$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecuador connection
Denver CO
Dec 6, 2012

Boutique hotel

I loved this place! Great hidden location and comfy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Po Boy Chris
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 19, 2014

Hotel as Old and Beautiful as the French Quarter Itself!

This is a small, old building right on Decatur St. in the heart of the French Quarter. Perfect for an authentic, historical experience. The pool/patio is beautiful but not all that functional (very shallow and small, more of a fountain). The rooms are big and reasonably priced. No refrigerator in my room. We were able to walk to Bourbon St, Frenchman St, and anything the French Quarter has to offer. Staff is wonderfully friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny's Po' Boys is around the corner and offers the best of this New Orleans specialty. Cash only!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stingrayman
Business
Columbus ohio
Oct 3, 2014

Fun in the French quarter

This quiet quaint and accessible hotel may not have all the modern amenities, but it gives you what you need at an affordable price- close to all the NO action and activities, the staff are helpful and nice. If you need to have a work area or a posh bathroom- this isn't for you- but if you need a clean and well outfitted place for the night time, this is it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 14, 2014

Room given away due to IT issues

Arrived at the St Helene drop dead exhausted and so ready to get to my room and just lay down. The front desk guy Timothy (who was a complete pleasure and never lost his composure) for some reason, prior to even checking me in, took my bag to my room.... he came back and informed me that someone else was IN my room.... granted he did not come back with my bag so, I have no clue where it was left or why. I spent the next 45 minutes standing there while he tried to figure out what happened and finally called their sister property which was 7 blocks away to see if they had a room. They did (and he upgraded to me to a double balcony room which I appreciated). He also called me a cab (which he paid for). I had already paid $36 dollars to park my car at the St Helene and the sister property said they had no parking so, I had to leave my car there causing me to have to walk the 7 blocks the next morning to retrieve my car. Since I had no room at the St Helene due to their IT issues, I cannot review the rooms but I can say that the front desk guy Timothy was a pleasure. He was very sweet and never once stopped smiling..... still have no clue what the deal with my bag was though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nmid
Business
San Diego
Sep 6, 2014

Great people, great location in beautiful old building

Hotel St. Helene is charming and is in the best location- walking distance to everything! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful- could not say more about their customer service. Rooms are clean and pool is fun- very cool atmosphere for staying in the French quarter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Doe
Business
Wichits, KS
Aug 13, 2014

great

Enjoyed my stay. Loved the balcony view and the friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Deaux Deaux is a great spot for strong hurricanes in a fish bowl. Refills are only 5 dollars. The hand grenades are amazing. Service is awesome, friendly and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ash Flash
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2014

Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dejavu bar is the place to go for cheap food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DannieRN
Business
Atlanta GA
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect Getaway

Amazing location and very cute and cozy room. I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mmmonika
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 25, 2014

Fantastic

Great staff, pool, comfy bed, clean, amazing location, ...yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Key joe
Business
Fort Collins co
Jul 16, 2014

Awesome location, room could use a refresh.

The hotel is charming, with tall (10 feet ish) ceilings and a beautiful courtyard. We stayed in one of the garden view rooms. There were 8ft tall shuttered door that opened into the courtyard. The rooms were cool and bright, but the Ac was pretty noisy and the bed was pretty uncomfortable/squeaky. Overall a great place to stay. They just need to give the Ac a little attention and get some new beds to make it an awesome place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The international hotel has the best bar that we visited while in town. Incredible hand crafted drinks, great barmaid personality and cool ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Hartmann
Business
Tallahassee fl.
Jun 22, 2014

Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and bourbon st. 24 hour pool and free wifi. Every time we left the staff would wish us a great time out and welcome us back. Best hotel in the French quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top