$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay. See full review

  • Ash Flash
  • Jul 30, 2014
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Il traveler 2013
Illinois
May 10, 2013

Clean, amazing staff, close to everything!

This hotel was a great find. It was cheaper than other hotels in the area. The room was small, and the only window looked out into the courtyard/stair case. We were not in the room much, so this didn't matter to us. The room is very clean and has high ceilings. The pool is adorable. A modest continental breakfast. The staff was so friendly. They greeted us at the front and took our bags. They also gave us some great recommendations about what to do. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere. Parking for our car was right across the street from the hotel. We will definately stay in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Masperos has the best sandwiches! Good price. Great staff. Market cafe has the best roast beef po boy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Hartmann
Business
Tallahassee fl.
Jun 22, 2014

Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and bourbon st. 24 hour pool and free wifi. Every time we left the staff would wish us a great time out and welcome us back. Best hotel in the French quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colonel Mikey
Business
Des Plaines, IL
Jun 16, 2014

Great for quick get away in the French Quarter

Got in on Friday night stayed until Sunday had a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Irene's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Architect in philly
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 4, 2014

Fantastic short stay

We'd read a number of negative reviews about the hotel, so we were a little worried about what to expect. But, our fears were allayed upon arrival. The room was small, but not overly so, and provided us with everything we needed. We were able to access the tv, control the AC and room fan and the bathroom, while small, was modern. We did have a room with a window onto an interior courtyard with stairs, but it wasn't really a problem. The staff were polite and courteous and the location was excellent. We'd happily stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It's well worth it to travel outside the French Quarter; there is so much more to the city than that small part of town. And while it is charming, there are a lot of wonderful dining establishments sprinkled throughout the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Designerdougfan
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 3, 2014

St. Helene

We checked into 2 rooms for a 1 night stay. It was a great location, and a good value -- especially with breakfast included. We were disappointed that the bellman left at 4 pm right before we checked in, so no one available to help us with our luggage (since one of the rooms was on the second floor) -- but they did help us at check out the next day. We loved the hotel. Nice pool (although not heated) and deck area. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple from Brooklyn
Business
brooklyn, ny
Apr 30, 2014

Perfect Location

Perfect location for a French Quarter hotel! Excellent staff who were extremely helpful as they had some great dinner and activity suggestions. The room was cozy, neat, and comfortable. Would def. recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
old joe
Business
salem or
Feb 8, 2014

French Quarter Ambiance

This hotel fit the FQ like an old well worn glove. The room was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated, but the TV had no reception and apparently could not be fixed. The staff was friendly, the continental breakfast adequate, but the bed was lumpy and the bed linens poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VBmore
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 1, 2014

New Orleans First Timer

The layout of the room w/balcony was very nice. The room was a blend of modern with old charm. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and informative, especially Dazz and Valerie. The location of the hotel was perfect, two blocks away from all the action on Bourbon St. The only negative was the cable tv not working. But I have able to connect my tablet to the tv using a HDMI cable and stream movies from netflix. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Checkout the French Market, many vendor and places to eat at one spot. Also visit Cafe du Monde for coffee and fresh beignets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimatiu
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 3, 2014

Not really a hotel, more of a rooming house...roll with it

Something wrong with the room? There isn't really anybody who can help. New flat screen TVs, but 'the cable is out.' 'No it will not likely be fixed soon.' This is the loudest 'hotel' I've ever been in, from people talking to banging their luggage up and down the stairs (no elevator). If you sleep like a rock then ok for a one night stay. Small rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MardiGrasFanatic
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Nov 24, 2013

great new hotel in great spot

Really cool hotel! Perfect location for the concert at House of Blues we went to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to HOB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramie
Business
French Settlement , Louisiana
Nov 4, 2013

Birthday get away for my wife

Their wasn't any TV available , when my wife and I wanted to relax for the evening we had no TV. We had blank wall to stair at . We asked the not so friendly staff about it and all they had to say way, " the cable is out ". Now we know tht cable companies work in weekends and for emergencies .. We were not at all happy with this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top