$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

St. Helene- French Quarter

3 stars
508 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Good Place

Room was super nice, pool was great and the staff friendly. Very happy with stay. See full review

  • Ash Flash
  • Jul 30, 2014
Hotel st. Helene

Greeted with the most friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast. Great location between Decatur and... See full review

  • Jason Hartmann
  • Jun 22, 2014

This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River.

Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with LCD flat screen TVs, ebony stained hardwood floors, wireless internet, 300 thread-count linens, IPOD docking stations, and all-marble bathrooms. Our French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world!

Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel's location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Cafe du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O' Brien's, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem!

Balcony suites overlooking the world famous French Quarter and a secluded courtyard pool, along with many modern luxuries are just a few of the amenities offered at Hotel St. Helene. All contemporary guest rooms and suites feature one queen bed, complete with local artwork, feather beds and duvets, 350 thread-count linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, FACE toiletries, wireless internet, in-room safes, IPOD docking stations, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and stand-up marble showers. Continental breakfast served daily.

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

***The elevator at Hotel St. Helene is currently out of service. The stairwells are the only means to accessing rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors. We apologize for the inconvenience***

A security deposit of $150 will be taken upon check-in, per room, in case of damages and/or incidentals.

Hotel Map

29.956 -90.0651
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport (MYS).
Area description
Hotel St. Helene is in the heart of the French Quarter, just steps away from the exciting entertainment found on Bourbon Street! -2 blocks from Jackson Square -3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde -1 block to Decatur St. -4 blocks to Canal St. -3 blocks to Pat O' Briens

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. Helene- French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

St. Helene- French Quarter Rooms

Contemporary Queen
The room offers one queen bed. All standard queen rooms feature original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 170 sq feet.
Contemporary JR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. All deluxe queen rooms feature a separate sitting area, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These rooms are approximately 215 sq feet.
Contemporary MSR Suite
The room offers one queen bed. Balcony Suites feature balconies overlooking the courtyard and pool area or the French Quarter, one queen sized bed, original hardwood floors, marble standing shower, ceiling fans, flat screen LCD televisions, 300 thread count linens, individual air temperature controls, IPOD docking station, in-room safes, wireless internet, and iron & ironing boards. These suites are approximately 215 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for St. Helene- French Quarter

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecuador connection
Denver CO
Dec 6, 2012

Boutique hotel

I loved this place! Great hidden location and comfy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
old joe
salem or
Feb 8, 2014

French Quarter Ambiance

This hotel fit the FQ like an old well worn glove. The room was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated, but the TV had no reception and apparently could not be fixed. The staff was friendly, the continental breakfast adequate, but the bed was lumpy and the bed linens poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VBmore
Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 1, 2014

New Orleans First Timer

The layout of the room w/balcony was very nice. The room was a blend of modern with old charm. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and informative, especially Dazz and Valerie. The location of the hotel was perfect, two blocks away from all the action on Bourbon St. The only negative was the cable tv not working. But I have able to connect my tablet to the tv using a HDMI cable and stream movies from netflix. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Checkout the French Market, many vendor and places to eat at one spot. Also visit Cafe du Monde for coffee and fresh beignets.

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimatiu
Bloomington, Indiana
Jan 3, 2014

Not really a hotel, more of a rooming house...roll with it

Something wrong with the room? There isn't really anybody who can help. New flat screen TVs, but 'the cable is out.' 'No it will not likely be fixed soon.' This is the loudest 'hotel' I've ever been in, from people talking to banging their luggage up and down the stairs (no elevator). If you sleep like a rock then ok for a one night stay. Small rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MardiGrasFanatic
Baton Rouge, LA
Nov 24, 2013

great new hotel in great spot

Really cool hotel! Perfect location for the concert at House of Blues we went to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to HOB

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramie
French Settlement , Louisiana
Nov 4, 2013

Birthday get away for my wife

Their wasn't any TV available , when my wife and I wanted to relax for the evening we had no TV. We had blank wall to stair at . We asked the not so friendly staff about it and all they had to say way, " the cable is out ". Now we know tht cable companies work in weekends and for emergencies .. We were not at all happy with this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldT
Newton, MA
Oct 29, 2013

Needs more

The location perfect, the room is fine. The TV cables didnt work, nobody told us and didnt let us know, not even gave us an update on that. NO parking, well, it been said, though you can not stand in front and unload your staff and they dont help with the actual guidance or what you should do with the parking, why not????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Burbon street

Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimboutit
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 21, 2013

Great location

Great location, just a few blocks from outstanding restaurants, bars, and shopping. We found our room to be pretty noisy, but it might have just been because we were on the first floor near an open stairwell. To be fair, we did not complain about the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TimSue
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Sep 22, 2013

French Quarter Gem

Our experience at this hotel was smooth and problem free. The ambiance while entering the hotel was warm and welcoming. Our hotel room was on the first floor and it was amazing. Every morning we would look to our left and see a beautiful courtyard with an amazing pool. The bed was comfortable and the room was very nice. The only downside is that they have a t.v. that doesn't work; it is just a wall prop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savannah B.
Destin, FL
Aug 23, 2013

Great room

The room was great. Updated & modern, one of the best rooms I've stayed in while in New Orleans. Also came with a spacious balcony. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. Helene- French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACDC Fan
Leavenworth, KS
Aug 5, 2013

Stay at the Daupine Orleans instead!

I hate to sound like a downer but don't stay here! NOLA is my home away from home and this time, it didn't feel like home. This was a spacious enough room but one big problem - the extra area with the couch was unusable as there was no lamp! The rooms only have 1 window which was depressing. Also, there is no carpet so it was not cozy. The elevator didn't work or there wasn't one and we were on the 3rd floor. The pool area was uninviting and the free coffee area was by the pool. Odd. Don't let the pictures fool you! People in the room next to us were smoking pot which is no big deal but just not my thing. At least they were quiet. The staff was very nice but the room was dark and depressing. Blech.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Napoleon House is right around the corner - can never go wrong there. Also, a great little breakfast counter is at the other end of the corner. They are cheerful and attentive.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search