling with kids or looking to cram a group into one room to save. The free breakfast was just some coffee and some pastries on a plate at the end of the hall. Between this and the pralines and water in the room, the hidden "amenities charge" of $11/night seems steep. The courtyard and pool seemed nice, though it was far to cool out for swimming. The staff was fine, though one gentleman whose name I didn't catch was most helpful. You will recognize him by the earbuds that never leave his ears, but don't be fooled, he's quite attentive. Overall, I thought the St. Helene was a fine place for someone on a budget, and its location and ease of access mostly made up for any faults. This is a fine hotel for a couple or a solo traveler not looking to spend a ton while still getting the most out of a stay in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEH21
Chicago, IL
Mar 4, 2013

Great Location for Fun in NOLA!!!

Hotel is nicely updated and clean. Great location right in the heart of the French Quarter! Great for exploring Bourbon St, Jackson Square, Frenchman St and much more! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Have an older heating/cooling system that left us without heat in 40 degrees temps (very unusual) but provided a space heater that did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleur De Lis Cafe on Charters - just 2 blocks from hotel has an amazing breakfast/brunch! Check out the Chicory Coffee and Bloody Mary's!

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname Jon doe
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2013

Great location

Great location. Close enough to everything you need in the French quarter. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is not cookie cutter. It has some character and can be loud. I didn't care and had a great time at this historic and beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married without children
Charleston, sc
Feb 12, 2013

Awesome boutique hotel!

Wonderful staff and location! Only 2 blocks to bourbon street and in the middle of everything. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I already want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 Blocks to Bourbon street!

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peachply
NYC
Jan 28, 2013

Clean, modern and classic in the heart of French Quarter

This was an excellent location, the price was right and I was recommend. Rooms are small but they are for sleeping and resting when on vacation not living. Highly recommend this hotel. The Camelia Coffee Shoppe is down the street which is super convenient for a cheap meal anytime given with diner and southern flair. Love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Camelia Coffee Shoppe

Back to menu Return to top