$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
View map of 508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecuador connection
Denver CO
Dec 6, 2012

Boutique hotel

I loved this place! Great hidden location and comfy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lolalizard
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 22, 2012

Family get together

No elevator and we requested the first floor and were told we would get it and we didn't. Air conditioner made a loud buzzing noise (all night). No decaf coffee. Not enough chairs in the court yard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mma1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 6, 2013

First time in New Orleans

Hotel was very nice and staff was beyond helpful. Some cons were no elevator (we were on the third floor) and the bed was a bit to soft for my liking. But I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vikramhk
Business
Hillsborough, NC
Dec 29, 2012

A good place to stay

The hotel is conveniently located if the French Quarter is going to be one's center of sight seeing. The rooms are clean and the art deco interiors are well done. Not a spectacular place by any means. It met the needs of someone who was out and about all day. Do not expect any thing more than an arrangement of pastries and hot beverages as far as the complimentary breakfast. I could not find drinking water anywhere in the breakfast area. I had an issue with the shower not dispensing hot water. It took two complaints at the front desk, and was fixed on my third morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Napoleon House right next door. You can pretty much stalk the place to find out when the lines are not long, and afford to stay there very late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billy1o
Business
Ptld. OR
Jan 15, 2013

clean and simple

Our room did not have an exterior window or any furniture. Bed was comfortable, room in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JodyBee
Business
Florida
Jan 15, 2013

Birthday get-away

I got this vacation as a birthday present for my boyfriend. The location was great, however, the bed was con-caved and we could hear a pin drop in the room right next door to us. It was very clean and well kept, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.J. Wright
Business
CT
Mar 14, 2013

It does the job, with a few caveats.

The hotel is in a perfect location, only a couple blocks from nearly all the high points of the Vieux Carre. Bear in mind that the hotel DOES NOT have its own garage or lot. You will probably have to move your vehicle at least once and pay handily to do so at the various public lots adjacent to the hotel. My room--a queen suite--was on the smallish side, but comfortable and clean, with a couch in an alcove - presumably this is what makes it a suite. Unfortunately, the thermostat in my room was not working (I heard at least one other guest on my floor say the same) so the room warmed up while I was out, though it cooled after I turned the air off. There are no bathtubs, only standing showers in most (all?) rooms, so between that and the smallish room, this is perhaps not the best place if you're traveling with kids or looking to cram a group into one room to save. The free breakfast was just some coffee and some pastries on a plate at the end of the hall. Between this and the pralines and water in the room, the hidden "amenities charge" of $11/night seems steep. The courtyard and pool seemed nice, though it was far to cool out for swimming. The staff was fine, though one gentleman whose name I didn't catch was most helpful. You will recognize him by the earbuds that never leave his ears, but don't be fooled, he's quite attentive. Overall, I thought the St. Helene was a fine place for someone on a budget, and its location and ease of access mostly made up for any faults. This is a fine hotel for a couple or a solo traveler not looking to spend a ton while still getting the most out of a stay in the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BCTravel
Business
DC
Apr 15, 2013

Great Location, but Loud Room

Close to everything in the Quarter and helpful staff, but the room was at the top of the stairs where we heard every passerby. Could hear the conversation of our next door neighbors from in our room. Great if you don't plan to stay in the room long, but don't count on a great night's sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaybird2
Business
Atlanta
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect location but small, windowless room

We came for JazzFest and the location of the St. Helene couldn't be better -- right in the heart of the French Quarter and easy walking distance (3 or 4 blocks) to the JazzFest shuttle, Bourbon Street, and everything else that's fun about the Quarter. The continental breakfast was nice, too, with cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries and decent coffee. I just want to make two important observations about the hotel: First, there are several rooms that do not have external windows -- the room we had, for example, had a window that looked into the internal stairwell, which meant that we kept it closed and shuttered at all times. I didn't think I would care about this but it was odd to not be able to see outside. Next time I'd get a room with an outside-looking window. Second, the room was clean and nice but small. No problem for my wife and me but tight quarters and no desk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found some folks this year who rented bikes to ride to the JazzFest from the Quarter. We took the shuttle, as we always have, but plan next time on renting bikes and riding to the fairgrounds. It's an easy, short ride, no hills, and would be a fun way to see NOLA rather than fooling with the shuttle, esp. when you leave the Fest in the evening (long lines).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimboutit
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 21, 2013

Great location

Great location, just a few blocks from outstanding restaurants, bars, and shopping. We found our room to be pretty noisy, but it might have just been because we were on the first floor near an open stairwell. To be fair, we did not complain about the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldT
Business
Newton, MA
Oct 29, 2013

Needs more

The location perfect, the room is fine. The TV cables didnt work, nobody told us and didnt let us know, not even gave us an update on that. NO parking, well, it been said, though you can not stand in front and unload your staff and they dont help with the actual guidance or what you should do with the parking, why not????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top